We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great site. Can't fault it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balboa RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balboa RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great site. Can't fault it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Lying in my rv as I write this. Booked this one with a little worry as to what it would be like being in la. Site is great though. Could not have been more helpful and welcoming. They even did all the hookups for us. Only downside about the site (which is not a downside about the site, merely the location) is how far away it is from la central. Out daftness meant we did not understand the vast scale of la. It is so big that we did not appreciate travel times on public transport. That said Steve (at the site) sorted us out a car at half price and we had it within the hour and the drive to la and parking was absolutely fine. Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Maura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    33
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
74
38
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Steve and his team are great professionals! We broke down our rental RV (shift gear remaining in parking stand - no possibility to move in drive / Ford E450 Superduty). Steve called the emergency number and handled everything for us! He was assisted by phone and fixed the problem: a fuse was "grilled" and a 30 feet RV of hundreds of pounds is out of use! So if someone has the same problem, think to check your fuses!!! Hope this will not happen again but in case of Steve gave me 3 extra fuses! Another tip: if your airco breaks down think to check your switches on your fuse board (in our RV located under the table seat)! These little tips and helps are not explained by the RV rental company!
The location is really well located to visit Hollywood, Universal Studios and downtown LA: you just have to take on Balboa Blvd the 101 freeway! Very nice, helpful and friendly staff. Free hot showers and clean facilities.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Benoit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have been full time travelers in our RV for about 2 years now, and decided to settle in LA for a while. We are still living in our RV. We love this lifestyle. Searching LA for a safe and well located RV park, we found this awesome place. It is a fun community, of full timers and vacationers. The owner Steve will bend over backwards to keep everybody happy. He is super flexible, and you can tell that he loves his park. His staff is always helpful and friendly, and even though it's always busy they always find the time for a friendly chat, or to help tourists find their way around. There are a lot of German tourists here every year, and I am german. It is a great pleasure helping with translating. If you are german you can ask for me. I highly recommend this place for long term, short term, or overnight. Dogs are welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We visited this RV park in june. It was our first trip with an RV. The park is nice and very clean. Nice big spots, with shade. Steve (the owner) told us a lot about Los Angeles and the places to be and how to get there. He helped us a lot! All the people who work at the park are very friendly.


If we ever go to Los Angeles again, we will stay at Balboa RV park.

Lisette & Tim

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We checked in late and it was still no problem locating our paperwork/key. It's a very nice park and a great location. The manager was extremely friendly as well. We only stayed one night but it was a pleasant experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chickie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Apparently the manager at Balboa RV park (Steve) thinks that if they make a mistake they needn't do anything in the way of compensation to the customer, not even apologise, as long as it was 'accidental'. In fact he seems to think it more appropriate to shout insults and threats at the guests despite them very calmly explaining the problem to him.

We turned up at 10.30pm after a really really long day at Universal Studios ready for our second night at Balboa RV park only to find another vehicle in our space. We went to the front desk (which is shut from 7 onwards) to see if any messages about site change had been left for us- they had not!

We then phoned up the emergency number only to be told the manager could not be contacted at this time. We were about to park in the carpark for the night when we caught the camp host and asked what was going on. He informed us Steve (the manager) had sold our site to someone with a bigger vehicle and moved us to a smaller one (despite the fact we had clearly left our things there. He showed us to our site and we were left to go by our old site to pick up our things that had been moved aside for the new guests.

In the morning we went to make a complaint to Steve, as the host had told us to. But Steve had a different story to tell- he informed us it had been an over sight from them and they thought it was a free spot. This seemed strange giving the hosts rendition of events the night before and even stranger that our things, camp chairs included, didn't cue any questions as to whether the site in fact was still occupied.

He seemed to believe that as the mistake was 'accidental' that no recognition of it need be made. A coupon for another stay there (not that we would have used it) or even a sorry may have been sufficient but instead I got accusations of being a 'con man' and a 'punk'. He even threatened to call the police despite the fact he was the one raising his voice while I was calmly explaining what the problem was! if we had got there any later we would have had no chance of finding our new spot for the night and they could have at least left a note for us. After being told to 'get the .... (rude word) out of his office' I gave up any attempt of getting through to him. Thankfully we had no more nights booked and, not wanting to spend one more minute there, we left before having breakfast or a shower.

If that's not enough reason not to stay there, there were also cockroaches in the bathrooms and its a concrete jungle with no space to speak of.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank finchmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

the crew at balboa rv park really worked to make sure that our stay was a good stay. cared about our needs. priced right. park is clean, lots of good things to say about park.
thanks for the great stay.
PAT AND CAROL

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#53 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa RV Park

Property: Balboa RV Park
Address: 7740 Balboa Blvd, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-2238 (Formerly Birmingham RV Park)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the San Fernando Valley, a few miles from Los Angeles, Birmingham RV Park is a great home base from which to visit attractions in the area, such as the Getty Museum, Universal Studios, Hollywood, the Reagan Library and Malibu. There are 185 spaces with full hook-ups and there are also laundry facilities and restrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing