We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #18 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a great few days in Hollywood, the hotel was in the perfect location with really great staff. The area was great for food. Mel's diner just down the way was a must!!!!!!!!!!
Close to all the bit USA has to offer in this area

Room Tip: Need to ask for more tea and coffee provisions in your room otherwise you have to purchase from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    1,035
    258
    71
    71
See reviews for
960
889
102
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at Loews for the first stop of our honeymoon, we were only in LA for 3 nights and found the hotel catered well for what we needed - the location was great, it was really clean, nice bathroom, a really really comfy bed, a full length mirror and free fruit water in reception which was a nice touch considering how hot it was (sorry, I'm female and these little things matter to me!) a good view of LA, nice pool area and really friendly and helpful staff, particularly on valet (and yes I know they are uber nice for tips, but still!).

Minor negatives only, like expensive wi-fi and no hairdryer in room, which would not put me off staying at a hotel. Valet parking was expensive at $35 a night but service was great and it was really convenient - remembering we were in the heart of Hollywood kind of made that $35 seem insignificant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Small bedroom, old bathroom, breakfast very poor but the carrot juice. Very expensive for what you get. Very close of Hollywood boulevard and its hundreds stars path but it seems that Loews Hotel has too many stars too... Good for one night, just to sleep, visit the Universal studios and leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeDouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights our room was ready before our due arrival, room was good size for two adults and a child, great location to walk Hollywood and get the hop on hop off bus, the breakfast was lovely, great selection and staff were just lovely to our three yr old. I can not recommend this hotel enough, would definitely come back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozefamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable with large bathroom. Pool area was nice.

Hotel was in an excellent location, perfect for all Hollywood has to offer, few steps from the Walk of Fame and attached to the Kodak Theatre.

We took a bus from LAX to the underground (about 30 mins away) and took the underground to Hollywood and Highland. Hotel is about a 2 minute walk away.

Would recommend to a friend and stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Get a high room for a new of the Hollywood sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollysej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for work in January - the first time under this one name (once under previous owners). Stylish hotel in the heart of all the weirdness that is Hollywood. I love the location, close to the metro, clubs, restaurants and all the touristy stuff you want. Room was updated, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff, efficient front desk, good lobby bar. Only issue was at check in I requested a quiet room as I'm a light sleeper and what did I get?----the lowest room to the street as possible, I was routinely woken up with the street noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billybob101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here on a holiday to the US in late December. This place is great, especially when you consider the price.

The hotel is in a great location, on the corner of N Highland and Hollywood Blvd, right amongst it. There is access to the Highland Mall from the hotel, and there is a metro station about a 2 minute walk down to Hollywood Blvd. Even to get up to Burbank to see Warner Bros./Universal was only about $14. The hotel is also pretty common from what I could tell so the supershuttle from the airport knew exactly where we were going, as did the tour busses that picked up and dropped us off. The hotel is roughly 40 minutes drive from LAX,

The lobby is huge with a bar to the left as you walk in. The reception desk is right at the back, we checked in in about 5 minutes and we had a high room overlooking the Hollywood hills and we could see the Hollywood sign.

The room was very large, with a big king size bed, bedside tables, big tv, desk, chair and lounge chair. There was enough space for two people and all the luggage very comfortably. The heating/cooling units are specific to each room and the controller is mounted on the wall.

There is a nice big pool in the hotel as well with plenty of room to lounge. Being December though, it was a bit cold for a swim.

The room, and hotel in general, were also very clean. The rooms were cleaned promptly each day and we never had any issues. Quite honestly again, for the price, location, and comfort of this hotel, we would definitely choose to stay here again, should we find ourselves back in LA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josh-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,010 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,430 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Property: Loews Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing