We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I still think about my breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Diner

Happy Diner
Ranked #228 of 9,854 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: LAX Area
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I still think about my breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very short walk from the Crowne plaza where we were staying. I'm so glad that it was because it was one of the best breakfast meals I've ever had! I decided to try something completely new to me and the waitress recommended "anything with the verde sauce" so I went with the chefs special. Tortillas topped with hashbrowns, shredded pork, smothered in verde sauce, with cheese, sour cream and guacamole... Yummmmm!! I was in heaven! Seriously check this place out if your in town or take a drive, It's worth it! There Is only one other place I've had a breakfast so memorable and that was in grand haven,mi (oatmeal pancakes mmm) anyway this place has got the goods!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle19828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coshocton, Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great eats and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Staying close by waiting for a cruise trip, a local told us about this diner at the corner bus stop. What a find......best chilly I have had in years!!! We did the burger and fry thing and they were fantastic. Menu has everything you could want, at very reasonable prices and the service is excellent. Must stop if you in the area and you like food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredOhioTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy walk from Crowne Plaza San Pedro Excellent Food & Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very nice hometown diner. We found it by accident and what a pleasant surprise. The menu is large, the prices are low and the service was excellent. I spoke with the owner and told him he can be proud of a very nice restaurant and staff. We had dinner then breakfast the next morning before cruising to Hawaii. This is a very simple, excellent blue collar dining, all American type place that we just love to patronize.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I am a regular customer of the Happy Diner. Family owned and operated, the menu is eclectic, reasonably priced,always tasty, and always served with a smile. You can get breakfast all day if you want, or take advantage of a varied menu ranging from straight up American diner fare to Mexican specialties. Substitutions are no problem. True, the decor is unprepossessing, but what do you really go to a restaurant for? Great food, great service, and friendly people all served up at a price that makes sense. You can't do better in San Pedro than the Happy Diner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good people, good prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We found this small, hometown cafe when we were looking for a place to eat breakfast before our cruise left San Pedro for Hawaii. It is a short walk around the corner from the Crowne Plaza Hotel near the port. The owner and her cook handled the whole place with skill and good humor. The food and service was very good! Clientele was mostly local...usually a good sign. The menu offered a large selection of breakfasts including some Mexican specialities. We didn't see the lunch menu, but if breakfast was any indication, lunch would be great, too! Food was fresh and arrived hot at the table. I would make it a point to eat there again if we are in the San Pedro port in the future.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgalvin106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Diner also viewed

 

Been to Happy Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing