We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable property, near amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #20 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This Loews felt different from others I've stayed at - less like a resort and kind of out of the way, despite its urban setting. You need to know where you plan to wander before you head too far afield. My room was very comfortable, with the usual issues with housekeeping that I have unfortunately come to expect anywhere these days. Food options are plentiful. Room service and dining offer very generous portions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid noise form mechanicals and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,106 - 3,112 of 3,882 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked direct with reception shortly after the hotel was taken over by Loews. They were advertising a special concierge level on the eighteenth floor with lounge, breakfast, snacks etc. As we were traveling from Europe and would be jet lagged, this seemed ideal- if anyone woke there would be a separate lounge to go to. I also requested a north facing room so that my son could see the Hollywood sign. When we checked in we found that we had been allocated an ordinary room on the south side, this despite the fact that the booking clearly showed concierge to the north. They had closed the concierge level three weeks earlier but did not bothe to inform us. We nwere offered 'free' brakfasts (which technically we had paid for in the room rate) and an upgrade to a small suite, but each morning we had to have a long discussion about the free breakfasts as reception had not communicated this properly.

The room and service was fine, but the communication was poor- they need to improve that aspect of their work.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandBorderReiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I attended a conference held at Loews for several days, arriving late on the first day. The hotel itself is fine, comfortable clean rooms and relatively nice facilities. The problem was with service -- on the first day, came back from the conference after 5p to find my room still not serviced. Called the front desk and was assured it would be handled in the next couple hours. Left and came back after 4 hours to find the room still not done. Not sure what they were playing at, but at the prices this hotel charges, I expected service to be nothing less than superb. Be prepared not to be impressed.

Location is good if you want to be in the middle of the Hollywood Blvd scene and the outdoor mall is attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Loews is located perfectly for all of the touristy things in Hollywood. I took my 13 y/o daughter on a trip of her choosing. She wanted to see Hollywood and the sign. We had a great view of it from our room. Hollywood Blvd, walk of fame, and Grauman's Chinese Theater are just one-half block away. The Dolby Theater with the Cirque show "Iris" is connected to the hotel as is a large mall (Hollywood and Highland) with the usual stores and restaurants including a Hard Rock. You can find numerous other restaurants nearby. The Metro is also a half-block away and we used it to go to Universal Hollywood which is just one stop away for only $1.50 each trip. Very convenient.

The hotel itself includes a Starbucks in the lobby to get your morning fix. The public areas are very nice. Our room was clean and had a flat screen. The bed was heavenly with wonderful down pillows. I always bring a pillow from home but left it in the suitcase. The staff were nice and the housekeeping service was good.

One tip: don't valet park, self park. The difference $10/day vs $35. You can pull up front, unload and even go to your room and then go park. The garage is the mall's underground garage, very safe and the same location essentially for both. The location of the hotel is such that I didn't even need my car during the 3 days that we were there. We later went to Anaheim and the hotel there was not even close to the Loews.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a view of the Hollywood sign. It was great to see in the morning. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcharlesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Everything about this hotel worked. The check in was quick, easy, and most importantly friendly!

We were up to our room in a matter of minutes with bellman just a minute behind. They offer valet parking for $33, which is a little expensive, but you can self park just a block away for $5 a day (civic center).

Location in general is great, walking distance to Santa Monica Pier, Indoor and Outdoor Malls, great places to eat.

The rooms are very clean. I was impressed at how well the staff cleaned while we were there. I noticed the maids cleaning the doors as well as the outside windows during our brief stay.

Loved the in room Keurig with 'to go' cups and daily refills. Also nightly bed turn down with bottled water.

They pay attention to the details!

Room Tip: Park at the civic center just a block east. $5 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clinton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Loews Hollywood is a great property with wonderful service and facilities. I was here for four days attending a pubic transit conference (Rail-Volution) at the Loews without a car. Hollywood is rather tacky, but all the services you need are close by. The hotel is contemporary and stylish, and all the staff are genuinely friendly. We arrived at the hotel at 2:00A exhausted after a difficult travel day from Portland, and we were upgraded to a one room suite!
LA Metro Red Line Hollywood/Highland station is next to the hotel, giving you direct and fast access to downtown LA and other parts of LA given connections on other Metro lines.

Pluses:
1) Location is great with easy access to public transit. One stop on the Red Line (2 minutes) to Universal City and about 20 minutes to Union Station and downtown LA. Frequent service from Union Station to LAX via Flyaway shuttle. Many restaurants just steps away from the hotel.
2) Contemporary rooms, most likely still a holdover from the Renaissance brand. The hotel, reportedly, will be undergoing a renovation with the change to the Loews brand.
3) Very spacious fitness room well equipped with treadmills, ellipticals, recumbent and upright cycles.
4) Large outdoor infinity pool next to the fitness room perfect for laps. I would estimate the length at about 25 yards.

Minuses (minor):
1) $12.95 internet charge; $38 valet parking charge
2) Very poor in-room coffee

I will definitely return to the Loews on a future trip to the LA area, especially if the Hollywood/Westwood/Universal City area is my focus.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have great views of the Hollywood hills or downtown LA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitravelerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

In the midle of hollywood, nest to the dolby Theatre, if you wan´t to stay in LA, visiting Hollywood, this is the best hotel to stay, people are very kind to you, the hotel is connected to the shopping of the Dolby Theatre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#79 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,800 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $228 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing