We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but had no issues. Would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dixie Hollywood
Ranked #120 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Your standard budget motel; you get what you pay for. Room was secure, quiet and clean, as was bedding, bathroom, etc. Only negatives were that parking is limited, did fill up on our second night an the wi-fi was a little un-reliable. Had a local breakfast dinner and in the Thai area, so plenty of nice Thai restaurants within walking distance. Underground Metro station with 5 min walk distance too.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTaylorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 688 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

This hotel is very adequate and located close to a Metro station and buses. The staff were friendly and most helpful. The room provided everything we needed including microwave and fridge. The breakfast room did get crowded sometimes, but it was easy to take food back to the bedroom, no problem. It was much quieter than I expected and I would definitely stay there again.
The only problems we had were tiny ants in the bathroom and the keycard had to be reset almost every day after the room was cleaned - both very minor details - no big deal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We booked our room on the hotel website directly for around 73$ a night. This was a 2 queen bed AC room. The room was big and clean. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom though a lil worn out, was clean. There was a mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave in the room. There was a tv in the room (though not flat TV).

The rooms were cleaned and beds made everyday when we were there :) There was a lil traffic noise as our room was close to the main street but we were too tired and didnt have trouble sleeping.

We had free parking for our car and free wireless internet. Also there was free breakfast in the morning in a small room behind the reception. There were hot waffles, juice, coffee, toast and milk n cereal. Breakfast times were super crowded though. The swimming pool was closed for cleaning when we were there.

The hotel is close to attractions like Chinese theatre, Kodak theatre, walk of fame etc. but it isn't walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

My daughter and I booked this motel online trying to save $. After I read the reviews we were scared of what we would get. For the money it was just fine. Good parking, easy access. Everthing we needed for the nights. Nice pool, although we didn't use it. So glad we booked a rental car to get places. Sure, its not a fancy place with a big breakfast but for the $ it was JUST FINE!!!!!!!!!!! We felt very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvtotravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Booked the motel for a week, check in and out was good, staff were friendly. location was good, room was clean. close to public transport. There is a diner next to the motel which was great for breakfast and a supermarket across the road.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

everything was great. the rooms are clean. you need a car when you stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cora055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I normally don't write reviews and when I read others, I try to keep an open mind. I've stayed here the past few years from time to time. Price was ok, rooms clean but basic. Never saw any bugs. However, my last trip put me off this place for good! I was placed next to room that was undergoing construction and also had very noisy neighbors (adults talking loud every morning). Late Sat night (11PM) they came back to the room drunk and with a group of friends. Extremely noisy. Called down twice to front desk, they didn't bother the first time, then they came and told everyone to be quiet. Didn't help. Another guest on the other side of that room also called the front desk. Noise continued, they were extremely drunk. I serioously thought of calling the cops. Finally around 3AM they started to get unusually quiet. That's when I started to smell something strange coming from the common door between the rooms, marijuana!

As much as I wanted to call the front desk or even the cops, I didn't want any trouble for myself so I put pillows at the bottom of that door, covered my face and tried to sleep. Finally went to sleep around 4:30AM, I was supposed to be up at 6AM! Around 8AM, a friend of the noisy neighbors came to their room and started banging on their door and calling them, when they didn't answer, he went to housekeeping who then decided it may be the wrong room and opened mine instead! No knock on my door, just someone opening it with a key without my consent! Luckily I had the deadbolt on it. When I checked out, the lady at the front counter apologized for the night (she wasn't the night person on duty) and gave me a discount on the room. It really should've been free but I was to tired to fight the issue. I left promising myself I would never return!

Location is great if you want to be in Hollywood, close to Graumann's, etc. However, the area is really bad now. There's always people hanging around very late at night. They had a security guard out in the parking lot on Friday night; they should also have one on Saturdays. Days Inn recently airbrushed a movie star motiff over all the rooms and exterior walls which really makes it look even cheaper and seedier. Mgmt doesn't do anything about the problems in their place. Do yourself a favor, find something better!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyman1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#119 of 354 in Los Angeles
685 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#110 of 354 in Los Angeles
200 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#88 of 354 in Los Angeles
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#145 of 354 in Los Angeles
439 reviews
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dixie Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dixie Hollywood

Address: 5410 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-3406 (Formerly Days Inn Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $124 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dixie Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel is located in the very heart of Hollywood California, a stone's throw from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. A tribute to sophistication and elegance, The Dixie Hollywood Hotel prides itself on its attentive service, guaranteed to make visitors feel at home. A stellar location puts the best of Hollywood's attractions, like the Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios Hollywood, Greek Theatre and Griffith Park within easy reach by the use of the Metro Subway located directly next door to The Dixie Hollywood. Discover a vast range of boutique stores, Hollywood studios, and celebrity restaurants virtually blocks away from the doorsteps of The Dixie Hollywood. Relax at the pool in front of the world famous Hollywood murals with a refreshing lemonade and a book before heading out for the night. Perfect for families, couples and singles, every one of the Dixie Hollywood's 70 rooms and suites are decorated with a hand painted Hollywood themed mural, alpaca headboards, crisp, white high thread count triple-sheeted bed coverings, all accented with warm minimalist dark wood furniture and sparked with brushed stainless accents. A large flat screen TV along with ambient recessed lighting together create the perfect setting to enjoy a late night Hollywood flick in the comfort of your room. You'll discover The Dixie Hollywood to be a relaxing launchpad for all your adventures in Hollywood, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dixie Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Days Inn
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing