We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Museum of Tolerance
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #92 of 564 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Tolerance is a human rights laboratory and educational center dedicated to challenging visitors to understand the Holocaust in both historic and contemporary contexts and confront all forms of prejudice and discrimination in our world today.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
San Jacinto, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband, myself and two teens have been wanting to visit museum for awhile and it's worth the drive through L.A. traffic. Easy to find, grateful for free parking. When entering museum everyone goes through security check, and you are then guided down to exhibits. The holocaust exhibit is very well put together, though we did get confused when we were supposed to move from one portion of exhibit to the other at times. The highlight of our day was "Gloria", the holocaust survivor speaker that touched our hearts. Crowds were low on Monday and I found all staff helpful. I would recommend everyone visit this museum to reflect upon themselves and to never forget some if the horrific past events in history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ksjr2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    10
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“It May Change Your Perspective on Life”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

They will tell you that some of the images may be disturbing for young children. I'm North of 50 and I found many of them disturbing. A number of the tour guides and speakers are Holocaust survivors. It's important that those horrendous events are never forgotten and never repeated. I made sure both of my children heard the stories. The events are laid out in a very factual manner and they go into some depth to answer how we as a species could ever have allowed such egregious acts to take place. A day at this museum will refresh your soul. I am neither German nor Jewish, but after visiting the MOT, may never look at the world quite the same way again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Talisker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“it was okay...”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

MOT was pretty interesting but i expected more. i guess i got my hopes up from reading the other reviews. it's worth a trip just so you can see what it's like for yourself. good thing about it is there's free parking! ;D

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank F1shst1kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This was a pretty good museum.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This museum works like a timeline of events. Some of it can be very disturbing. I found the museum very educational.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had a great time at the museum. It doesnt soley talk about the holocaust, but us as a people. The tour guides were actual survivors and i even went to one of the story tellings from a lady that survived. Great museum to visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Tolerance also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Tolerance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing