We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can do better than this!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buky House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can do better than this!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

If you like to stay in somebody's rebuild garage; a garage which is dank, moist, has no possibility of dimming and consists of worn out furniture then this would be your stay.

Also if you are fond of very sober breakfasts (some yoghurt with cereals and a banana) and you find it a bargain to be charged USD 130 for that then go knock yourself out. Otherwise if would say: " you can do better than this for approx USD 130 (incl tax) per day!!!"

Also I find it rather strange that people say that Ms Buky is soo friendly. We have been all over california and stayed in b&b's where people indeed were interested, had lots of stories and were truly nice.

We arrived somewhere in the evening and the key was in the garage. Next day we paid Ms Buky a visit in the house to say 'hello' and apart from her surprise of us doing that, the first thing she asked for was if we wanted to clear our bill (and we had still 3 nights ahead of us!). Furthermore, the kitchen was a complete mess with dirty plates, uneaten food and somewhat empty wine bottles. The days after we haven't seen the so-called friendly owner at all.

Sure I know that this place might be a match for some of you, but in that case you probably have not frequently stayed in b&b's to notice the difference.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SanFran99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights at Buky House while on business. Delightful courtyard garden adjoining the garden suite with plenty of space and bbq as well. Sculpures, statues and plants dotted around gave a feeling of serenity with a sense of humour. My garden room was clean, comfy bed, good facilities, plenty of space to work and relax, fresh fruit and bagels each day. Location was perfect midway between dtown and hollywood. Safe - close to shops. Thanks Gail - already added to my favourites - no worries.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We loved our stay at the Buky House. We have become repeat customers because we like it so much.
The house is located in a beautiful Hollywood neighborhood that feels very safe and very upscale. We stayed in the separate apartment on the first floor and had a huge bedroom with luxurious bedding. It was the best night of sleep I'd had in months because the neighborhood is so quiet and the bed was so comfortable. Since we were the only guests in the apartment we lived like kings with a huge elegant living room, dining room and kitchen and enjoyed the art and antique modern furnishings.

Also, I love the decor! I think the owner must be either an artist or an art collector.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcat080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

My husband and I travelled around California for 3 weeks and for the last 2 nights in LA we wanted a change from the usual impersonal motels. We found Buky House on the internet and rang Gail who was very helpful in arranging our stay. We were not sure what to expect having not staying in a B&B in the US before but we were not disappointed; Buky House was a very relaxing end to our holiday and Gail made us feel most welcome, with lovely simple but wonderfully healthy breakfasts left out for us each day and plenty of tips on things to do in the area.

We didn't know LA at all but it turned out the location was great too, really close to all the tourist attractions but far enough away to feel more residential rather than a hotel in a souless area. The bedroom is small by US standards but we didn't have a problem with that at all, in fact it's very cosy and has a homely feel. Very comfortable bed!

  • Liked — Homely and friendly feel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mazmofiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

This is a gem. So good I'm reluctant to post it, in case I want to stay there again soon (and I do!). If you're going to visit Hollywood or Downtown Los Angeles, dang. This is the place to stay if you want to stay "at home."

Gail Buky has a wondrous Italiante home in Hancock Park, a very elegant upper-middle class neighborhood just off of LaBrea Ave. When you enter the front door and climb the stone steps, you feel as if you're entering a celebrity's home from the 20s. A huge living room (with fireplace!) on the right, a formal dining room on the left, and a hallway to the two guest rooms (she is remodeling the ground floor, she says, to add one more). As you pass down the hall, a huge kitchen and breakfast area awaits (Gail seems to be a near professional quality cook). The Purple Room we stayed in is cosy, with a smallish but nice bathroom, and totally quiet due to being in a private neighborhood. The other room has a much larger area and larger bath (she was using it this weekend) and is equally delightful.

What makes this place special is the 'slippers' quality of it. It's not the "we're-a-hotel-but-call-ourselves-a-B&B" place with a dozen rooms; you're living in what feels like your home. Have a drink in the living room, relax in the kitchen, this is home, folks. And Gail is delightful, with hints on places to go and shop (there is a Trader Joe's and Ralphs only 2 blocks away). Breakfast is equally informal - delicious bread toasted, some great cereal, some fruit, and exceptional coffee, self-serve.

I understand that she has Wi-Fi, although I didn't use it, and you are entitled to give proper reverence to Scooter, her adorable and huge totally grey cat (rub the ears!).

What a joy to stay here!

  • Liked — Casual elegantce
  • Disliked — Street parking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BoltzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

My wife and I wanted a self contained unit, we found Buky House on the internet and phoned up the hostess to book.

We arrived late in the evening, but everything was set and ready, even some chocolate on the bedsides.

The room is part of the house with ensuite bathroom, and sharing the kitchen with the household.

The room was very nice, tv and cable channels, lots of them. She has now installed wireless internet which could come in quite handy. The house is restored in old fashion to very good taste.

The location is great, relative close to freeways, close to amenities, and popular attractions easy accessable.

Its a great stay, you won't be sorry.

  • Liked — The 'at home away from home' feeling
  • Disliked — street parking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Buksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

I stayed at Buky House and really enjoyed myself. The hostess was helpful and charming and the property was very comfortable. I was traveling alone and felt very safe. She gave me some great tips on places to go while in the area.

  • Liked — Public rooms and location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank archana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#120 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#121 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#189 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#32 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Central L.A
Bevonshire Lodge Motel
Bevonshire Lodge Motel
#234 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buky House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buky House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Buky House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 224 S Orange Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90036-3011
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Wilshire
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing