We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself to this design hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #111 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed October 10, 2011

As a couple who loves modern style and design, this place was great for us. If you're not then I wouldn't recommend it. Rooftop pool and bar are fantastic and we utilised them both. A morning swim on the top of the Standard truly was an experience. They upgraded our room as we were on our honeymoon. Room was well-designed and felt luxurious. The wifi didn't work in our room which was hugely frustrating. Receptionist didn't seem to care when we reported it so we spent a lot of time at the rooftop bar where the wifi did work. Maybe that's what they want you to do. We found parking a few blocks from the hotel for $15 per night which is better than $30 at the Standard. The location's not great for going out. Downtown more-or-less shuts down at night so we ended up paying a lot for parking as we were taking the car in and out of parking to go out in other parts of LA.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_scarnera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

Upon checking in the concierge was helpful and friendly. We were looking forward to staying here. We booked a single room- without knowing that the bathroom had glass walls- the shower was totally see through next to the bed. We were unaware of this and had I not been with a friend this would have been totally inappropriate. We later went up to the pool- ordered "duck nachos" minus the duck. The server told us no one had ever ordered them that way and would find out if that was possible. We waited for 20 minutes with no response and finally she brought them out without confirming the order. "Nachos" at this hotel consist of 4 chips with cheese for $11! Totally dissatisfied I gave her a $20 and asked for the change, which she pocketed. She told us she would be back with the change- ironic since she had a change pouch on her! We waited another 20 minutes then proceeded to the bar to see if they could give us change- which they could not. Without apology, she finally gave us our change. This was an awful experience, we felt totally ignored and not at all like guests. When we got back to our room we called the front desk to speak with management- they said no problem and hung up on us? No one called us back. When checking out I asked if there were any charges on my credit card (we had not ordered any room service or used the mini bar), to which they replied no. Since being home I've noticed I WAS charged $100 and can only speak to answering machines at this hotel. Very unhappy, will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 334travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel will appeal to those who have a sense of humor, like modern design, and place a premium on being part of a scene (for 20 and 30-somethings). Staff are nice enough, but do not go expecting a level of luxury or business-friendly service. We stayed in a "Gigantic" room. It had the aura of a hip dorm room converted from office space- spartan furnishings leavened with modest custom design touches and fixtures.
PROS: well-stocked mini-bar, very soft beds (if you like that), convenient Downtown location, fast valet service
CONS: they missed our wake-up call (good thing we didn't miss our plane), the free wi-fi did not work, not enough lighting if you wanted to do work at the desk, poor sound isolation (we could hear the conversationsand partying in adjoining rooms and in the hallways), terrible smelling slimy soap/lotion/shampoo/conditioner, strange smelling hallways.

Maybe we are at a stage of life (late 40's) where the positive features of the Standard don't outweigh the negatives anymore. Others may love the scene, but we'll stay elsewhere next time we go to L.A.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gothampanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Standard is a conversion of the old Standard Oil office building, something you would not guess from the common areas, but makes perfect sense when you are in your room. We stayed in the HUGE room, which is kind of like ordering a grande nonfat latte at Starbucks, spacious, but HUGE? Not. Since I am in the hospitality business, I noted the small cost saving measures like curtains covering the closet and bath, not doors, and a mattress sitting on a low built-in platform, not a bed. Very basic retro furnishings, but then again, you are not paying for the luxury you are not getting, so good value for money. This is not your father's hotel. (The Four Seasons, or the Beverly Hills Hotel, is.) The WOW comes from the rooftop bar and pool, where if you do see your father he may be holding court with a Cohiba. The views are spectacular and the night life lively without being aggressive, a place to see and be seen. The restaurant is first rate, a little bit of a diner feel to me, but to die for asparagus tips and sweet potato fries. Great front desk, and the usual laid back valet service. If I needed to stay downtown again, I would come back. If downtown was not vital to my plans, then the Four Seasons Beverly Hills, which also has a lively bar, but is more your father's hotel. Or, the Beverly Hills Hotel for genuine retro.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOaksCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Absolutely awesome hotel, stayed there for four nights and enjoyed every minute! The room was clean, the bathroom was large and bright. But forget all that, it's the ambience and sense of fun that the hotel offers from the moment you set foot in it!

The furniture is colourful, funky and functional. The staff from reception through to the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. Between the staff and the decor you feel alive from the start of your stay there! This is all before you discover the roof-top pool and bar!!!

The waitresses up there are incredible, polite, friendly and excellent with their service. It's an amazing setting, very comfortable with incredible views of the skyline. Loved the fact that it turned into a nightclub of an evening (Thurs to Sat) and that people who weren't staying at the hotel think enough of it that they line up in the street to get in!

My only suggestion would be that guests of the hotel have two wristbands given to them each morning or the staff on the roof be able to issue wristbands once the bona fides of the guest have been established. I watched a number of times as guests of the hotel came up to the roof in the evening only to be turned away by security and told to make there way back down to the ground at the hotel entrance to get their wrist bands.

Can't wait to get back to L.A., will not be staying anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: Best to get a room between floors 4 and 8 to avoid road noise & music from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyPC103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Just returned from Los Angeles for the wedding of our son. Many of the wedding party stayed at the Standard. What a fun place. It isn't for families and be aware that the king room has a glass wall shower that allows viewing from the bedroom. The two bed rooms have two shower curtains so view is covered.The staff was wonderful to us in every way, from the quick service valet, personable waiters in the cafe, and professional staffing at the reception desk. Great downtown location made it perfect for us. Thanks Standard!

Room Tip: rooms on lower floors are more quiet than upper ones, lively club scene on rooftop pool/lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bdicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

1) Great location
2) Amazing rooftop pool and bar - makes you stay in the hotel for whole day and night
3) Surprising rooms
4) Ping-pong table at the lobby
5) Great breakfasts in yellow sunny restaurant downstairs - BALT (A- for avocado) sandwich is served with organic french fries - mmm, delicious

and have i already mentioned the ROOF TOP POOL and BAR??!)))

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lelya_RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,205 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#92 of 355 in Los Angeles
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#66 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,346 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#97 of 355 in Los Angeles
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $219 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing