We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's so great about this place?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #95 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What's so great about this place?”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Bed and pillows too squishy--so you can fall into bed painlessly if you're messed up. Judging from the people in the lobby, this is a problem. Bed eccentrically placed directly on a platform inches from the floor, so you won't fall out of it when you're drunk or stoned-but for the rest of us it's a pain to get out of. Bathroom 1970s 1" white tile squares--where's the orange carpeting? Crappy amenities. Overall decor more bleak than stylish. LA--wow, you really have no standards. Only the bar is redeeming, if you can stand the scene.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SIGRAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We're really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The design of our hotels isn't always to everyone's taste but we do try to make sure there are plenty of images on our website so people are well informed before they stay with us.
On the bright side - we're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our rooftop bar! Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Downtown Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    416
    208
    115
    140
See reviews for
58
321
111
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2014

A much needed staycation and birthday retreat. You can have as much one on one time or be out in a crowd all within the location. Would come back for a pool day soon...Customer service was really amazing...hey! we didn't even visit the Biergarten! but the ping pong room was fabulous. Will definitely bring a crew back...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slikestrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and really hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Wristbands are required on Pool Party Days. Room key is not currency so bring cash to the pool. Front Desk was awesome. Called when room was ready and notified of the noise when offered the 12th floor and they moved me to the 5th when asked. Biergarten kind of schtick but it did have good Germany bier and cooked on the spot wurst. Rooftop pool and bar for > 30 crowd after Noon. Good downtown location. Glass enclosed bathroom/shower. Nice ping pong club on site. It is fun.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deutscher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Little confusion at check in with pre pay vouchers, although quickly cleared up. Food in restaurant this time was a little below par as was room service. Rooms clean and large, air con not working in one of our rooms. Was little surprised at lack of security...homeless man allowed to wander around hotel asking for cigarettes, was a little intimidating. Checkout efficient, all staff friendly....However Prob would not stay again due to security issue..:(

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
2nd stay, not as good - that's not good! We hope you come back for a third so we can blow you away! We do have 24 hour security on the property to make sure our guests are looked after. Please feel free to contact me directly if you are coming back so we can make sure we take excellent care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was our first trip to LA and The Standard came highly recommended. Totally disappointed. Customer service was seriously lacking and the staff acted like we should be thanking them for letting us stay there.

There was an awesome pool on the roof but since they let anyone in town use it we never got a chance to enjoy it.

At night if you wanted to enjoy the rooftop bar you had to wait in line with non-hotel guests for a wristband to get up to the roof. ZERO perks to being a guest apparently. One night the line wrapped around the hotel to get wristbands so we just went to our rooms.

P.S. I am not old. I'm 31 years old and still enjoy loud, over-priced, uncomfortable bars. I do not, however, enjoy being treated so poorly in a place that is charging me so much to stay there. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone over the age of 40 to find a different hotel. This is not a place you will feel comfortable. It's like an H&M without the clothes.

Never again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihatejjredick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and we're really sorry that your stay was disappointing.
Our hotel guests do get 2 wristbands to the roof and don't have to wait in line so we apologize if that wasn't communicated to you. Also, our guests receive membership benefits to SPiN - our ping pong club - which includes half price table time, drinks specials etc.
We'd love to welcome you back anytime so please do give us a call when you are planning your next trip to Downtown Los Angeles and we'll make sure you are taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

What a cool place. Once you enter the building you just want to hang out there forever. Great and friendly staff, nice ambience and terrific rooms. The rooftop situation is more than you could ask for. Do not forget your bathing suit. And a nightime drink or two at scenic bar is a hang to die for.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Jimmy - YES! We'd love to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Downtown Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

What made this a winning hotel by my husband and I was the 2nd floor ping pong room. We had way too much fun on Sunday night! watching the pros and playing ourselves! We loved the 24 hour cafe, roof top bar, Afternoon Delight party, staff, and location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and the time you spent in SPiN Standard! Please come back soon - we have lots of fun events coming up that you can find on our website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#88 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Property: The Standard Downtown
Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#87 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing