We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“overrated and dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #99 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“overrated and dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The rooms, as others have remarked in their reviews here, require better cleaning. I was especially miffed at staff, two of whom treated me unexpectedly surly. one tried to convince me my (foreign) passport was not a valid form of ID and I, an international visitor, should get a california drivers license, which is of course as preposterous as impossible for someone merely visiting. given the premium rates they charge I was underwhelmed and will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krautland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you had a poor experience and we'd certainly ask you to speak to a manager whilst you are on property so we can discuss this with you in person. We take our guest satisfaction and guest relations very seriously so we're very sad to hear you had a less than satisfactory experience. Please do feel free to contact me directly with more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    391
    202
    110
    138
See reviews for
54
307
107
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here in January after new years. The 'basic' design of the hotel is not quite as charming as you would think. Everything looks like it is original. The grey carpet in the rooms, the white tile in the bathrooms etc... Looks like it needs a cleaning, but i dont think there is strong enough bleach.
If you are there to party, have fun, just keep your shoes on

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiguysd101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Sorry to hear that you're stay here was less than satisfactory. Our bathroom tiles are actually grey, not white, and I can reassure you that our housekeeping staff take their responsibilities very seriously and the rooms are cleaned thoroughly! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I checked into the hotel on a Monday evening and had to switch rooms three times due to the loud music and thumbing bass that permeated through the walls and windows. I finally settled into a room on the 8th floor (814) but it was not until the hotel turned off the music at 1:30 AM that I was able to fall asleep. The rooms themselves are very sparse with only a mattress on a carpeted platform, and single plastic chair. The room lack a closet and even a box of tissue. Ironically they contain a pair of ear plugs. In addition the entire property looks worn and in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adambikenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We're so sorry to hear you had a disturbed nights sleep during your stay here. Please note that we do have 'corporate floors' so feel free to contact us directly when making your next reservation and we will ensure you are placed in one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at The Standard for two nights while traveling for a conference. Check-in was fairly simple and I was upgraded to a huge corner-room with a very large walk-in spa shower! I ordered breakfast the night before and it was delivered at the exact requested time. The food was great and I could tell that it was freshly prepared. I would recommend The Standard if you are looking for a boutique hotel experience with a minimalist feel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sk415408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the great review and we hope you come back again for your next trip to Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Our group came for a birthday party. Our rooms were fantastic! Ask for the 9th floor. The service from the valet, to check in to dining service was excellent. We hung out in the Ping pong room for a few hours and that was so much fun! We ordered room service for breakfast and it was delicious and hot. There are a lot of fun things happening at this hotel. We are coming back next week for an 80s prom party.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Traveltracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us as your hotel in Los Angeles! For all news of events happening in our hotels please visit www.standardculture.com and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Definitely a unique hotel. There was a shower/bath right in the middle of our room, with a light curtain and large mirror mounted on the wall opposite. Fitness room has a large mural of topless women on bikes. Rooftop pool has surrounding "pods" which are actually water beds. Rooftop parties nightly. Truly a swinger's paradise. Good breakfast in the yellow, retro diner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisahargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay here and we're glad you had fun during your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Central is a relative term in LA due to its size, but all of the metro lines and easily located from the hotels location where ever you wish to travel.

The hotel very much has an LA feel, with it being very minimalist and stripped back, which can cause the initial reaction to be that you are being cheated out of something. The restaurant in the hotel is open 24hrs and produces excellent food, though there are several great restaurants only a short walk away including Industrial, Engine 51 (located in an old fire house) and LA live with a number of eateries is only a 20 min walk away.

The best feature of this hotel is the roof top pool and bar, great venue for a drink in the middle of the day or as a night spot with views across Downtown.

Would definitely chose this hotel if I was in LA again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and we hope you come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#80 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#39 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Property: The Standard Downtown
Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#87 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing