We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #91 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Checking in, the front staff were polite and courteous. The rooms were a little strange. The shower had a glass wall facing the bed with a curtain separating from the toilet. Not too much of a worry as we were travelling as a couple, but a little awkward nonetheless. The walls are thin, unfortunately we had a lot of partners on our floor so we lost a bit of sleep a few nights. The bed is lower than normal - more or less a mattress on a slab on the floor, we kept tripping on the corners. The room overall was also rather bare and cheap looking. On the flip side, the positives were that this hotel is a great location in the central downtown LA, close to trains (we also had a car hired which was well worth it) close to cafes, and the beer garden and bar up the top (although a little pricey) are a bonus if you don't want to go out. Overall for price paid, it is probably a little on the side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel. We do try to ensure that the photos on our website reflect the layout of the rooms but we do also have modesty screens on request for the showers. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our rooftop and Biergarten and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    422
    210
    115
    143
See reviews for
60
329
111
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel room, upon arrival was not cleaned, the elevators(only 1 of 4) worked, there was an open pool party on the roof and we could not even use the pool. The room was not cleaned the second day until we asked after 3 pm, there was rotten food in the mini bar.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a clean escape and you can use the pol on the roof because of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We're saddened to hear you had some issues when you stayed with us and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We always do our best to ensure that rooms are ready for our guests arrivals but sometimes, on busy weekends, this can be tricky. We have a sensational team of housekeepers that work hard to make sure guests aren't kept waiting! We will certainly look into your comments about the food in the mini-bar as this is not something we've come across before.
The Standard, Downtown L.A is lucky enough to be in a fabulous building but it is old and so unfortunately we had a problem with one of our elevators. We have engineers working hard to fix this situation as quickly as possible. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future to address these problems and make sure your next stay is as awesome as it should be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

NJ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Depending on what you're looking for, this may or may not be the place for you. We stayed here because the arrangements were made for us by a third party and we stayed for free, but I don't know that I would've chosen to stay here on my own. The hotel is trendy, hipster-ish. I have to say that all of the staff was wonderful and went above and beyond in helping us. The double room we stayed in was large, but with a few strange features. The beds are basically on the floor with a headboard that is very uncomfortable if you want to lay back and watch tv. The shower has a clear glass facing the beds. So, if you're traveling with someone, it can be awkward. There is a curtain and it does conceal you (believe me, I checked before hopping in), but it still feels kind of odd. The walls are pretty thin so you can hear people having conversations in the next room. We had the misfortune of being next to a room of young kids one night who decided to get drunk and party in their room until 3am. I had to call security and I have to say, they were up there in less than 2 minutes. It didn't really stop the party, but they tried.

The location of the hotel is great. It is in downtown so it is away from the main hollywood attractions, but you can easily get to hollywood on the train which is only about 2 blocks away. It's about a 15 to 20 minute train ride to Hollywood and Highland right in the heart of hollywood. It's a little tougher to get to other places, but we made do. We took the train into Hollywood and then took a cab from there to The Grove and Farmer's Market which was more cost effective than taking a cab from downtown. We also rented a car for the day (about $60) which was well worth it...it was an easy drive to Beverly Hills, West Hollywood, Santa Monica, and Malibu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyFanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your stay in Los Angeles. We're delighted to hear that you were happy with the service you received and we'll pass your kind words on to our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayfeezy
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Come here in May for a Graphic Designer Conference in the LA Convention Center. The walk from the conference was about 10 minutes which wasn't bad at all. There was an awesome bar at the top of the roof with a great bar and an even more awesome view - it was a great opportunity to mingle with other conference goers and networking. There was also a ping pong bar in the 2nd floor which was a lot of fun. So in a nutshell, it was a great place to party. Biggest complaint is that the rooms had NO WALLS FOR THE SHOWER. The bathroom had its seprate area, but there is no privacy for shower. Meaning if you're in my situation where it was 6 guys sharing the suite (which was spacious and comfy btw), it gets a little awkward. But the atmosphere was really cool and fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayfeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Downtown Los Angeles! We're glad you had fun and got to experience our ping-pong club, SPiN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The room was situated within walking distance to the Staples Center and the conference center (10-15 minutes). There were many restaurants in the area. There are also lots of buses and cabs in the vicinity of the hotel. The room was ultra contemporary. It was clean, quiet and comfortable and well decorated. There was a very long built in desk in front of the window area. The bed was on a very low platform. Not the traditional bed. The only thing that struck me as odd was that the bathroom area was all glass (no walls) and a person in the room area had full view of the shower activities. I do not know if all the rooms in the hotel are like this. Had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I would give this hotel a great review if it wasn't in downtown LA. The only real issue with the room itself was that it was built incredibly cheap. Cheap carpet, furniture, fixtures, nothing on the walls except for the wallpaper that covers one wall, no storage, etc. They just have everything sitting out which granted, is modern, but calling everything modern in this place is just falsifying the cheap way it was constructed.

The MAJOR problem is that you will be dealing with a ton of stuck-up, trashy, downtown LA locals who think they are movie stars. You will consistently see coke and pills being taken by the locals in the bathroom on the first floor and the one on the roof. The staff makes no effort towards catering more towards guests paying $400/night over the egotistical locals who pay at the door to get in for the day. They treat the roof-top like a night club so locals come in on a regular basis. No, none of this is an exagreation. I actually saw locals snorting coke off the back of the men's toilet on the roof. And if you dress normally, i.e. nice jeans, leather dress shoes, and a button-up or polo (for men obviously) you will be judged by these local people who think you're out of the ordinary not dressed in their 20 year old boots, cuffed jorts, a tank top, oversized glasses without lenses, and to top it all off a flannel tied around the waste the way you used to during 3rd grade recess is a common fad out there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAMiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy Downtown Los Angeles. This is an incredibly exciting time for the city with many award winning bars and restaurants in the area. We do have 24 hour guest relations agents in the hotel to ensure our guests are well taken care of so please do contact one immediately if you see anything happening we should know about. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I’ll make it quick:
best bed in the world, most friendly and helpful people at the front desk, really enjoyed the pool, perfect sense of minimalism throughout the hotel, cool guy with trash-stache at the biergarten.

Only cons: A) We arrived on a saturday night and the hotel rooms where partying so hard we had to sleep with earplugs. But this is our fault – it’s a partyhotel.
B) I wish I could have shot a quick innocent test at the hotel since I had a complete team and models from a job over there but the PR said no.

But it doesn’t matter – on our next LA-shoot, I’ll have our production book everyone in this hotel! I loved it.

Ben
www.benbernschneider.com

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Standard, Downtown L.A for your visit to Los Angeles! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#85 of 351 in Los Angeles
404 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,262 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#39 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Property: The Standard Downtown
Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing