We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & location, just a few issues...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BLVD Hotel & Suites
Ranked #74 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
A TripAdvisor Member
Michigan
27
Reviewed March 8, 2005

Stay Dates: March 5-8, 2005

The location of this hotel is great. A short walk to Hollywood and Highland where Kodak Theater is. Very close to Hwy 101 and the Hollywood Bowl.

The employees that we talked to were friendly and helpful as far as getting information about attractions.

We had to call the hotel for directions several times after we arrived at LAX because we kept getting lost. The man at the desk was very helpful and patient. It was a 2 hour trip to the hotel from LAX (we got lost and had bad traffic). Going back to LAX in the early morning took 25 minutes.

The room was clean and good-sized. It had a refrigerator and microwave. However, I had called a few days before our arrival to see if they had free high-speed internet. I was assured that they did. Unfortunately, they do not.

Another problem was that they never refilled our supply of soap or shampoo during our 4 day stay. With 3 of us in the room, we went through these items quickly.

Also, all the vending machines were out of order the entire time we were there. Having the fridge in the room helps because you can pick up something to drink while you are out and about and save it for later. I would definetly suggest bringing your own beverages since I have read other reviews that indicated the vending machines were out of order during their stay.

Overall, I would recommed this hotel. The price, location and friendly service make up for the minor problems that we experienced.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 580 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2005

I stayed here for four nights 26-30 January 2005 after receiving suggestions from the TripAdvisor forums. As other people have commented, it all looks new, the rooms are spacious, the windows can be opened to let in fresh air (too rare in most motels), the room I had was away from the road so there was little traffic noise, the staff were friendly and mostly helpful, the booking via the Internet was smooth and trouble-free, the bed was comfortable, a refrigerator and microwave were provided, and 90+ channels of cable TV were provided (although most of the time there was still nothing worth watching :-). There is a free continental breakfast, although I did not partake.

The location is very convenient, close to Hollywood Boulevard and the Metro Red Line subway. With a Metro Day pass ($3), you can get almost anywhere on a bus or the subway. I went to Disneyland for the cost of a day pass plus $1 each way, although this can take around two hours, so leave early.

As for safety, the hotel requires use of your room key to use the elevator, so corridor access is restricted.

Highland Ave is very well lit at night, and there are always lots of cars going by. I did not feel at all threatened walking back to the hotel by myself as late at 11pm. After dark, there were a few homeless people/beggars, but they were mostly targetting people in cars stopped at the traffic lights. Most never spoke to me, and if they did, I shook my head and they went away.

The only thing that prevents me from giving this hotel a rating of 5 is that the walls and ceilings are very thin. Conversations and amorous couples in adjacent rooms on some nights were clearly audible. The worst was when, at 4:45am, something started in the room above that sounded like children playing games, jumping up and down on the floor, running around, and turning the TV volume up. This was still going on after 9am. I did ring the front desk at 6am, and they said they would see what they could do. However, it did not stop.

The noises from adjacent rooms were not really a problem, and the noisy children are hopefully an isolated event.

Overall, I was very impressed, and would certainly stay there again.

9  Thank davidnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
416
Reviewed January 19, 2005

This hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the Hollywood Bowl and Hollywood Blvd. Highway 101 is one minute north. The room was clean and large, though the view was of a condo twenty feet away. Both vending machines in the building were out of order during our three-night stay. Parking was a hassle. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was average. The hotel looked nice inside and out, and I would recommend it to anyone staying in the L.A. area.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2005

I stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suites Hollywood from Dec 18 - 26 2004.

I found the location to be very convenient - it is only a short walk to hollywood blvd, where kodak theatres is.

The hotel was very clean and well kept. Everything was new also. There is also free parking on site for residents. the room has a microwave and fridge also, along with hairdryer etc.

This is a great place to stay for a moderately priced room as it is new, clean and convenient.

I would stay there again if visiting Hollywood.

2  Thank Jeffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit, MI
11
Reviewed October 31, 2004

I stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Hollywood, CA during the All Star Game. The hotel is a fairly new hotel with little signs of wear and tear. The price was great!!! The location was great!!! Parking isn't a problem at all. Well, it wasn't for us. You can walk to the subway and Hollywood Blvd. It's just a block over. Sunset Strip, Hollywood High School, and Mann's Theater are all a couple of blocks away. Universal Studies is a short ride away like 5 minutes. The lobby is small and so is the pool. So if your looking for a hotel with many bells....this is not the one. If your looking for a nice, clean, affordable place in the hollywood area. You have the perfect spot. As a matter of fact. The hotel was blocked during the Oscar's, which is one block over because the cast of Lord of The Ring's leased it.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2004

This hotel is very good value for money and the location is great for all the attractions in Hollywood. Rooms are very large, clean and well appointed. Would definitely stay here again.

1  Thank Loz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mexico City, Mexico
15
Reviewed September 11, 2004

We were deceived by the managers´ friend shuttle service at the Hollywood Comfort Inn. When we were checking out, the manager (named Raj) asked us if we were going to call a cab to the airport. When we confirmed that, he told us that he could get us a shuttle for $15 dlls each (we were two people). The manager told us that we should pay to him $5.00 dlls each of us, and that we should pay the rest to the shuttle driver. The shuttle arrived on time, asked us for the rest of the money and then picked another guest from the hotel that is just crossing the street (Hallyday Inn). Later, he told us that his car was failing. He didn't ask our opinion, but he stopped at the cab service in the Renaissance Hotel garage. There he spoke with a guy and told us he had fixed that his friend will take us to the airport on his cab. Without more explanations, he begun to move our luggage to the cab's trunk, and ask us rudely to step down. We moved into the other car, and after 2 or 3 miles, the cab driver told us that we should pay $5.00 dlls each (just the Mexicans, he said) or leave the car. We told him we had arranged the service from the hotel, and that it was already paid in full. He repeated that we should step down, or pay another $5.00 each of us. We paid him, because if we stepped down, we would lose the other $30.00 dlls.
TRAVERLERS, BE AWARE OF THE KIND OF SERVICE THAT YOU COULD GET AT THIS PLACE. BEWARE.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,180 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#65 of 355 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#86 of 355 in Los Angeles
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Hollywood
Lexen Hotel - Hollywood
Lexen Hotel - Hollywood
#183 of 355 in Los Angeles
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLVD Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLVD Hotel & Suites

Address: 2010 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3239 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $158 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BLVD Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLVD Hotel & Suites - Hollywood Hotel near Hollywood area attraction offers great amenities, online reservations, tour packages and specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your BLVD Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Los Angeles
Comfort Inn And Suites
Los Angeles Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing