We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #159 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
A TripAdvisor Member
Hinton, Alberta
110
Reviewed January 27, 2006

Four of us from Alberta Canada arrived late on January 10. Our reserved room was ready and the night manager gave us his parking space because the underground lot was full - a nice touch. We booked here because it is close to Universal Studios Hollywood and easy to access from LAX.

The room was fine, everything worked and no troubles. Breakfast standard HIE fare, not much room for seating. As reported by other travellers, an awful smell in the elevator. Take the stairs - some exercise and the smell was much less. Thankfully the room didn't have the smell!

15 minute walk to Universal Studios where we spent the day. That evening the manager was helpful in suggesting a place to eat down Cahuenga Blvd. We caught BF the next day and then left. Would recommend for those going to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 277 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2006

Five of us arrived 30th Dec 2005. 2 Bedded Suite on second floor with view of brick wall. Probably preferably to front rooms on main road. Nothing special. Horrid smell of ?perming lotion on landing. Breakfast average, not enough seating. No BBC America on TV. Comfy beds. A/C very cold and noisy, had to switch off at night. Nice bathrooms, extractor inadequate. Small indoor pool. Pricey at $199 per night excluding tax. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeaniblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2005

Was a little dubious about this choice having read some previous reviews however the hotel turned out to be immaculately clean, provided pleasant rooms and a highly satisfactory complimentary breakfast.
The staff could not have been more pleasant.
The local area was questioned by some previous reviewers however I did not feel at all threatened and enjoyed a high quality meal locally at the California Canteen and even enjoyed a beer at a bar just across from the hotel.
My only reason for not rating the hotel as excellent is the less than adequate pool - not much bigger than a bath really however that said the hotel is excellent value for money.
Previous reviewers have said that you can walk to Univeral Studios. You can but would probaly need a shower on arrival after the uphill trek - get a cab stay on for a meal at Citywalk & have a beer.

12  Thank DaveHodgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2005

For the price this hotel is well worth it. It is very close to the studios, Hollywood Bowl and Hollywood. The room wasn't anything special, but it was very clean. I would recommend that you get a room not facing the road. They first assigned us a room facing the road and we heard a lot of road noise. When we requested a room on the other side, they did so with no problem and we didn't hear a thing.

For some reason there was a peculiar smell right when you entered the lobby. No problem in our room.

Breakfast was a not much to speak of, but it got us going in the morning.

Staff was very friendly and overall we would return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cpatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank bootsobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank btnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
110
Reviewed July 11, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#145 of 355 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#64 of 355 in Los Angeles
463 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#140 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#104 of 355 in Los Angeles
196 reviews
The Garland
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3241 Cahuenga Blvd W, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $147 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn Los Angeles/Universal City! We are centrally located in the Los Angeles area, a very short distance from the studios and theme parks. For the Hollywood tourist, we are one mile from Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. You can walk to numerous theaters and event centers. For the sports enthusiast, we are within a few miles of Dodger Stadium and the Staples Center. And, for the shopper, we are close to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Our knowledgeable staff is ready to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing