We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dixie Hollywood
Ranked #123 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious room”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The exterior looks like a classic hollywood style motel with interesting decorations. The interior on the other hand is decorated with modern design. Our room door has the Michael Jackson portrait (painted) and there are other famous stars painted on other doors.

The room is spacious for a family of four with basic amenities like coffee maker, cups and glasses, flat screen TV, fridge, sofa chairs. It is not so close to restaurants and other amenities. We have to take a short drive (cannot really walk when we have young children) to the Boulevard Ave, the Star Walk and other attractions in central Hollywood.

There were some amount of noise from a crowd upstairs during the night, but generally the bed is comfortable. There is a big panel of glass window by the bed, you may feel a little lack of privacy when the curtains are drawn opened (esp. when we are at the ground floor facing the car park). This becomes a problem when some other guests were posting at our door for photos with the late Michael Jackson portrait.

There is a good size carpark in the compound, so we don't have to worry about our car. However, one part of the carpark was unevenly paved, so after a huge rainfall, that part was filled with water. The reception was ment by only one staff who is not too friendly. We must put a deposit to get our room key, and it took a while for them to refund when check out.

Overall, we were happy with our one night stay in this motel.

Room Tip: If you have children and large luggages, ask for the ground floor. However, the sacrifice is privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    234
    182
    78
    71
See reviews for
227
144
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Dixie Hotel is very near metro station almost next door. I found the area was safe, and across the road was a supermarket which was useful. Reception staff were very helpful. The rooms were a little tired, however they had a microwave, fridge, flat screen TV and coffee maker. The pool area looked pleasant although we didn't use it. As we wanted this hotel as a base to visit Universal Studios it worked for us, but make sure you don't pay too much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Jean, thank you for your recent stay with us. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

It's a shame the reviews for this aren't that great because I thought it was pretty good! It was clean and interestingly decorated -- our room had Bruce Lee painted on the outside of the door - I was a little surprised to see people posing outside my window for a photo first thing in the morning before I remembered the paint job heh. Anyway.... back to the room....there was a flat screen TV and fridge in there too which was useful - especially since there is a 7/11 just down the street. There was pool, I didn't get time to go in it but it looked alright - I would recommend the breakfast restaurant that is attached to it (you don't even need to stay there) as it does awesome chorizo scrambled eggs. The place itself is located on Hollywood blvd -- about a 30-45 minute walk to the walk of fame - or a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro station. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps steer clear of the decorated doors... (e.g., bruce lee, I love lucy, micheal jackson) as peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bagelobagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for staying at The Dixie Hollywood; we hope you share your great experience at our hotel with your friends and family. Thank you for your comments and will look forward to seeing you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Definitely not what it looks like in their pictures. The rooms were somewhat updated but it still reminded me of the 70's or 80's. There weren't many outlets for all of us who needed to charge our electronics. The rooms were very dark and the mattress was actually lumpy. The swimming pool was right in the middle of the parking lot next to the busy street. The area was a little sketchy as well.
Needless to say, we stayed out as late as we could and only went back to sleep and got out of there as soon as we could in the morning. The wifi here was terrible as well. I definitely won't go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 453tracyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot and can honestly say this place is fantastic! Great service, fridge in the room and very spacious, large Ralph's supermarket across the road and the metro was 1 min walk away which got us to all the sights of Los Angeles we wanted to see and universal studios was only 2 stops away!!! Only downfall was one of the beds was very creaky!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Apez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
The team at The Dixie Hollywood would like to thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, and our amenities. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

When I first read comments about this hotel, I was a bit scared... But it was better than expected! Rooms are quite big but need definitely a refreshment! The Wifi is not good at all! And the room was not really clean... Some weird stains on a chair! Towels could be replaced! But nothing critical! The most annoying stuff was the noise! This hotel is really noisy, not because of the proximity of the road but more because of the neighbors, so we may have not been really lucky...
After, the hotel is really well located, with a metro stop around the corner... If you have a car, there is a free parking! And the area is really safe! You can find good places to eat something from the corner of Prospect Av and N Vermont Av.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
668 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#124 of 351 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 351 in Los Angeles
398 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#160 of 351 in Los Angeles
414 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dixie Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dixie Hollywood

Property: The Dixie Hollywood
Address: 5410 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-3406 (Formerly Days Inn Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dixie Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel is located in the very heart of Hollywood California, a stone's throw from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. A tribute to sophistication and elegance, The Dixie Hollywood Hotel prides itself on its attentive service, guaranteed to make visitors feel at home. A stellar location puts the best of Hollywood's attractions, like the Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios Hollywood, Greek Theatre and Griffith Park within easy reach by the use of the Metro Subway located directly next door to The Dixie Hollywood. Discover a vast range of boutique stores, Hollywood studios, and celebrity restaurants virtually blocks away from the doorsteps of The Dixie Hollywood. Relax at the pool in front of the world famous Hollywood murals with a refreshing lemonade and a book before heading out for the night. Perfect for families, couples and singles, every one of the Dixie Hollywood's 70 rooms and suites are decorated with a hand painted Hollywood themed mural, alpaca headboards, crisp, white high thread count triple-sheeted bed coverings, all accented with warm minimalist dark wood furniture and sparked with brushed stainless accents. A large flat screen TV along with ambient recessed lighting together create the perfect setting to enjoy a late night Hollywood flick in the comfort of your room. You'll discover The Dixie Hollywood to be a relaxing launchpad for all your adventures in Hollywood, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dixie Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Days Inn
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing