We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great upgrade!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #19 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great upgrade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a huge suite with prime views of the Hollywood sign. Great location for all the tourist stuff. We stayed in as we were too exhausted to go out for dinner (last few days of our trip) and we had restaurant vouchers that accrued every night and the room service was delicious and not too expensive. While we didn't end up liking LA that much, it was good to have a nice room to hang out in. They were upgrading the lobby when we were there so it was a little annoying accessing the hotel off the valet drop off, you had to be careful of cars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We hope you had a truly memorable Honeymoon. Congratulations once again from the team here at Loews Hollywood Hotel!
Can't wait to see you next year on your anniversary!
Best,
James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    1,177
    297
    77
    84
See reviews for
1,119
1,024
113
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently had a pleasant stay at Loews Hollywood and found it comfortable, pleasant and very functional. The staff were very informative and we were very appreciative of an early check in after our long flight from Oz.

Room Tip: Because it is so central you can walk to lots of the Hollywood features and there are tour buses not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Great to hear that we were able to accommodate you with an early check in after such a long flight.
We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to the states.

James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was one of the hotels we stayed at during our weekend vacation tour of L.A. I would have given this a 5 rating but we came when they had some construction going on for remodeling which made things just a pinch inconvenient. I do love, love, love this hotel over. Location is awesome. Just steps away from the walk of fame, Hollywood Museum, Wax Museum, and almost any tour attraction you can sign up for. It's connected to a mall which makes things convenient if you need to do some last minute shopping. There are multiple restaurants on the upper floor, Cabo Wabo being one of them. Nothing says vacation like drinking margaritas at noon....taste like win. Valet parking was great and worth the money. Inside the décor was very modern and nice. Hotel staff were polite and courteous. There is a walkway on the upper floor with a view of the Hollywood sign in the background so you can take a selfie. It was just amazing being in an area so rich in history. I can't wait to come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Hollywood Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResQ4o8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We love that you "love, love, love" us.
Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
James Howald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

As a former LA resident and frequent LA traveler, I tend to loathe this area. It's like Times Square and a state fair had an awful baby.

That said: I've stayed at this Loews many times on business trips, and it's not bad, especially if you have to be in the valley at all. I wouldn't come here if I were looking for any kind of local experience, but if you get a good deal, this isn't a bad option. It's centrally located and comfortable. It's reasonably priced and is very well run. Zero complaints about the room and everything is kept up-to-date and sparkling.

Don't come here if the pool, the bar, the atmosphere, or the neighborhood are important to you, but if you're traveling for work or to see a show or just don't plan to hang out in the hotel a lot, this is definitely a solid option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Sleeper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We are proud of well Loews Hollywood Hotels means the needs of today’s business traveler.
So pleased to know that you found a “solid option” in our location and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip

James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
311 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Sometimes it's hard to find a sense of place in LA. In many places, you could be in anywhere semi- suburbia. If you are coming to LA for the first time and are excited about it, particularly the Hollywood side of LA- this is a good choice. Get a room on the north side and you'll likely have a view of the Hollywood sign. And you're right next door to the Hollywood and Highland complex, home of the Oscars. So there's a sense that you are somewhere, without getting in your car.

Plus there's a Starbucks within 100 yards of the front door, which is convenient.

A good choice to consider in LA.

Room Tip: North side
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We are delighted to know that Loews Hollywood provided you a needed sense of place while in LA.
You will be pleased to know that your daily Starbucks is now even closer than 100 yards…
Our H2 Lobby Lounge proudly brews Starbucks Coffee 5:30am to 12:00pm daily!
We hope to see you again soon.

James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States and Brazil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Having stayed at more hotels than I can remember, this hotel is decent. It is also specious. The check-in lobby is a bit odd. It is small and there is a bar several feet from the check-in area. The bar does not open until five in the evening (I did not go to the hotel for the bar). There are lots of meeting rooms on the second floor. The rooms, by some standards, are small considering the price one pays for the room. The hotel is within walking distance of many Hollywood attractions. The area, during the day and early evening, is relatively safe. The thing I did not like is the access and exit to and from the hotel. For example, the hotel is accessed from a very busy street (Highland Avenue) and turning ones' car into the access lanes is, at times, awkward because of the heavy traffic. Exiting is also awkward but there are traffic lights at the hotel exit which helps when accessing Highland Avenue.

Room Tip: I stayed only one day and do not know of other rooms. I only know that the room I had was small in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler50502015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We agreed that Hollywood and Highland is at a very energetic location.
Hopefully you made some wonderful memories during your stay.
For future stays, we are delighted to share that H2 Lobby Lounge is now open 11:00am to 1:30am.

Warm Regards,
James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in one of the suite's on a high floor - The city view was great.
The bed, linen and pillows were all of the highest standards. The room furnishings were stylish and very modern. The check in process was quick, however nothing special (when you consider the VIP treatment the gentleman was receiving also checking in at the same time next to me, who knows he could be a VIP however you should treat all guests with the same enthusiasm)
There are nice restaurants and shops literally at the hotels doorstep.
The lifts were very quick - Never waited more than 30 seconds.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite if you can - Worth It!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca2001413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Delgihted to know that your "suite experience" was as memorable as you had hoped.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#16 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Property: Loews Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing