We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place needs work!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dixie Hollywood
Ranked #121 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place needs work!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times! I think they are trying to be way too trendy. The room had no lighting next to the bed. They forgot to place soap in the bathroom. The refrigerator was not turned on and the phone did not have all the necessary numbers on it.

Room Tip: Make sure you have your drinks purchased before the pool closes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraleemacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    234
    184
    78
    71
See reviews for
227
144
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Dixie! It was a basic hotel/motel but had everything we needed, comfy beds, was clean, and just a minutes walk from the easy-to-use metro (subway/tube) station which takes you to all the touristy stations. Reception staff were all lovely and really helpful. Our room was a little noisy (we were right at the front) as on a main road, so worth asking for a room at the back if you're a light sleeper. A hefty $50+ cab fare from the airport so would organise a shuttle bus, but make sure you leave plenty of time - ours (Super Shuttle!) was 30 minutes late then still had to go to other hotels for pick up, so we nearly missed our flight. Breakfast place next to hotel is posher than your good old Denny's, but lovely fresh food & individually cooked dishes, tho to be honest we struggled with the limited, unusual menu (but that's just our personal taste). Would recommend this hotel - it's not upmarket but is more than adequate for a few days stay.

Room Tip: Suite was nice, a little dated but very large & handy to have fridge and microwave. Lots of traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was bad, the Internet was sooooo slow I had to leave the room on several occasions just to send a message and forget about logging onto fb because it nothing would load. In the bathroom the tissue paper didn't have a roll it was set on the ground, the ceiling had water damage, and omg let's not forget the huge COCHROACH that came from underneath the bed, if I wasn't freaking out trying to get it out of the room I woulda taking a pic of it, when I let front desk know all they said was sorry.. I came all the way from the bay area and never AGAIN!!!!! Folks your better off going to a motel 6!!! Trust me...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Typical motel (ex Days Inn) on the edge of Hollywood. Ideal for Metro - Hollywood Western stop. Bus routes pass the property. No food available but on site diner for breakfast or later meal (very good).
Staff were very helpful and the rooms clean. However first room had no hanging space or draws for clothing. Then had to move again due to servicing needs.
Not the best place to stay but reasonable for families
Off street parking.
Be sure you explain your needs when booking. Half of rooms are up one flight of stairs. No lift. Staff will help if needed.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back to avoid noise - this is Hollywood. Unless you wish to live out of your suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We chose the hotel because of the location and reviews on tripadvisor, but it turned out that the walk of fame starts 20 min away with not-known-names and we kept walking about an hour.. By car good location! Poor internet and very noisy rooms, but clean and nice staff.. But we would pay a little more next time for better location and privacy/Internet next time..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPH_iwersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Dixie Hotel (it's a motel but a nice one) for a few nights in August 2012. It was clean, tidy, the rooms had plenty of room.

I would not recommend their restaurant which is attached to the hotel. The food was terrible and over priced.

We got a great price on this hotel. I wouldn't have paid their full rate price, I would stay somewhere closed to West Hollywood for their full rate price.

Positive: Clean large rooms. Free car parking. Easy to find in LA. Very quiet, we stayed in upstairs rooms. Pool was nice, clean and plenty of sun beds available. Close to public transport to everywhere. Nice Thai restaurants close by.

Cons: No room safe. Water pressure was hit and miss, sometimes it was great, other times no pressure at all. Bathrooms are dated. The area is a little dodgy at night, I certainly wouldn't walk around alone or with a few females.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyLeones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed 7 nights at the Dixie and are so glad to be out of there!!!

Advertised as a boutique hotel, and paying upwards of $140 per night we were not expecting the ritz but we were certainly expecting more than a banger motel!
Check in was relatively easy, although when inquiring about the car rental their website says they offer, we were instructed to come back in the morning....no follow up, no information, so we just went elsewhere for a car.
The room was spacious enough I guess, old rooms with a quick luck of paint and flat screen tv, but underneath just a tired motel room, there is a small bar fridge and microwave in the room, the ac's knobs were broken so if you turned it off it was unlikely you could get it going again, without it it was hot and stuffy but with seemingly only one setting, at times it got quite cold!
The wifi here is all but non-existent, super slow if it worked at all.....your best bet is to sit by the door with your phone outside.....even then loading a page was arduous.
The pool area is quaint and looks great all lit up at night time, however after swimming there once I developed a rash, kind of like chlorine burn?
The staff were less than helpfull, three times my husband and I were walked in on without even KNOCKING and all three times when the do not disturb sign was displayed!!! Twice by house keeping and once by maintenance claiming to be coming to fix curtains that had fallen down.....curtains that were drawn and clearly intact?
Twice we had to go to reception and get new keys programmed as the system had timed us out, the original booking was for 7 nights so it's not like we confused things by extending our stay or anything, both times it was late at night too, when you just want to get inside and go to bed, not mess around getting new keys!
The hotel is on Hollywood blvd, but the other side of the freeway, so at least a 30-45 min walk from all the attractions, there is a subway next door that takes you in but we never used it, we don't mind walking.
The only saving grace is the AMAZING restaurant, I'm not sure if it is part of the Dixie or just on the same property, but easily the best food we ate in all of LA!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missjessileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#112 of 351 in Los Angeles
668 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#125 of 351 in Los Angeles
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#28 of 351 in Los Angeles
400 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#159 of 351 in Los Angeles
414 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dixie Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dixie Hollywood

Property: The Dixie Hollywood
Address: 5410 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-3406 (Formerly Days Inn Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dixie Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel is located in the very heart of Hollywood California, a stone's throw from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. A tribute to sophistication and elegance, The Dixie Hollywood Hotel prides itself on its attentive service, guaranteed to make visitors feel at home. A stellar location puts the best of Hollywood's attractions, like the Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios Hollywood, Greek Theatre and Griffith Park within easy reach by the use of the Metro Subway located directly next door to The Dixie Hollywood. Discover a vast range of boutique stores, Hollywood studios, and celebrity restaurants virtually blocks away from the doorsteps of The Dixie Hollywood. Relax at the pool in front of the world famous Hollywood murals with a refreshing lemonade and a book before heading out for the night. Perfect for families, couples and singles, every one of the Dixie Hollywood's 70 rooms and suites are decorated with a hand painted Hollywood themed mural, alpaca headboards, crisp, white high thread count triple-sheeted bed coverings, all accented with warm minimalist dark wood furniture and sparked with brushed stainless accents. A large flat screen TV along with ambient recessed lighting together create the perfect setting to enjoy a late night Hollywood flick in the comfort of your room. You'll discover The Dixie Hollywood to be a relaxing launchpad for all your adventures in Hollywood, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dixie Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Days Inn
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing