We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #141 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good on short notice..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After checking out of another hotel in LA rather quickly, we found this holiday inn to be good on short notice. we stayed here for one night in a suite room. Our room had a king sized bed and one sofa bed for our party of 3. The king sized bed was nothing spectacular, but still a clean decent bed. The sofa bed was somewhat uncomfortable but bearable for one night, any longer and I would've gone crazy. The internet at the hotel is good, high speed and accessible. The room had a massive Jacuzzi smack in the middle of the room. rather impractical because you can't use it with other people in the room (separate from the bathroom) because of this, we never got to try it.

Breakfast was provided, decent.. pastries, cereal etc. they did however have good fruits. The pool we didn't use because it looked rather questionable.

The location of the hotel was convient but noisy. the hotel is situated right next to a highway. Its relatively close to universal studios, but wasn't important to us as we didn't go there. There is a starbucks and some small eateries across the road.

The receptionist was nice though.

NOTE: if you have a car (which is recommended if staying here), turning into the hotel can be abit troublesome. The entrance is easy to miss and well enclosed so just look out for the esso station across from the hotel. Its a good guideline for where the entrance to the parking lot is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yapdudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    96
    53
    25
    11
See reviews for
100
61
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My son and I spent 4 nights from May 8th. to 12th.. we were very pleased with this hotel near Universal studios. the room was very clean and the staff were great, very helpful and water ever day, which was great because it was so hot. Breakfast was very good. Really like Holiday inn express.

Room Tip: Great place to stay if your going to universal, you can walk. there is an in-n-out within walking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucille791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Excellent front desk staff, we arrived just before noon and we were allowed to check in early if we came back in half an hour! The rooms are spacious as it is an older hotel, but very clean and very quiet at night( just ask for a room away from the front road.) Like others on this site we asked about the neighbourhood at the front desk and were told it was safe. As we were going to Universal Studios the next day we decided to walk in the evening to the studios and back and felt quit safe, had no problems and the same the next day. The breakfast was excellent. Overall a very pleasent stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The location was within 1/2 mile walking of Universal Studios...great since parking is $15!!
While the rooms were quite good...the clientele and surrounding area were quite iffy.
Hesitant to walk the neighborhood at night.
The beds were exceedingly hard. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: For less noise, ask for top floor and on the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our parking is free and a big advantage over other hotels in our area. We will look into your mattress. Thank you again and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for our visit to Universal Studios. It had the best location being only 1/2 a mile from the park and 15 minutes to Hollywood. Called the hotel's 800 number and booked through them but when we got to the hotel, we were given a higher price from what was quoted. The manager though was nice enough to honor the original lower price. They were very accomodating. My daughter also left her camera at the lobby and a gracious guest returned it. Free wifi was great, including free parking and hot breakfast. Would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We will share with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We made our reservations months ago. We arrived after the 3:00pm check-in and were offered a smoking room. I have never booked a smoking room in my life! We were given the option to smell the room and it was horrible. We were offered a second room that was non-smoking, but smaller for our family. We were going to settle on the second room and were then offered the original room we reserved. We had our luggage on the cart and opened the door. Imagine our shock when we saw someone else's stuff already in the room. Very scary! Luckily the guest was not in sight. We went back to the lobby and Jun called the owner for the third time. After an hour, we left the hotel and had to cut our vacation short. We have cancelled our "priority club" membership and will probably not stay at a Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Get there early for the room you reserved!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank hixona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
I am sorry about your stay. As owner of the hotel, I myself was upset reading your review, because we never want to ruin a guests trip. After speaking with my staff, they told me you had booked a smoking room on your reservation. The front desk tried to switch your room to a non smoking room. The room you were switched to, the guests had checked out, and housekeeping cleaned the room. The previous guest was suppose to leave luggage in office, but left it in the room. Maintenance was informed of luggage, and there was a delay in pickup. For that we are sorry. Please try us again. We always try our best to improve our guests stay, that is why front desk clerk tried to change your smoking room reservation to nonsmoking. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was a Spring Break Trip for me, wife and kiddos age 8 and 5. We stayed Sun-Wed in mid March. The main purpose was a quick trip to visit USH. All of us really love it there and is much cheaper than Legoland or Disney. The hotel is very quaint. It is tucked up under the hillside in Hollywood. The cool thing that I thought about it is that there is one way in and one way out. There is a very small parking garage (free of charge) that you would think would fill up quickly, but we never had any problems finding a parking spot. The rooms are normal HIE rooms and the real selling point is the breakfast in the morning. It was a real value for the money and served the exact purpose of our trip. I would stay there again on another trip to USH.
A couple of negatives though. If you get a room on the freeway side and are a light sleeper, be prepared to wake up alot. However, I just turned on the A/C unit fan and the white noise from that, mostly cancelled the traffic noise. Also, I read somewhere that the hotel has a shuttle to and from USH. That is not true. There may be a shuttle, but it isn't contracted through the hotel, or a hotel van.
USH is always a great theme park for us. My kids really love the Simpsons ride and the Jurassic Park ride. We did these numerous times. From the Studio tour to the Blues Brothers we had a very fun vacation. Thanks for reading. I hope this review helps. Happy Trails.

Room Tip: The traffic side rooms are noisy, but the views are very good. Just turn on the A/C fan to drown out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hulkstillrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We thank you for your review. We do not offer a shuttle, but are a short 10 minute walk to the base of the Studios. They have a shuttle that comes to the base of Universal Studios and takes you up. Maybe this is the Shuttle you read about. Thank you again about your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#114 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#104 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#102 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
The Tangerine
#1 of 20 in Burbank
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 3241 Cahuenga Blvd W, Los Angeles, CA 90068-1301 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn Los Angeles/Universal City! We are centrally located in the Los Angeles area, a very short distance from the studios and theme parks. For the Hollywood tourist, we are one mile from Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. You can walk to numerous theaters and event centers. For the sports enthusiast, we are within a few miles of Dodger Stadium and the Staples Center. And, for the shopper, we are close to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Our knowledgeable staff is ready to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Choice Hotels so you can book your Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing