We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location to be a Hollywood Tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #18 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fargo, ND
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome location to be a Hollywood Tourist”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you want to really begin seeing everything that makes up Hollywood - this hotel is the best location!!! You can walk to lots of attractions and tours and you have the metro to go to anywhere else. Ideal if you don't have a car and want to see the most things possible. Nice clean modern style rooms, can view the Hollywood sign from many of the rooms. Perfect place to go to El Capitan Theatre, take City Pass tours, Walk of Fame, are all within a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2hikemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,889
    1,252
    327
    93
    96
See reviews for
1,254
1,109
128
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Good location and good rooms. Staff are lovely and friendly.

Only downers are; parking you don't even get in and out privileges. Also check in is at 4pm and check out is at 11am, how long does it take to get a room ready? Seems a little long.

Also had issues with hot water as they shut it off after 10am and didn't inform us.

Also no free in room Internet which I think you should get for the rate of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Loews Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and delighted to learn you enjoyed our location and staff. We were all happy to read this today. I would like to apologize for our water outage. We just started our Hotel renovation and found that several of our water valves needed to be replaced. This required shutting down the water for a few hours and I apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused.

Thank you for staying with us and safe travels

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We got a good deal booking direct with the hotel online - they price matched a price I had on Expedia. We stayed in a Luxury Hollywood Room.
We arrived at 9am and the room wasn't ready yet, so we checked our bags in and went for a look around. It is in a fantastic location - lots of shops and restaurants around. Just be careful of all the scammers on the walk of fame dressed up in costumes - they will want at least $5 per person per photo and some of them look nothing like who they are meant to be!
We were back by lunchtime and our room was ready.
The room is a good size, clean and comfortable. The service from all staff was very personal, the concierge's knew their stuff and it was quick and easy to get anything we needed.
We had breakfast once at the hotel restaurant and it was really yummy.
The pool and gym were good, but we got up one morning to find the pool drained! Called reception and they didn't even know it had been drained or why. Called again at midday and they said it would be refilled tomorrow, but still couldn't tell us why it had been drained.
The only issues I had were that the cleaners start at 8am each day and our room seemed to be first! Make sure you put up your privacy please sign if you want a little sleep in. Maid staff were more than happy to come back a little later to clean if we were still there. Another issue was it took over 5 minutes to get hot water in the shower for every shower. We had to turn it on and go and do other things while it warmed up. This was a big waste of water.
Other than that, the room and people were great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Upon check-in, our room wasn't ready even if it was already 6:00 pm, but they offered a 50$ dining voucher. Our room was spacious and nice. Location is fantastic. It's connected to Hollywood and Highland mall and only a block away from El Capitan, Dolby and Grauman's (now TCL) Chinese theaters.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinuytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Loews for 3 nights. The hotel is great, and the locations is excellent. Close to metro, dining and shopping.
We got a room on the 5 th floor with a view to the hollywood sign which was awesome. The room was neat and clean. The sink in our room had a leak, and when we told the management about this, they quickly moved us to a much bigger and better room. So fantastic service there.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhjort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Let me first say the location of the hotel is great. Easy access to tons of restaurants and all the great sites. The room was clean and fairly nice - the wood under the sink vanity was worn. The view from the room was great. Had a room facing Highland so I had wonderful views of the Hollywood sign and the city. On the down side, housekeeping was slow to clean the room - room wasn't made up until after past 1pm most days and didn't re-stock the room with shampoo and soap. Had to call twice for more and it took almost two hours for housekeeping to restock the room (and yes I left a daily tip for housekeeping staff - fruitless). Then one the last evening another guest had been checked into the room I was occupying. I almost had a heart attack when the door opened and stranger walked in with his bag in hand - thankful I it wasn't embarrassing for either of us. After calling the front desk, I was told new key cards would be brought up to the room - after an hour I went to the front desk myself. The front desk attendant was pleasant and apologetic but that was it. I was rather shocked how the situation was handled considering safety is fairly important consideration for most hotels. About 45 minutes later someone from the hotel knocked on the door with "new key cards" and a coupon for a free drink from the bar. Was very disappointed the hotel didn't take this issue with seriousness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Highland and ask for a room on an upper floor so you can appreciate the great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Hollywood Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and I am happy to read you enjoyed the hotel and Hollywood Location. You are correct we are located in the center of Hollywood with plenty of restaurants and activities within walking distance of the hotel.

I am sorry to learn about the incident regarding the unexpected guest. We do take these incidents very seriously and if you wouldn’t mind contacting me directly I would appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice, but nothing fancy. Its right next door to a great shopping center with a good choice of places to eat. We rented a car inside the hotel which was very convenient. We had a very good stay would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,899 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,481 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
The Garland
#12 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,025 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Property: Loews Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing