We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the greatest experience!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picca

Picca
Reserve with OpenTable
Picca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #158 of 9,847 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Peruvian, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: LAX Area
Cross street: South Beverly Drive
Description: Picca is a Peruvian cantina, marrying the tradition & culture of Peruvian cuisine with the incredible bounty our home in Southern California offers. Here you'll find dishes not only highlighting the classics like anticucho corazon (grilled beef heart skewers) & ceviches, but also some surprises influenced by the diversity of Peruvian culture. From Nikkei to Chifa, Pisco to Callao, our family-style dining showcases all that's best about Peru.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the greatest experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The atomsphere of the restaurant was upscale on the first floor, but seating upstairs was kind of dingy and isolated. My friends and I are very much into Peruvian food but were not thrilled with this restaurant. We've heard many great reviews of Picca from friends and were very excited to go for dinner, but as soon as the waiter came around, he wasn't the nicest. He asked if we were familiar with Peruvian food, so we said yes and my friend mentioned how he is actually Peruvian himself. The waiter said "so?". We thought he was joking at first and there was a minute or so of awkward silence when we realized he was serious and just plain rude. He proceeded to describe the menu and give us his recommendations.
The food was ok, not that great, and didn't really have flavor at all. The lomo saltado didn't have much taste and I was disappointed (it's my favorite Peruvian dish). When he came to bring us the bill, we looked it over and found that he charged us the 20% gratuity for 6 people, while we were only 5. We pointed out the error and he apologized and corrected the bill. If we didn't pay attention to the breakdown of the bill, we would have given him an extra tip, not knowing it was already added in.
All in all, we didn't have a great experience and probably won't return next time we're in LA.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    61
    14
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“No Picca Boos at this Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am a big fan of restaurants that improvise and improve on traditional dishes. I also enjoy small-plate restaurants, allowing for a sampling of multiple foods. Picca is a great combination of both passions. While a bit pricey, the quality, presentation, and taste of each dish is excellent. Servers and service are friendly, knowledgeable, and prompt. While the entire order is taken at one time, courses are spread out, allowing time for enjoying 1-2 at a time rather than all being served at once. Drinks are very creative and excellent. If dining on the main floor, be aware that the noise level is extremely high; for the "older" crowd, consider eating upstairs where the sound is lessened yet you have a great view of the action downstairs. My recommendations: Seco de Pato (braised duck leg), Ceviche Crocante (halibut, calamari), Anticucho Diver Scallops or Conchas a la Parmesana (scallops), and Anticucho Pescado (branzino filet).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onetaxingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous Peruvian Cuisine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

An eclectic mix of flavors that truly excite the palate! The menu is divided into sections titled "street food" instead of your standard "appetizers" and "entrees"

All the dishes are smaller (but plentiful) than typical plates in restaurants which allows you the opportunity to sample the many incredible flavors.

Make reservations----this place was crazy busy on a Tuesday night. Clearly an L. A. hotspot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique Peruvian Japanese fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have been to Picca on a couple occasions, and left happy each time. Their menu is tapas style offering a wide variety ranging from peruvian style ribs to grilled octopus, and their wait staff brings it all out in a proper order of dishes depending on what you order. It's a little on the pricey side considering the portions, but you don't come here to save money, you come for the great unique food, helpful staff and the fun atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jesse y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pricey, Ridiculously Small Portions, and somehow worth it..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

It is absolutely amazing how ridiculously expensive and SMALL the portions are, also the drinks.. I know, I know they have a top world mixologist and all.. but for 12 dollars I would like a drink that it is not toddler size.. That said.. the pisco sour is the BEST ONE I have had in my entire life.. It was creamy and delicious, foamy and luxurious.. The food was absolutely fantastic, I think we had the plates that looked like they could have the most food, which is just not possible in this restaurant.. You will spend a lot of money, and will probably end up hungry.. haha By the way I am not a super size me type person, I am 108 pounds so I don´t eat that much and I always complain about gigantic portions, however here they go the complete opposite extreme.. lt is a restaurant that I will be able to afford probably once a year, still it is worth trying, also the service from the waitresses and the hostess was first class, they make you feel like you are a very important person going to eat there.. All and all, highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picca also viewed

 
Beverly Hills, CA
 

Been to Picca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing