We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive piece of history”

Battleship USS Iowa BB-61
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.98*
and up
Battleship USS Iowa Museum Admission
Ranked #11 of 554 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrate the American Spirit aboard Battleship IOWA - the West Coast's only Battleship open to the public. Journey through World War II, the Korean War, and the Cold War as you experience the life of a sailor on the lead ship of the last class of gunships. Walk the wood decks to see up close the 16" guns, 5" guns, missile decks, bridge, mess areas, and the world famous Captain's Cabin with the only bathtub installed on a battleship for President - FDR. Our unique interactive tour now allows you to experience, firsthand, what it was like to live and serve on the historic ship. Access original video content to glimpse currently restricted areas such as the inside of our turrets, audio commentary that share rare and fascinating stories, plus augmented reality which recreates events such as the big 16" guns being fired. Located at the LA Waterfront, former home to the US Navy fleet prior to WWII, Battleship IOWA is open 10am - 4pm daily. (Closed Thanksgiving & Christmas.)
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
238 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Impressive piece of history”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good self-guided tour around the ship. Finding the ship's dog's pictures throughout the ship was a fun "treasure hunt" for the kids. The parking lot fee is pricey. Plan to spend several hours to roam around the ship. There are no restrooms available on the ship, so be sure to use those outside before entering (there are signs to remind you!).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank islandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    308
    41
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience for Kids and Adults”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Iowa has a rich history which comes to life with a visit. The ship's abilities and missions were complemented by the on-board information and the optional paid docent led tours. All the volunteers and docents were very knowledgeable and accomodated question after question while keeping the 1.5 hour tour moving.

The tour is easy for those that are mobile. The access for wheel chairs and those of limited mobility isn't easy and greatly limits the visit.

I went twice; once with my seven year old and again with my cub scout pack of 44. Each time was excellent.

I was amazed by the number and variety of visitors from all over the world visiting this jewel. The location and parking are extremely easy.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank al h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“old warrior”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

What a great experience. This ship is a treasure for all to share for generations to come. The only place where you can see the last active battleship as she last served.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“USS Iowa - Great Visit!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I'm a history fan and in particular, love WWII. When I discovered the Iowa was berthed nearby, I was ecstatic! The Iowa class battleship is really something to see and if you have the time, go see it. I took my French girlfriend (who is not a fan of war related things) and even she loved the ship! We walked the ship on our own, which was probably a mistake - the tour guides were very knowledgeable from what we overheard. However, even walking the ship by yourself, there are signs all over to tell you what you're looking at and lots of staff all about to tell you interesting facts and snippets about the boat. Surprisingly, just when we were done and were about to leave, we spoke with a security guard and spent a good 20 - 30 minutes talking with him. Even the security personnel love this ship and know lots of interesting facts.

What you should know - no tax dollars go towards the preservation and restoration of the ship. It's all off of donations and ticket fees. The people operating and securing the ship are all volunteers (at least, everyone we talked to were). If you have ever seen photos of this ship, they don't do it justice. Wait until you stand next to any of it's massive 16" guns and you'll be glad you visited! There are NO bathrooms on board the ship but there are some before you board. I recommend using them before boarding since you'll probably stay on the ship for at least 2 - 3 hours...

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank The_Real_Atticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoy the self guided tour. Had something for young and old. Myself as old and grandson which is eight. Great piece of American history which hopefully will be around for many more generations.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank roadking0598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battleship USS Iowa BB-61 also viewed

 

Been to Battleship USS Iowa BB-61? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing