We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bevonshire Lodge Motel
Ranked #246 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was initially frightened by some of the reviewes, especially the one talking about bugs and mold. Unless I missed something though, I didn't see any of that (I kind of wonder what was on the window but otherwise it was fine as far as I could tell). The room was clean.
The location was very good too! I was able to walk to Beverly Hills (where I needed to be). CBS is close by too which was very convient when I went to go see Craig Fergeson. I only needed this one night, but for the price and all things considered, it was okay.

My only complaints:
-The shower lost some of its heat. It wasn't cold, but I noticed it non the less
-It isn't the most inviting looking place. It was safe though.
-Whatever it was on the window. If that was mold, I'd be scared, but I don't know that it was and I don't think it was even on my side of the window

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Me W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location is great, down the street from Beverly Center and Beverly Connections (shopping). Carpets were dirty, I don't usually ever walk barefoot in hotel rooms. Tub, sink, and toilet was clean-ish. Minifrige was smelly. But it was very comfortable to sleep, room cooled down nicely. Wi-Fi. Pool is torn apart. Only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Might get a cheaper rate of you call, double rooms have more space, even if all you need is a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrookeBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

My friend and I stayed here several years ago to go to a wedding. I was hoping for a funky and fun place that is close to shops and cafes. The location turned out to be great, but wow the room we stayed in was very very dumpy. I was truly disappointed and embarrassed that I booked such an awful room for us to stay for the weekend. The floors were dirty, the bathroom was dirty, everything smelled musty. It looked run-down and what I hated most was seeing built-in grime on the edges of the floors and walls. The bathroom door was grimy. Not a cozy place to stay; I think we avoided going back to the room until we had to.

Ever since staying there, I've been extra careful about researching a hotel before booking. I would recommend if you are staying at this location (Fairfax/Beverly) go for the Farmer's Daughter.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twilight26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

No Joke...Bugs fell on my face in the middle of the night. This place is disgusting. If you don't mind camping inside a hotel, this place is for you. There was black mold in the bathroom and around the windows. The room was cold and there was a cigarette hole in the sheet. I did not walk barefoot in this room. It was in a good location but that was the only positive. The heater worked well but there was about 3 minutes worth of hot water. The water got cold almost immediately. If you want you can try...But the place smells like stale hot curry and garlic....It's just gross and the staff couldn't care less...Even though they did shoot us a smile. Germaphobes...AVOID AT ALL COST...Unless you reallllly like to rough it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank misledandliberated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

The location was AWESOME , walking distance to LA's famous Grove and Farmers Market , along with other awesome places to eat. The neighborhood is nice and quiet.
Im a makeup artist and was doing work all week in a studio very close to there and it was convient for me to get to work and back with no traffic etc.
Here are the pros and cons

The Cons first
The Wifi was avaiable only by code and password that they provide you and if you are online and someone else is using the same online code it will say that is busy?

The pool never gets sun ( BUT IS VERY CLEAN)

The parking is limited ( 20 units in the building with only 8 parking spots ) and the neighborhood is PERMIT parking only .
( however I never had a problem with parking my car but did once when I came back late ( around 2pm the lot was full ) which led me to drive around a million times and I had to park in a lot next door and had to quickly move it by 6am before I got towed.

The bathrooms are very very very very very dirty ( the walls have dirty hand prints and the floors are dusty. I cleaned the toliet myself to guarentee a clean seat for me.

The room REEEEAKED of smoke They have non smoking and smoking rooms and you can smell the smoke straight through the walls even if your room isnt smoking ( this wasnt pleasent at all )

THE CONS

The average hotel for this location is $250 a night I only paid $65 a night!!!

They hotel owner was VERY VERY VERY NICE

The coffee was always brewed in the morning and he had fresh pastrys that was tasty .

The A/C worked great , the beds were cozy ( BRING YOUR OWN PILLOWS the pillows they have are flat as a pancake)

The hotel was equipped with several camera and it seemed very safe.

There are mircowaves and Refridgerators.

The do clean your rooms for you and make your beds etc when you leave for the day and come back everything looks great.

The showers are clean but as I mentioned before the floors in the bathroom was dirty and the walls were gross looking .

Overall would I stay here again YES
Would I reccommend this place to my grandparents NO WAY
Would I reccommend to my friends or college friends SURE it is a good conversational piece.
As mentioned before the location makes up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Makeupartistonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Have you ever gone without a shower in a motel because you feared coming out of it dirtier than you went in?

The towels were probably white sometime back in the 80's (which may have been the last time they were washed). The stray hairs (of the short and curly variety) that littered the bathroom floor did nothing to help the ambiance.

They dumped us (a family with a small kid) in a smoking room. It took days to get that smell out. Not fun.

This, FWIW, was the start of a camping trip. The campsites we stayed at were cleaner, and the chemical toilets were fresher than this place's.

On the plus side, the location is great!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

Not bad for the price (approx. $75 per night), compared to prices for other L.A. hotels in this area. Very close to Farmers Market and CBS studios. Not too far away from Kodak Theatre (3 miles) and other city landmarks. Nice neighborhood, large clean rooms with satellite TV, fridge and microwave. Parking area very small, swimming pool very small and not heated. Bathrooms are small and could use a facelift. Wireless Internet is $5 per night but does not work good due to poor signal strength. We took our laptop to a nice little coffee shop one block west on Beverly Blvd. to get good internet signal. (I think it was called Buzz Coffee).
Not a bad place to stay for 1 or 2 nights if you are on a tight budget and don't plan on being at the hotel all day.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#137 of 355 in Los Angeles
313 reviews
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#202 of 355 in Los Angeles
199 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 355 in Los Angeles
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#196 of 355 in Los Angeles
587 reviews
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#130 of 355 in Los Angeles
420 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#144 of 355 in Los Angeles
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bevonshire Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bevonshire Lodge Motel

Address: 7575 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90036-2728
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $101 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bevonshire Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Bevonshire Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bevonshire Hotel Los Angeles
Bevonshire Motel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing