We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ship tour ever!”

Battleship USS Iowa BB-61
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.98*
and up
Battleship USS Iowa Museum Admission
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
More Info
$72.00*
and up
Hollywood Explorer Pass
Ranked #12 of 564 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrate the American Spirit aboard Battleship IOWA - the West Coast's only Battleship open to the public. Journey through World War II, the Korean War, and the Cold War as you experience the life of a sailor on the lead ship of the last class of gunships. Walk the wood decks to see up close the 16" guns, 5" guns, missile decks, bridge, mess areas, and the world famous Captain's Cabin with the only bathtub installed on a battleship for President - FDR. Our unique interactive tour now allows you to experience, firsthand, what it was like to live and serve on the historic ship. Access original video content to glimpse currently restricted areas such as the inside of our turrets, audio commentary that share rare and fascinating stories, plus augmented reality which recreates events such as the big 16" guns being fired. Located at the LA Waterfront, former home to the US Navy fleet prior to WWII, Battleship IOWA is open 10am - 4pm daily. (Closed Thanksgiving & Christmas.)
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Beaumont, California, United States
1 review
“Best ship tour ever!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you can grab a docent please do. We were on homeschool tour so we had a docent and they were so knowledgeable! About the ship and the Naval involvement in all the wars. I went the Monday before our visit just to check it out as they recommended and happened upon a docent that was on the bow and asked him question. This lead to others and I am happy to say I was on the bow alone for over an hour! Doug was really awesome! When I came back on Friday with our group Doug was one of our guides again and he did another bang up job and even curtaintaled the information so that the littliest ones weren't bored and the older kids were inthralled!

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Debie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    335
    46
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice visit, lots of potential”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stopped in San Pedro to see the USS Iowa on the way up to LA for a week. My husband really wanted to see it, so we went on a Saturday afternoon after driving from AZ. I purchased tickets online the day before, so we had no hassle getting in, and it was a quiet day. No bathrooms onboard so make sure you stop before you get on(there are some near the ship)
Nice self guided tour with arrows marking your route. Various plaques telling you about items. The inside quarters have more info about the ship with old pictures, maps of its routes and military volunteers available to answer questions you may have. They were great! Very knowledgeable as they had served on similar ships and knew exactly what they were talking about. Easy and delightful to talk with, we enjoyed everyone we met. My husband had hoped to see below deck, but it is a work in progress, so we hope to return someday. My 12 year old daughter found it interesting where everybody got to sleep. Not always the most spacious space. Would recommend and would go back when more is opened.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
289 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Every child should take the tour!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Many children have little concept of war and how brave our sailors were in WW II. The Battleship Iowa and the docents were terrific in explaining the history of the battleships.

The tour is not for persons that can not climb or descend steep stairway.

It is a work in progress and more areas of the ship will open in the future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Battleship Iowa”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a great way to see and learn about WW II history. The self tour was easy to follow and there were vets through out the ship to tell us about select areas. We went on a Monday, which seemed to be a slow tour day, so we were able to really talk to the gentlemen. Even though only parts of the ship were open to the tour, we got a good sense of how the sailors lived and worked on the ship. The areas we toured were the gun area, bunks, mess, bridge, captains quarters, nav room, outside decks, and med room. There is a lot of steep stair climbing, no elevators. Also, no restrooms on board but port a potties next to ship. An added bonus for us: Ironsides was being filmed that day on board so we were able to watch production for awhile.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Must See!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After the disappointment of the Q-M this was fantastic!!!
Greeted by enthusiastic staff we where given a brief rundown on the self tour then off we went, followed the well marked course which led us to all that was interesting about this ship with the exception of our 7yr old who was in a mood we all had a great time and learnt alot about the battle ship at some points we could speak to knowledgeable staff about the ins and outs.
Great end to the day very happy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Majak168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battleship USS Iowa BB-61 also viewed

 

Been to Battleship USS Iowa BB-61? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing