We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lifes great at super 8”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area
Ranked #260 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed October 14, 2012

stayed here again with my family and had another great stay! the staff is very friendly from the front desk to the housekeeping, they all greet you with a smile.parking is tough but the experience and clean room makes it well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaibabu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 551 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I came to Hollywood on for my Jetski rental business in which I was referred to use this hotel by my friend. I realized the hotel is in a great location, rooms are as expected, and the staff is attentive. Since then, I've stayed here multiple times and will continue to stay here. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank SCOT R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cheap. That's what it is. That's what you get when you select cheap hotel.
Uneven floors, squeaky bed, broken stairs, poor lighting.
Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. Pay a few more bucks.
Free WiFi. Free parking. A VERY small breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxim_United
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is located between Hollywood & Sunset Blvds., which is close to lots, but it is sadly lacking in updates. It is less expensive than other hotels, but you definately trade amenities and service for a lesser price. The parking lot accomodates compact cars, so anything larger keeps other cars from parking easily. It needs new paint & carpet, at the very least. The bathrooms are a good size, but it only has a small shower with an old shower curtain and a nozzle that needs replacing. The fan comes on with the light and sounds like a jet taking off, which you have to listen to during your whole stay in the bathroom! The towels are small, thin and course. They only have regular coffee packets in the rooms - no decaf, and you have to move the coffee pot to the bathroom or bedside table to plug it in - no convenient plugs. the pads on the beds are thin, so they give you no comfy padding to sleep on. The staff is not too helpful. It is a Wyndham hotel, but not up to Wyndham's standards, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I hadn't planned on staying overnight in LA and had no reservations. I went to the Hollywood City Inn where we have stayed several times but the person right before me got the the last room.

I crossed the street and came to this motel. The room available was $100/night. The person behind the glass, to his credit, offered to allow me to see the room before I booked it.

I don't know if this was an old hotel that had the front remodeled but the hallways are narrow and dank, darkish and long. It did not have a safe feeling for females travelers. Also, there was a odor that smelled like gas leaking. Had I stayed here, I would have been tossing and turning all night and would not have felt safe leaving my travelling partner asleep when I got up for my regular early morning walks. Hall carpets were also stained.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank labonvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Let's not dwell on the location, which does not seem safe. The neighborhood is a mix of (some) recognizable chain stores and vacant small businesses which often are protected by metal bars. The unfortunate thing is that this hotel is not even fit to be in this marginal neighborhood.

The initial impression is bad, from small lobby with a plastic-glass protector for the one-person staff. Then you take a dated elevator, with at least the second floor dark and unsettling. The rooms are very poor, with low quality mattresses. Our mattress had stains on it, though to be fair the linens appeared to have been washed. The bathroom had a horrible smell in it, which is possibly why the window was left open, even though it was a hot August day. The carpet is also worn with stains, and I could hear what appeared to be a party early afternoon after my check in.

So while this hotel is in a serviceable location which is close to all that is good in Hollywood, it is simply not worth the small savings to stay here. It does not feel safe, or comfortable, or right in this place. If you do, you may end up what I had to do, check out and loose the money for both this hotel, while booking another one for the same night.

And there was no attempt to fix the problem, and no refund issued even though I checked out immediately after seeing the place. Most hotels let you cancel up to the day of the reservation, but this one requires cancellation the day prior (before you see the property). Hmmm. Hollywood movies are fun to watch, but at this hotel you will feel like you're in Pulp Fiction.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainetobuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#124 of 355 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#184 of 355 in Los Angeles
389 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#122 of 355 in Los Angeles
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#144 of 355 in Los Angeles
446 reviews
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#133 of 355 in Los Angeles
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Address: 1536 N Western Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-5620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $95 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Super 8 Motel Hollywood
Super 8 Los Angeles
Super Eight Los Angeles
Los Angeles Super 8
Los Angeles Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing