We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for the morning 'Hollywood' view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #17 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thanks for the morning 'Hollywood' view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Booked in for one night and requested a room that overlooked the Hollywood sign. Check-in staff advised that, no problem, we will be able to see it. We had arrived late and had to go out, but when we looked outside we couldn't see the sign from our room, so I thought we had been let down on this request.
We awoke in the morning, opened the blinds and hey presto, their it was! Thanks so much to the hotel for this. Little did we know that the sign is not lit up at night.
The room was ok in standard, although I expected a bit nicer. The location was excellent and seeing we were only there for 24 hours, I didnt get to experience much more than that.

Room Tip: Ask for a morning view of the Hollywood sign - we stayed on the 20th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.
We have noted your preference for a view of the Hollywood sign.

Warm regards,
James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,713
    1,191
    300
    79
    85
See reviews for
1,139
1,041
116
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milw., WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

OK folks if you want to be in the heart of Hollywood this is the nicest place you're going to find. Unfortunately, the heart of Hollywood is a pretty run down, sad little place. What makes this place nice is that it is going through the final stages of a complete renovation so it's up to date, clean and modern. It's attached to a nice mall which has a huge underground parking ramp.

The rooms are nicely sized and the bed was very comfortable, with of course a lot of pillows of varying firmness to choose from already on the bed. The bathroom was well appointed with a large shower (no tub). The walls were a little thin, but not enough to be an issue and the staff was very helpful.

We could see the pool below from our room and although it was 60 degrees there were a couple of people taking a dip. We didn't (because we are sane) but it looked pretty nice. Although the immediate location is touristy, it is convenient as a central spot to go exploring Beverly Hills and the Hollywood Hills without paying top dollar with the rich and famous.

Room Tip: If you have a car you have two choices. Let them valet it for you for $38 with in and out privileges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSchrute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the nice recap of your recent stay.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had to stay here for work over a 2 week period. When I first arrived the first night real late (around 1AM), I was not too thrilled - I had lost something back the car rental office at LAX, and when I asked the hotel front desk personnel to hold my bag until I returned, they began to studder and not give me a response. Thinking they were NOT going to let me do this, I promptly said forget it and I left and came back. I told the manager the next day and he apologized for the treatment. I felt he was sincere so I did not pursue this anymore. He offered a free meal but I never ended up using it. The hotel overall was nice, clean, and the view was great (either the hills or the city). The one other great thing - the parking fee was a great value (self-park), and being directly connected to the mall was even better! Starbucks, restaurants, shops and the garage all there without stepping a foot outside.

The one problem is the traffic in the area as well as the folks that roam the area on Hollywood blvd, but otherwise it was fine.

Having the bar across the street was also nice - Tinhorn flats. Overall - good value and you get the "LA" experience.

My one issue - they did not always refill the lotion/soap/shampoo on a daily basis. I had to ask for it after repeating use of some of it until it finished.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Though it seems your initial arrival experience was not on par with the service we pride our team on providing, it is delightful to know that the views and location afforded by our iconic property served you well.

Thank you for your review.

James Howald VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I recently stayed here for 7 days with my husband and son. The hotel was fine, with the location being the best thing about it. I can't say I was a fan of the room. The bed was horribly uncomfortable and the rooms with 2 beds feature DOUBLE beds, NOT QUEEN. Hard for me to understand in this day and age. The lighting in the room was horrible and very white. Hard on the eyes and not soothing at all. I applaud the nod to energy efficiency, but there are other bulbs that are a bit softer on the eyes. The bathroom fan didn't work, at least to our knowledge, and the door constantly closed and had to be propped open to let the steam out. This, however, blocked the door to the room and created a obstacle course-like setting. The room was clean enough. The staff was fine, except for one front desk woman who yelled at us when we couldn't get the elevator to take us up. Ultimately it was because of a new system the hotel had installed THAT DAY, which required new keys for all guests, but which the hotel failed to inform guests of. There was a sort of "quick serve" breakfast available for those of us on the fly, but it was basically a table set up in one of the lobbies with two young ladies, a small frig and a toaster. Kind of odd. I had yogurt most days, while my son had a bagel, which took about 10 minutes to toast. We didn't try the restaurant. Not sure if I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finerthings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the feedback, we are delighted to know that the team responded promptly to your needs.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
James Howald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here a little over a week ago and couldn't recommend it more! Beautiful lobby, spacious rooms, incredible views and hospitable staff. Do yourself a favor and book this hotel, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulzMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for the review. (We agree the new lobby is rather beautiful.) So pleased to know you enjoyed your stay last week!

Hope to to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in January. The Hotel is located pretty much right on top of the Chinese theatre, so location is as central Hollywood as you like. We stayed in a junior suite on 17th floor which was large, with two king sized beds, and good sized bathroom. Added bonus was the view out to the Hollywood hill which has the Hollywood sign planted on it. If there was a criticism, it would be that there is no real hotel bar or relaxing lobby area, more a functional set up designed to channel people to and from the reception desk. The breakfast was fine, but given the proximity of other eating places around the hotel, i would go for a wander. The famous Mel's diner is about 2mins walk away, and a good breakfast spot is just around the corner from the hotel at the front of the Roosevelt hotel (think its called 24 degrees bar), which does a nice breakfast and at a good price. All in all, a nice hotel, staff provided good friendly service, and if needing to stay in Hollywood i would def recommend. If looking for a hotel in LA generally, I would recommend locating yourself around the Santa Monica area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are delighted to know that Loews Hollywood Hotel’s iconic location served you well on your recent visit. Thank you for the review.

For information on our Santa Monica location, be certain to check out LoewsHotels.com.

Warm Regards,
James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was a quick stay. We got into town around 6 pm and left by 7 am the next day, but we loved our room, view (from the 11th floor) and the location was great. The front desk staff was very welcoming. We had a junior suite with 2 king beds and a sofa bed, The room was huge and laid out well. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of the amenities of the hotel, but with Hollywood Blvd just a couple blocks away, we had lots of fun sights to see.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We hope to welcome you back soon when you have more time to take advantage off all the hotel amenities.

Warm regrards,
James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Property: Loews Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing