We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brentwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brentwood Inn
Ranked #83 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to get a room for two nights with short notice. The location was good, easy to find and close to hwy 101 (and 1 actually, we took Sunset Boulevard from the coast).

The room was very nice and clean. Service at reception desk was forthcoming and very helpful. You could feel that it was a family owned place with only 21 rooms. Nice.

The area around the inn is safe and beautiful and we enjoyed a walk in Brentwood, admiring the beautiful houses and gardens.

We will stay here again if we come to LA.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmr_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    107
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
65
166
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Suggested by my partner's sister who had seen the review in the Daily Telegraph which was just as well as I was at my wit's end trying to decide where to stay.

Excellent in EVERY respect. The staff were fantastic - willingly giving of advice and suggestions - where to eat, sights to see, getting around etc. They provided maps and a restaurant list (which omitted the 'Tavern' on St. Vicente Blvd - that Brittain (manager) said he would amend). See my review on this restaurant.
Rooms a bit small but more than adequate - light, airy, fresh with fridge and free wi-fi and water. Milk and cookies served at 4pm and adequate breakfast that could be eaten in the room or the small garden with the 'water wall'. Ample free parking outside the rooms. Despite being on a rather busy junction you could have been in the country when the rush-hour(s) had subsided. Ten minute walk to the 'village' for good selection of shops, restaurants etc.
Will certainly stay here again if we return to CA.
We are a gay couple and felt 100% at home - the staff made us very welcome and were gay-friendly.

Enjoy. Stephen and Paul

Room Tip: We stayed here for a total of 4 nights in the room next to reception on both occasions.
See more room tips
Green Features: Like much of California the management are very keen recyclers - just like us!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
931 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We happened upon this spot because I had made a reservation at a motel in Brentwood, CA which we later learned is somewhere around San Francisco!! Talk about an error! Friends recommended The Brentwood Inn and we were REALLY lucky to get in. It's a delight and even though we lived in Santa Monica for a couple of years, we never spied this place. The employees are all so helpful and friendly; while the rooms are really small, they are well outfitted and it's easy to sit outside on a nice day (most days)! Breakfast is certainly not outstanding but plenty to keep the wolf from the door and we couldn't have been more pleased. Give it a try if you're in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the south end away from the major road
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate that they use environmentally friendly products and encourage guests to become educated about such practices
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Brentwood Inn throws in parking,wifi and breakfast with their v good value nightly rate, unheard of in LA! The rooms are comfortable and pleasantly appointed. Showers only no baths.
No movie channels on the TV. Good beds but awful lumpy pillows. In my room there was a problem with the hot water and I started my day with a stone cold shower! Still for $189 plus tax for a night in Brentwood it wasn't the end of the world. STaff on desk very helpful and friendly.
I would come again and next time I will request a room with no room on the floor above me

Room Tip: don't get a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilzPalmSpringsCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed in this motel a couple of times when visiting LA. Always found the accommodation clean and comfortable. The reception staff are very helpful, and friendly. The breakfast is simple but adequate and free parking a bonus. Location is also pretty good. Happy to recommend :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaKid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is the best motel we stayed on ever! Just as taken out of an movie. Nice surrounding and great athmosphare, the staff was friendly and helpful. Small but beutiful rooms.
Stay here and you will never regret!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Petter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were trying to stay near our son, who lives in West LA, close to Santa Monica. If that's your area, this will be hard to beat. It is a pleasant hotel, and very different from the norm. You are getting a pretty reasonable price for the value.
It is basically a redone motel, but they've done a nice job of it. The cross streets are a bit busy, so there is some traffic noise at night. If you are approaching from the east on Sunset (as we did and as most of you will since that is where the I-405 freeway is), you might want to just turn left into the lot, but it really isn't a lawful turn so you may end up wandering the neighborhood a bit while you try to approach it from the west.
The parking is right in front of the rooms, as in an old motor hotel. Its convenient, and free. (Try that downtown!)
The room was comfortable, albeit the bathroom was quite quirky and had fixtures that seemed to date from circa 1965. It even included a medicine cabinent in the wall, just like at home, along with the quite small shower that I estimated as being 2 x 3. It was done in very old-fashioned white tiles. Nice, but reminded me of my youth. Lots of tight turns/ corners. Too late now, but the architect could have used the bathroom space much better. Don't even think of using this bath room if you are large sized, much less disabled.
Comfortable furnishings, and a very nice patio on which to enjoy your included breakfast, although again being next to Sunset Blvd means you'll hear the traffic. The pastries and fruit were above average for an included continental breakfast.
The staff really did shine. They were very helpful and patient explaining about local restaurants and places to go.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: I would not stay in the rooms that back onto Kenter as they would get noise from both there and Suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rappongi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#25 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#103 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#134 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Angeleno
Hotel Angeleno
#46 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
#104 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brentwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Inn

Property: The Brentwood Inn
Address: 12200 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049-4014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Brentwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, convenience and extraordinary value: we have it all. Our tastefully decorated rooms are all non-smoking and pet-free, and come equipped with flat-panel LCD TVs and high-speed internet access. Your room rate includes free parking, continental breakfast and freshly-baked cookies every afternoon. Our location in Brentwood is conveniently close to restaurants in Brentwood Village, shopping in Beverly Hills and Santa Monica and only minutes from UCLA and the world-famous Getty Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Brentwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brentwood Hotel Los Angeles
Brentwood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing