We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful motel .... Very upmarket !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brentwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brentwood Inn
Ranked #84 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful motel .... Very upmarket !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Not really sure what I expected when I booked us in to a motel rather than a hotel as I had never stayed in a US motel before but I was pleasantly surprised. The location was perfect. We had a hire car and parking was free where as so many city hotels have a daily charge. The rooms are small but adequate. Not much time spent in the room anyhow apart from sleeping !! Brentwood village is only a 10 minute walk so if, like us, you're not sure about driving round LA at night, park up after your days sightseeing and take a stroll through the affluent area, the houses are just spectacular, to many eateries/restaurants available from budget to high end choices. Breakfast is also plentiful with coffee, juice, cereals, yoghurt, pastries, fruit - which can be eaten in a sunny courtyard with a water feature. A nice touch I thought. Pleasant and helpful front desk staff, one of whom we bumped in to whilst we were walking round the city, he recognised us and stopped for a chat. Would recommend to anyone without hesitation.

Room Tip: Any of them !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    107
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
65
166
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This is more like a B&B than a hotel or motel, and that's what we like. Rooms are a bit small, especially the bathroom. Breakfast is coffee and pastries/cereal, but the muffins and Danish were excellent. Plenty of newspapers for reading. We didn't have any problems, but I bet they'd fix anything pronto -- just very service-oriented. Here's one piece of advice for visiting Los Angeles: Stay near your destination or event venue. The traffic is just as bad or worse than you've been warned. We attended a concert at the Hollywood Bowl and, on everyone's advice, took the shuttle from the Santa Monica park-and-ride lot. What is scheduled for a 40-minute ride took 90, and we were barely in time. Other shuttles pulled in right behind us, so it wasn't just us. I think it would even be worth changing hotels if you are, say, going to locations near downtown or toward Pasadena a few days and visiting the beaches other days. Driving times on cross-town route are unpredictable and you'll find yourself leaving an hour early just to be sure you're not late. That was for weekdays. Weekends were fine.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jfuquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

You can't beat this place as a base to explore LA. Easy access to Santa Monica, Venice Beach, Malibu, The Getty, Burbank and so on. Room was as described and more than sufficient. Staff were extremely helpful and prepared to advise us with planning our trips. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently stayed at the Brentwood Inn and although the rooms were a little small, the location made up for it. It is in a nice and safe neighbourhood and we were able to go for walks at night around the suburb. We used a hire car so not sure of public transport options but found it very easy to get around from there. The outdoor breakfast area was nice to just chill out after a long day of sightseeing and they provided tea all day. There was free parking and staff were happy to point out dining venues close by which we found useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

When we first drove up, I admit my stomach and heart sank. It looked like a drive up motel, like any of those run down places you'd see when you're driving around run down areas. We checked in and the little check in motel house was cute enough - had Stash tea and hot water flowing at all times, and they give out cookies in the afternoon (though they're just from Costco, nothing special). The breakfast is also Costco muffins (yuck), so we skipped that too.

Costco catering aside, I entered the room and was so surprised - the ceiling went all the way to the top of the roof. They smartly put blinds up so you never see the outside of your room. It's a bit small and claustrophobic, but it's very very nicely done inside like a mid-upper range hotel. Aveda bath products too. The shower itself is kind of cramped, as is the bathroom. They also have a minifridge.

I respect the clever way they redid the rooms, to make this a very unique option, though of course if I had the option to stay at a nicer hotel for the same price in the area, I would have chosen the other option. At $250/night, this was not cheap. It's a super expensive and nice neighborhood - I *highly* recommend staying here if you're just going to use it as a base and only sleep here. I think you'd go a bit crazy if you spent more than an hour or two during the day in the motel/hotel room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericaninJkta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in LA. Free parking and WiFi. Close to Santa Monica and the beach. In a quiet residential area. This place is away from the downtown LA craziness but close enough to it if you want.

Room Tip: The best deals are found on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty_Malbec_6100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Brentwood Inn in late July 2012. We had a few nights in LA before pushing on to Santa Barbara, and we booked this property without a lot of research because of its "sweet spot" on value and overall TA rating at the time.

We were traveling with a car and were looking for a modest "base of operations" for ventures to the Getty, Beverly Hills, and the like.

We got a lot more than we expected -- this is a very well-run, very charming spot! The room was very inviting -- beautiful vaulted ceilings, clean, and relaxing. There was a very calming energy about the place and my wife and I were most comfortable. We were in the building furthest from Sunset Blvd and didn't have any significant noise problems, although some rooms are closer.

I think if you're a traveling couple with no need for an on-site restaurant, pool or other family-type amenities, I think the charming rooms, friendly staff, and free parking make this spot a no-brainer. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-BoneMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#25 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#103 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#134 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Angeleno
Hotel Angeleno
#45 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
#104 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brentwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Inn

Property: The Brentwood Inn
Address: 12200 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049-4014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Brentwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, convenience and extraordinary value: we have it all. Our tastefully decorated rooms are all non-smoking and pet-free, and come equipped with flat-panel LCD TVs and high-speed internet access. Your room rate includes free parking, continental breakfast and freshly-baked cookies every afternoon. Our location in Brentwood is conveniently close to restaurants in Brentwood Village, shopping in Beverly Hills and Santa Monica and only minutes from UCLA and the world-famous Getty Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Brentwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brentwood Hotel Los Angeles
Brentwood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing