We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Looks can be deceiving...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills
Ranked #279 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

After reading these recent reviews that compliment this place so much, I am shocked that I am writing about the same hotel. ...Our experience was awful from the moment we entered the place. From the outside, this hotel looks appealing and clean. The parking lot is well-lit and there is plenty of parking. Though upon entering the facility, one experiences the real deal...a royal dumpster bin. The evening staff we dealt with had no customer service skills and little personality...not a person who should be greeting in-coming guests at a hotel. Walking through the hallway on the way to our room, I felt like I was in some cheap restaurant with lingering smells of old food. There seemed to be some kind of cherry air freshener trying to cover up this smell, which only made it worse. Our room had a small kitchenette with a small fridge that was leaking water all over the floor. The ceiling above the fridge was covered in dirt and spiderwebs and the bathroom reeked of old stale food. The bedspread was worn and dirty when we went down to talk to the front desk about changing rooms, he had gone home. We were told by a lady working there doing hotel laundry that there that all of the front desk staff leaves at 11pm. What kind of hotel doesn't have overnight staff at the front desk? We ended up borrowing blankets and sheets from my in-laws so we wouldn't have to sleep on the dirty bed. The next morning we promptly checked out. We made sure to get a full refund and won't make the mistake of judging a book by it's cover.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfriedmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement14, Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. In response to your feedback, I am addressing the issues with the team. We continually work to improve our hotel, and take these comments very seriously. I invite you to contact me at lwh@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    12
    12
    42
See reviews for
17
13
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Thank you to all of the staff for such warm welcomes. You truly made us feel at home. My kids can't wait to come back. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Layvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement14, Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! It was great to read that you enjoyed the service at our hotel, the clean rooms and that your children cannot wait to come back. Your feedback means a lot to us and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Extended Stay has been a home away from home for the past two years. My stays have varied in length, but have always been comfortable. The hotel is well kept and current; the staff is professional and welcoming. If I've encountered any special needs, I've approached the staff and their response has always been quick and accomodating. I have no need to stay anywhere else. I would recommend ESA Woodland Hills to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement14, Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank for your review. We are thrilled that you continue to be a valued guest of ours and that you took the time to write such a great review. Our staff and myself would like to make every stay comfortable for you and your feedback is what allows us to know how we are doing. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have been staying in the ESA Woodland Hills for couple years now. My work requires me to stay in the Valley couple of days a week and for the most part I have stayed here. Check-in and check-our are super easy. You can come in really late at night and leave early morning with no problem. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are grocery stores, restaurants and all sorts of shop very close and some even in walking distance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shimboolkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Los Angeles - Woodland Hills. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued,regular guests, like you. The biggest investment we make is in our customers. It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've made several trips to the Woodland Hills, CA Extended Stays - amounting to several months stay over the last 18 months. I've seen the hotel go through several different managers initially, until finally they hired their current manager, who has been there for over a year. I've seen the hotel upgrade itself substantially over the last year; it's comfortable and nicely maintained. The service, too, has only gotten better over the past year. People are friendly and happy to accomodate you with whatever you need. I recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of our hotel. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority. It is so rewarding to know that you continue to stay with us and see that we are steadily improving!

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcmo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been staying at this ESA Woodland Hills location for 4 years now, and just booked my stay for 2012. My work has me in Beverly Hills for the month of October and it's just a 20 minute (well-timed) drive to work from there. The noise from nearby traffic is apparent but never to the point to bother my sleeping habits. Grocery nearby, restaurants, an occasional sporting event across the street at WH High School. The staff here is a combination of multilingual folks that have all been able and capable to assist me with any request. One thing to remember is that some folks assume that the ESA chain is a full-service hotel chain, which it is not. Guests can certainly plan on an array of comforts here like the deluxe kitchenettes, comfortable beds and furniture and extra living space, but should also remember to provide yourselves the basics such as snacks, bottled water and possibly a favorite pillow or music player. Nonetheless, the ESA Woodland Hills staff and property are all ready-to-please upon my arrival.
I would like to thank the staff for the many nights of convenience and accommodation I have enjoyed since 2008.
See you in October!
Crazy John Brooks- 16x World Frisbee Champion-

Room Tip: Third floor smoking level is fine. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at our hotel. I want to begin by saying Congratulations! on being the 16x World Frisbee Champion. The staff and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in October as well.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I showed up a day before my reservation at 3am. I had the wrong day and the lady at the front did not speak english. She checked me in with a quick copy of my license and I was not charged until I checked out. The rooms were large. Full kitchens and very clean. I will go back whenever business takes me to the valley.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Los Angeles - Woodland Hills. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff including the overnight agent that checked you in, strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
North San Fernando Valley
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Northridge
Extended Stay America - Los Ange...
#210 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Comfort Inn Near Warner Center
Comfort Inn Near Warner Center
#180 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Staybridge Suites Chatsworth
Staybridge Suites Chatsworth
#117 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
#79 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills

Property: Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills
Address: 20205 Ventura Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Extended Stay, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Woodland Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Los Angeles / Woodland Hills Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Extended Stay
Extended Stay Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing