We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very impressive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels

Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Grand Tour of Los Angeles
Ranked #43 of 536 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the midst of downtown Los Angeles, only the second cathdral to be built in a US city in the past 50 year, the structure has been compared to Notre Dame in its magnificense.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've seen part of this structure from the 101 many times, but did not go inside until I attended a classical Christmas performance. The building is amazing! It's done in good taste, with neutral tones and lots of sandstone. I kept wondering how much money they had spent to build the place. It is a ver;y beautiful and impressive structure and worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lcc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    109
    45
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Huge Church, a Welcoming Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Disclosure: I like churches a lot. I lean towards the grand and traditional. This one sure is grand, although not at all traditional. The art tries to embody a lot of ideas. It succeeds to some extent, in my humble opinion. It is a testimony to the faith of so many in Los Angeles.

What surprised me is how much of a public space it is. There is a large plaza between the church and the parking garage. It was filled with people sitting, drinking coffee, or playing. It is an interesting area that is a great addition to the city, contributing public space with a spiritual touch to it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern and very tastefully done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautiful cathedral. Visit the mausoleum downstairs also. The plaza and the cathedral is very beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShannonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A beautiful modern replacement for the venerable St. Vibiana's Cathedral. Explore the mausoleum in the area below the church.

Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“PLACE OF WORSHIP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Cathedral is a solemn place of worship. It's huge, quiet and a divine place to be close to and feel God.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bml777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing