We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome location, decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #18 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome location, decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

For the price, you really can't beat the location- right in the middle of all the classic Hollywood tourist sites. We stayed here to go to the Disney Soda Fountain, which was just across the street- we could not have gotten closer! I really liked the yummy lemonade available at the check-in counter. It is also awesome that from the hotel you can walk out the back directly to the shopping "mall." The two negatives-- the walls are pretty thin-- we could hear a baby crying about six rooms down the hall, and also- there are no stairs available to use except for emergencies. This might sound like an odd thing to complain about, but elevators make me sick, so I always opt for the stairs, no matter how high. We were on the 13th floor and the only option was the elevator, so I just went up and down once. Overall, though- we enjoyed our stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMama19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    1,091
    266
    72
    76
See reviews for
1,022
946
106
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Lobby is good with a bar area and lounge area.
Location is excellent with internal access to shopping centre next door which is right next to Graumans Theatre.
For a hotel of this size, the room was basic but neat. Disappointing not to have a sofa to watch tv.

Room Tip: If you prefer to watch tv from a sofa ask for a room with one in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel about 6 months ago when it was a Renaissance when they told me that it was going to become a Loews Hotel. I stayed with my family during Thanksgiving, and I am sorry to say that I did not see any improvements. For me, the service is worst than before. My main complaint is that the hotel did not have a Concierge, which is one of the reasons why you pay for this type of accommodations. I had to make my own arrangements. Another complaint is that room service took a long time to retrieve dishes from the aisles.

Needless to say, the location is great, and most of the people that work there were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay over Thanksgiving.
Thank your for your feedback.

We are proud of the team we have here and pleased to know you found them to be helpful.

It is concerning to hear that you were given the impression that our concierge desk was inaccessible.

The lobby concierge desk is open seven days a week from 7:00am to 11:00pm.
If the concierge team or I may be of further assistance, at any time, do not hesitate to call.

You may reach a member of our team twenty four hours as day at 323 856 1200.

Warm Regards,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in September 2012 for a holiday we took to the USA. We wanted somewhere well located and I have to say this is probably the best located hotel I've stayed at. We had a gorgeous view of the hills and the Hollywood sign, which was just surreal for visitors to Hollywood, plus the most comfortable soft beds ever. It is attached to the Hollywood & Highland Centre (center), which has some great restaurants and excellent shopping. Even better is that you're a 1 minute (if that!) walk away from the Hollywood walk of fame...couldn't get a better spot. This is great for tourists, as it is right near buses, taxi's, tours and a 2 minute walk to Grauman's Chinese Theatre. You have to accept that it isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. I would recommend this to any one going to Hollywood!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great hotel, good location, staff was very friendly. Rooms clean and big. We could get just about anywhere easily from this site. Pool was terrific for the kids. Room was comfortable, although I thought it had a kitchenette in it - only the very expensive bar. I would have preferred a small refrigerator with children. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Overlook Hollywood sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
The fifth floor pool is great fun! Glad to know that your little one enjoyed it.

We would be delighted to ensure that a refrigerator is placed in your room on future visits.

Please call at your leisure and we will note the need for a refrigerator on your reservation profile.

You may reach a member of our team twenty four hours as day at 323 856 1200.

Warm Regards,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed two nights and was amazed how close this was to the strip. Easy access to a good sized mall. Definitely a lot to do in walking distance. It was a beautiful room and hotel. I would recommend this hotel. The option of self-parking was nice and cheaper than other hotels in Hollywood at 10 dollars a day. Had a room with a view of the pool. Washroom and room itself were large and spacious and very clean. Excellent value. Awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yummyinmytummy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was comfortable and quiet even though it overlooked N. Highland. I love the fact that it was connected to a multilevel mall. I would definitely return with my family, because I think its location is great and its offerings would meet the various needs of each of us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMACsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that your business trip was a memorable success.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your family soon!

Warm Regards,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
The Garland
#11 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,556 reviews
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#6 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Property: Loews Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing