We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget motel but you get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dixie Hollywood
Ranked #118 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Budget motel but you get what you pay for.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

There was red stain on the ceiling, the plugin covers were broken and not replaced, the bed boards were screwed onto the wall but the sawdust was not cleaned up after, lampshades were damaged and worst of all, ther e was a cockroach in the lobby.

The only great things about this hotel was free parking, free internet, and good location for budget Thai food.

We booked 7 nights and only stayed one. Good cancellation policy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments! We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we do treasured your thought and we can resolve this problem with training. We hope that in the near future you stay with us again so we have the opportunity to give you a better stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    244
    187
    79
    71
See reviews for
235
148
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place gets more of a bad wrap than it really deserves. I was hesitant booking but was pleasantly surprised.
It is located in a very convenient area - short walk to the metro (2 stops from Hollywood and highland), near a cvs, shops, Ralph's and next to a nice little diner for breakfasts/lunch.
The parking is free and there is a decent amount of it. Wifi was pretty good.
We had a room with 2 double beds, and there was plenty if room. Linen was clean, too had all the amenities you need (including a fridge) and overall it was very adequate.
Not a luxury place but it is reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcfly_85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying at The Dixie Hollywood; we hope you share your great experience at our hotel with your friends and family. Thank you for your comments and will look forward to seeing you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked this hotel (back in April) on Bookit.com due to the low rate. Based on the reviews, the hotel had a good number of negatives but I wasn't discouraged cause I wanted to be near Hollywood Blvd and I'm not willing to spend a lot of money on a 4 day weekend visit. I was pretty happy to find this place and here's why:

1) My room #132 was pretty spacious. Even with 2 beds, there was plenty of floor space to move around.
2) It had hair dryer, iron / board, mini fridge, clothes drawer / hanging closet, LCD TV (w/ direct TV), coffee maker, microwave, separate toilet / shower and sink and FREE wifi (was a bit spotty sometimes).
3) The bedding smelled laundry fresh but the wooden floors were a bit dusty. The towels could be better cause they were kinda rough.
4) Daily cleaning service and they were very polite too.
5) The hotel is a few steps away from Subway stop (Hollywood & Western), Starbucks, CVS, Ralphs and amazing Thai restaurants.
6) Plenty of FREE parking space even coming home late at night.
7) Its centrally located near Beverly, Sunset, Santa Monica Blvd, Wilshire and short drive to 101 freeway.

In addition, the manager on duty was very helpful. I originally booked a room with king size bed on the 2nd floor. That room was a little cramped and the A/C wasn't getting cold. Turned out, that particular room had an electrical problem and manager moved me to the double room downstairs which was significantly large and the A/C was nice and cold :) In conclusion, it was satisfactory because I slept well and the manager on duty (his name was Jeffrey) was very accommodating :)
Please see my pics to check out king and double room comparison. I will consider staying here again cause can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Get a double room. Its bigger than the king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We are thrilled that you found the property to be so inviting. I will share your wonderful feedback with my staff including the housekeeping department. We look forward to having you as our guest on your return to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Found this little gem in the middle of Hollywood, for the same price you would pay for staying the night in Burbank or somewhere else a bit further out. Internet (rather bad, but thats US hotel Internet for you...) and parking included in rate.
Room was nice and reasonably spacious, clean and decent bathroom.
AC a little bit noisy, but once again - that's what you get from having a unit mounted in your room...
Quite centrally located. We walked up to the Chinese Theatre in about 15 minutes. There is a Starbucks and a Ralphs just across the street, a diner (where you get discount as a hotel guest) in an adjacent building. Cash machine in lobby. Fenced pool.
The girl that checked us in was really nice and friendly. A couple of the other staff could do with smiling every now and then...
All in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, General Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Anders, thank you for your recent stay with us at The Dixie Hollywood. We value all your great comments and feedback. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent a while browsing through so many hotels, and couldn’t find anything nice for a decent price, so I settled for this place. Stayed for 4 nights, won´t come back. Just read the reviews on TA and you´ll know what to expect.
Location: It is really a good location, and it would be great if it was just 5 blocks nearer to the walk of fame, just over the 101 highway. These 5 (very long) blocks to the 101 are dark, dirty, and full of homeless and you wouldn’t walk down this road at night. The subway is right on the corner (red line) and will take you to Universal in under 15 minutes. It will also take to you to the walk of fame and the Chinese theater. Trust me, you will want to take the subway to this places at night, as trying to walk from the hotel is really dangerous. The neighborhood is a little “rough”.
They are not within walking distance from walk of fame... it is maybe a 25 min walk for a young couple.
The parking lot has two entrances that are open 24hs, so you get a feeling of insecurity, especially when you see the locks on the rooms.
There is free parking, and that is a very hard feature to find in LA. But you better arrive early as the lot fills up really quickly and you will have to park on the streets. The free wifi sucks, but at least it is free.
Rooms are spacious and there is a supermarket just across the road. TV was big and the bed was OK. Pillows really really sucked.

Room Tip: The place is noisy! stay as far as you can from the boulevard as traffic is constant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaluPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good location for what you pay, your not far from the hollywood walk of fame or universal studios, free parking, free wifi, spacious rooms and supermarket just across the road.

Bathroom could do with a refresh though.

Depending what you are like/how you are you may be alarmed at the surroundings i.e. may see "ghetto" but after half a day there we found there is nothing to worry about.


Main bedroom light wasnt fix during stay. No in room safes.

Reception staff helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReefyReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at The Dixie for 2 nights in November 2012. It's a great place and fairly easy to find in LA. Had a few concerns on arrival as it did look like we might have ventured into Spring Break territory (even though the wrong time of year!) as there were lots of youngsters hanging around the walkways but any concerns about noise etc didn't come to anything.
Parking is a bit limited but the room was a good size and the pool was a very welcome addition after walking around LA on a blisteringly hot day.
The only issue I had with The Dixie was that the chap on reception was on the phone the entire time I was checking in which meant I wasn't able to ask questions about location and where to head to eat etc

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kathrynsutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#116 of 350 in Los Angeles
672 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#114 of 350 in Los Angeles
191 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#90 of 350 in Los Angeles
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#156 of 350 in Los Angeles
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dixie Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dixie Hollywood

Property: The Dixie Hollywood
Address: 5410 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-3406 (Formerly Days Inn Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dixie Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel is located in the very heart of Hollywood California, a stone's throw from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. A tribute to sophistication and elegance, The Dixie Hollywood Hotel prides itself on its attentive service, guaranteed to make visitors feel at home. A stellar location puts the best of Hollywood's attractions, like the Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios Hollywood, Greek Theatre and Griffith Park within easy reach by the use of the Metro Subway located directly next door to The Dixie Hollywood. Discover a vast range of boutique stores, Hollywood studios, and celebrity restaurants virtually blocks away from the doorsteps of The Dixie Hollywood. Relax at the pool in front of the world famous Hollywood murals with a refreshing lemonade and a book before heading out for the night. Perfect for families, couples and singles, every one of the Dixie Hollywood's 70 rooms and suites are decorated with a hand painted Hollywood themed mural, alpaca headboards, crisp, white high thread count triple-sheeted bed coverings, all accented with warm minimalist dark wood furniture and sparked with brushed stainless accents. A large flat screen TV along with ambient recessed lighting together create the perfect setting to enjoy a late night Hollywood flick in the comfort of your room. You'll discover The Dixie Hollywood to be a relaxing launchpad for all your adventures in Hollywood, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dixie Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Days Inn
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing