We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stupendous location, gracious host, delightful...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Villa Sophia - Hilltop Estate rental in the Los Feliz hills.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa Sophia - Hilltop Estate rental in the Los Feliz hills.
The Villa Sophia guesthouse rental has private pool with night time lighting and classical fountain. The Villa Sophia in Los Feliz with the Griffith Observatory behind.  Film and photography location.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Villa Sophia - Hilltop Estate rental in the Los Feliz hills.
The Villa Sophia guesthouse rental has private pool with night time lighting and classical fountain.
The Villa Sophia in Los Feliz with the Griffith Observatory behind.  Film and photography location.
Dramatic swimming pool. Classic fountain style.
Los Angeles tropical sunrise.  View from bed at the Villa Sophia vacation rental.
Poolside dining table.  El fresco dining at this Los Angeles private estate rental.  Film location.
Luxurious Los Angeles accommodations with private pool and skyline views.  Hollywood Hills.  Private
Luxurious bath w/ copper sinks, marble countertop, tile walls and stone floor. Los Feliz spa hotel.
Large stone fireplace to keep you warm on those cold desert nights. Los Feliz accommodations, 90027.
Romantic honeymoon suite with warmth and charm. The Villa Sophia in Los Angeles. Los Feliz hills.
Nightly guest house accommodations on 'Old Hollywood' estate. Views of downtown Los Angeles skyline.
The Villa Sophia - street entrance at night.
Villa Sophia - view of downtown Los Angeles skyline from Los Feliz hills near Griffith Observatory.
Front door to this grand mediterranean estate.   Best film and photography location in Los Angeles.
Lush gardens that bloom year round.  Viva California.  Italian villa rental in the Hollywood Hills.
L.A. guest house faces south across the pool.  Los Feliz vacation rental with garden. AirBnb.
Tropical pool area with banana and palm trees.
Formal Italian garden.  Goddess statue with Italian Cypress trees.
Grand mansion rests upon a Hollywood Hills hilltop.
Looking up at 15' castle walls  from the back hillside.
Chandeliers light the loggia leading to the guest house.  This is your private entryway.
View of bathroom from inside shower room.  Chaise lounge chair for spa experience.
Your own private spa resort.  Overhead rain, wall mounted and hand held shower heads. Los Angeles.
Private entrance thru this loggia area leads to the guest house.
Los Angeles villa rental with tropical gardens, spa and pool.  Location for filming and photography.
Lush garden, peaceful and private.
Cleaning day.  Bright, airy and spacious.
Luxury honeymoon suite opens onto the pool and garden.
King size upholstered luxury bedding.  Fine Italian linens.
Acqua di Parma Hotel Amenities.  #1 rated in the world.
Private poolside sanctuary.
The Villa Sophia view of downtown Los Angeles skyline from inside the shower.
'Entourage' TV Show at The Villa Sophia.  Jeremy Piven and Perrey Reeves.
Lower hillside terrace with view of downtown Los Angeles.
Wedding on the lower terrace on this day.
Garden in bloom.  Looks like this all year round in California.  Thanks to the Creator.
Sexy Photo shoot - Elle Magazine
View of downtown Los Angeles skyline thru the blooming canna flowers
Back hillside landscape with paths, terraces, pergola and a little temple.
Romantic luxury villa property.  Street view of The Villa Sophia.
This is your view from bed!  Good morning.
Exercise equipment include yoga mats, water weights, swim fins, light hand weights.
The Villa Sophia - Los Angeles
The Villa Sophia view looking east towards Pasadena.  These rolling green hills can be a surprise.
Los Angeles view from The Villa Sophia - looks like the countryside from here.
Los Angeles garden oasis in the Hollywood Hills.
The Villa Sophia in Los Angeles is private and peaceful yet only one mile from Los Feliz village.
Los Angeles skyline view facing south from The Villa Sophia
Romantic exterior lighting by the pool.
The Villa Sophia - Los Angeles
The Villa Sophia - Los Angeles
Pool is steps from the guest house.
View of Griffith Park Observatory from the front yard.
Pacific Ocean views to the west.
Twin brothers double wedding on this day.
View from Main House.
Aerial view.
Guest house with pool in front.
Master bathroom.
Street view of The Villa Sophia, a historical  Tuscan style villa in Los Angeles.
Poolside yoga by the hot tub.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Los Angeles, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Stupendous location, gracious host, delightful experience!”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My daughter and I loved Villa Sophia, for all the reasons one would expect -its gorgeous, inside and out and it is extremely comfortable with the host providing a lovely welcome and all the amenities of a top notch hotel but with privacy that was priceless. Above the City, part of the city but away from it all. A view that was dynamic and spectacular. A jewel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and its loveliness and the bedroom with fireplace actually too much to list
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YearRound...
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a magical weekend at The Villa Sophia. We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the spectacular views. Tim left no stone unturned in providing exquisite comfort on all levels. We are accustomed to staying at five star hotels and The Villa Sophia did not disappoint.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eternal11...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If the devils is in the details, how did Lucifer make it into heaven.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Simply extraordinary! From the moment we turned up the winding road I knew that this was going to be a special trip. Just like Tim noted, parking was ample and spacious. I never felt worried leaving the exotic rental on the public street, that's even if you want to call it that because the only traffic was scarce and that was from the residents.

The Villa was magical, my wife was speechless. The garden, plants, flowers, statues, pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, lighting, the architecture was simply divine. Enough to humble the most wordly of guest. I've frequented some of the best rooms at the Waldolf Astoria, Manderin Oriental, the Wynn and a host of other upscale establishments and I most say the beauty and privacy of Villa Sophia is incomparable. Even the toiletries were on par with 5 star accommodations.

No painting or tapestry will capture the view that you get from your bedroom, the pool or any other room on the property. A timeless classic, such a well thought out design.


The only thing that stopped us from thinking we were vacationing in Italy was the fact that Tim spoke English...I highly recommend this place. Tim, you were a gracious host and Sophia was a lovely companion.


You know it's a good deal when you think of sending your mother there all the way from Brooklyn just to relax.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyS1202
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“The Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Villa Sophia for three wonderful nights. Since we live in different cities, my girlfriend always comes to visit once awhile. We try to stay at different places every time instead of my own. So we have been to the SLS, the W Hotel Westwood, Sofitel at Beverly Hills, Chateau Marmont etc...Compare to most of the accommodation in LA, we like the Villa Sophia the best in every aspect.
Nowadays, “A hidden gem” has been overused so many times, but the Villa Sophia is really the place that matches this phrase.
As soon we walked into the villa at night, the night view of downtown LA just amazed us. The view was just as the same as you can get from the Griffith Observatory. And the next morning when we woke up, everything surround the pool house makes it unbeatable. The house, garden and pool just brought a aesthetic and illusionary feeling that being in Tuscany instead of the busy and crowded LA. The uniqueness and tranquility just can’t be found at those fancy Beverly Hills hotels (Although some of them are very cool hotels, but compare to the private space you can have, they are even more expensive).
Despite the perfect atmosphere and scenery, the details of the house are still among the best. The room is equipped with beautiful floor to ceiling windows, marble shower room with steam system, aesthetic paintings, decent stereo and books and movies! The bed is super comfortable, and my girlfriend says the shower product is her favorite and the best (Tim you really have a good taste!). Also there’s microwave, dinnerware, any daily necessities.
The owner, Tim is such a considerable host that makes sure everything is here and functional for your needs. He never makes you feel ignored but never being intrusive. His cute dog Sophie always came for a biscuits which Tim put some in the pool house.
Words and pictures can’t really explain how amazing the Villas Sophia is. Just go and experience it yourself. We are already planning to visit Tim and Sophie and stay there again.
Thank you, Tim, for opening your place to let us experience and appreciate the true beauty of the Villa Sophia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, atmosphere, detail....
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadg2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, this place was even better than the photos ! I wanted peace and tranquility and thats what I got. Views were incredible, everything was perfect, Tim the owner was very helpful. Only minus point was the pool wasn't heated , water a bit cold in December so had to pay extra to heat. Go there you wont regret it

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bathgate
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing