We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of Boutique Hotel”
Review of Palihotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palihotel
Ranked #121 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed May 22, 2013

When I arrived here I was immediately disappointed... that I was only staying for one night! The building used to be a hostel but it has been converted well into a great hotel with wonderful design features and objects in every room. The decor, location and service were all good and there is a great little restaurant just off the lobby area. Guests are allowed to drink outside right next to the ground floor room windows, which may be an issue if staying on that floor, but in the evening there seemed to be no issues with noise etc. Hotel has parking, but we just left the car a couple of streets down where it was free. Great little find in LA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingLowLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, General Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Hi FlyinglowLDN,

Thank you for your nice review, we can't wait to have you back for several nights.

Cheers!

Fernando Canale
Palihotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 322 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is my second stay here at the Pali in West LA. I end up here because my wife loves the location and its the best bang for your buck. I like the artsy decor and the recent renovations. I renovated a boutique hotel one time and had fun talking to Maricio & Andres about the changes that this place went through. The staff really seems to care and want you to have a cool experience. I would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hargobind924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, General Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. We take pride in our staff's savvy design aesthetic and we're glad you had the opportunity to discuss our unique style!
It is a great pleassure to have you as our guests and we are counting the days to your next visit!

Cheers!

Palihotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A funky hotel on Melrose Avenue in West Hollywood, close to the La Cienega Design Precinct and several great restaurants and bars.

The hotel has a very bohemian vibe and the guys have done a good job of transforming the building into a great new hotel. It's not entirely luxury, but the rooms are a decent size, clean, and pleasant. The service was also very helpful. Only downside is that our room was right next to the road, so there was some traffic noise, although the double glazing did a good job of keeping it out. If I was staying there again I would request a room back from the main street.

There is a fantastic cafe / restaurant in the hotel. Served up some of the best coffee that we could find in LA...

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from the main street (Melrose Avenue)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, General Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It makes us very happy to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay at Palihotel.
It has been five months since we opened our restaurant The Hart and The Hunter and it has been incredibly successful and fun.
We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warmest regards,

Fernando Canale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I found this place when I first moved to LA and was looking for an apartment. I was using the HotelTonight iphone app for low prices and got lucky finding this gem.

I was exhausted and completely out of my element but this place helped with its fantastic customer service, eclectic and amazing design and comforting beds. This was my first taste of this type of hotel and I loved it, it made me excited for LA, the unique, individualism, open-minded lifestyle that I was hoping for!

The front desk was great, they helped clue me in on the rooms as well as giving me a few ideas for apartment searches. I could have talked to the guys working forever.

The design was so fun and unique, it felt like a combo of industrial, masculine, sherlock holmes-ish... i don't know what you would call it, other than straight comfort. Sure its simple and isn't over the top with amenities but there are so many clever additions in the room & hotel or use of design that you can relax and feel more at home versus being uptight and too modern. So maybe it's all in what you're looking for or what your price range is or your style. But I loved it and it helped inspire me to learn more about interior design and adding more fun, fresh, eclectic & clever designs to my own apartment.

The snack bar offerings in room was dangerous. By that i mean... delicious. Not your typical boring stuff but fun throwback snacks or new age healthy options. Something for everyone, I definitely took advantage since the pricing on items were like you would find in a grocery store versus a theme park. ie they don't jack up prices for profit.

They offer Thai massage-which if you haven't had one, it's amazing. It's like assisted yoga stretching and relaxing but deep muscle rejuvenation.

When I stayed they hadn't opened the Cafe yet, I'm looking forward to going back to try it. The menu sounds fantastic.

Yea I love it, they have another spot called PaliHotel nearby and I'm super excited they're bringing a PaliHouse to Santa Monica. I like this hotel group, looking forward to seeing what they turnout next!

Room Tip: Any room, just go and relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear MistyCali,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and we are thrilled that you understood and enjoyed our concept that definitely differs from the usual.

Our ‘Café’ has turned into an amazing restaurant called “The Hart and The Hunter” and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as an amazing Sunday brunch...

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Finest regards,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The absoloute worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Terrible front desk staff, rude and never there to help. No phones in room, card for room hardly worked. This is a lot worse then a low budget backpackers. Dont stay here! There is a lot nicer places to stay at with much better service!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the service you received. I do not normally receive this reviews as you can see. If you have the time I would like to converse with you about your experience and find an immediate solution. My email address is Fernando@pali-group.com

Finest regards,
Fernando Canale
Paligroup Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel has it all. Great service, super comfortable accommodations and amazing food. We had to be in L.A. for 6 days so we just stayed here the whole time. Every morning the cafe in the lobby bakes the best scones, and other amazing pastries and add to that yogurt and granola and of course excellent coffee . The people that work the cafe and restaurant are super friendly and really enjoy chatting with the customers. Then at night this cafe turns into this world class trendy chic restaurant. The food is creative and delicious with a great wine selection. You could eat here every night and not be bored. This place is L.A. chic at its best. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013
Google Translation

Desde ya muchisimas gracias por las cinco estrellas que nos han dado. Estamos muy contentos que lo hayan pasado tan bien y esperamos que nos visiten muy pronto.
Si les podemos ayudar en algo por favor no duden en comunicarse con nosotros.

Saludos,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Palihotel has one of the best locations in w. hollywood. Melrose shops & restaurants are right on your doorstep plus its walking distance to The Grove which is great. The boutique hotel is very clean with great decor and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and the rain shower in the bathtub was a nice touch. The only minor issue with the room being right on melrose, street noise can get a little noisy at times in the evening. We stayed the weekend so not sure how it is during the week. Otherwise the Pali Hotel is highly recommended.

Lastly The Hart & Hunter restaurant in the hotel is probably one of the best restaurants we have eaten at in LA. The food is absolutely delicious (fried chicken skin plus the biscuits were so good!) with a great selection of wine and beers plus everything on the menu is reasonably priced. If we could have eaten all our meals there we would have. The coffee is also one of the best we've had. We'll probably make a visit everytime we're in LA.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Jtanner22,

Thank you for your wonderful four-star review of Palihotel! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, our fabulous location and our friendly staff.

We also agree with you that The Hart and The Hunter is one of the best restaurants in LA! The chicken skins and the biscuits are the best!!

We look forward to having you stay again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
West Hollywood
Palihouse West Hollywood
Palihouse West Hollywood
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
238 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,411 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#35 of 355 in Los Angeles
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 355 in Los Angeles
463 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#85 of 355 in Los Angeles
350 reviews
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#130 of 355 in Los Angeles
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihotel

Address: 7950 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-7117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $171 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palihotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Palihotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing