We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but ghetto area ”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #290 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Not gonna lie here.
This place was clean and comfortable but the area was really ghetto.
I was very scared of staying here for the night. Did not know the area was like this because we are not from LA. There were warning signs everywhere like, no prostitution, no selling drugs etc.

People working there was very nice.
And the room, bathroom, furniture and everything was very new and clean.

Me and fiancee were scared for our lives being here.

For that reason, I don't think I'll stay here ever again.

But if you are not scared of bad neighborhood, and want a cheap and clean place to stay, this place is for you

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Looly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Pros:
Everything was remodeled and friendly staff. This motel was much better than we expected. Me and my brother made a spontaneous trip to LA and had to find a motel for cheap. We were expecting a crummy room and bad customer service but it was the opposite.

Cons:
Far from the city and beaches. About 30min drive to Manhattan Beach and LAX Airport. AC was a bit loud. Also in a ghetto area. But the parking lot had cameras and bright lights so it felt safe.

Overall summary:
Great motel for a nice price. We booked four nights same day for $60 a night. Thursday-Monday. Everything remodeled inside; hardwood floors, bathroom, and a brand new lcd tv that still had plastic on it. Me and my brother enjoyed watching FIFA. We were expecting a crummy room and bad customer service but it was the opposite. There was housekeeping, pretty large mini-fridge, and free wifi which was really fast about the same speeds im getting with comcast. Not the best area in town and about a 30min drive to any tourist hotspot but well worth it for a cheap price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

To be honestly I wouldn't give any rank to this motel at all. If you don't want to get lots of red and ugly bites of bedbugs DON'T go to this motel. We had many bites on all of our body and they are still red and visible after 10days. We have told this at the office but they didn't care however we were not the only ones who had such a horrible experience in the past from this place. I totally can't recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The factor that makes this motel so unsatisfactory is that its in a dangerous location. I was scared to walk around at night and had to be cautious at any time of the day. The bathtub leaked some kind of brown fluid. The TV only had a few channels which were mostly static-y. The room appeared clean. There was free wifi, which i greatly appreciated. Also, the lady at the check-in station who might have ran the hotel was very nice, polite, and understanding. She reassured me that even thought the neighborhood was questionable, the motel was safe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seaglass019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I would never stay there again. If I was a single I would never stay here. Staff is nice, but warning signs and cameras are all over the building.The room was clean and the bed was ok. The TV was fuzzy the whole time we were there.There is free internet and free parking which was good. Neighborhood is scary! No latch locks on the doors. Cheap rooms, but not enough reason for me to stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not go to this motel if you are a single lady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The room was extremely clean and smelled nice. They need to upgrade their television and add a few carpets to make it more homey. Overall I enjoyed my one night stay here and would stay here again if I come back to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christyk1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Florent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Monterey Inn
#177 of 355 in Los Angeles
20 reviews
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#182 of 355 in Los Angeles
36 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#100 of 355 in Los Angeles
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Ave eTown Inn
#193 of 355 in Los Angeles
6 reviews
Starlight Inn Valley Boulevard
#241 of 355 in Los Angeles
21 reviews
El Rancho Motel
#160 of 355 in Los Angeles
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Address: 4112 S. Central Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90011
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $69 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sandpiper Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing