We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #19 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
central illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed Aug. 4th. Loews is in a great Hollywood location, upscale hotel that will be better after more remodeling. Room we had was very nice with two queen beds for four people. We had a great view of the Hollywood sign and the hills. Room was clean, plenty of room. The bathroom was big and offered privacy. We called at 1:00pm when we landed at LAX to see if the room would be ready. We were told it wasn't ready yet but would be by the time we arrived. We made a couple of stops along the way, and arrived at 3:00pm. When we checked in we were told the room wasn't ready. It would be another hour and a long wait in the lobby before the room was ready. Normally, the wait wouldn't bother me, we would drop off our bags and find something else to do. However, I was having a gallbladdder attack and just wanted to get to a more comfotable place.
I do want to thank Steve Layton for his assistance with the original reservation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whoitbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Whoitbe

I am very glad to learn you enjoyed your stay here and hope you have the opportunity to return again in the future. We do have some of the best views of the Hollywood Sign in the city. The Hollywood Hills view is one of our most popular requests and at times, there may be a wait for these rooms. Please accept apologies for not being able to honor your early arrival request. Also, very nice to know Steve was able to take care of your reservation. He is one of our very best and we are lucky to have him.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sean Steenson
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Director of Operations
ssteenson@loewshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    1,177
    297
    77
    84
See reviews for
1,119
1,024
113
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
grain valley,mo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

very clean hotel, carpet in room needed to be stretched first thing i noticed,staff very friendly walk of fame not at all what i imagined.Good mexican restaurant 2 blocks away.Forgot the name of it.Went on a starlight tour of hollywood homes wife loved it saw Larry King very friendly man came out and talked to us.

Room Tip: we asked for a view of hollywood sign didnt get even with a suite purchase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a nice room on the 7th floor with a view of the Hollywood sign, this was awesome as it was our first visit to the USA. Staff were great and very friendly and attentive. Location was great as we could walk to Hollywood Blvd from the hotel in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Rotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed her 3 years ago and it was the first place I booked on return. I actually asked for the same room we had last time " Summit Rose" by e-mailing the manager when I checked in we were thrilled that he had organised that. It is a lovely hospitality suite and they provided a rollaway free of charge as well. We expect to hear city noise ( helicopters, Sirens, traffic ) in LA but it never keeps me awake which is unusual as I am a light sleeper, but the one thing we never heard was any noise from other guests which was amazing. Love this hotel and will never stay anywhere else in Hollywood. It is so convenient for everything- Hollywood and Highland centre next door, all the studios within a ten minute drive. You can walk to the Hollywood bowl, although we took a Taxi up ($7) as we were running late and walked back as parking is impossible and expensive. We self parked at the Hollywood and Highland centre every night as valet is expensive at $32 a day plus tips, so even if you go in and out three times a day you still save money ( $10 max ). You can see some of the Loews touches appearing as they had painted out some of the more vibrant colours ( which I quite liked ) in the rooms. Pool is very nice for a couple of hours but I hope Loews will invest in more comfy loungers! Stay here: the atmosphere and accomodation is great and we had a wonderful 5 nights here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaLaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have now stayed several times at this hotel and were each time very satisfied. The hotel is modern, a little bit hip but the rooms themselves are large, clean, elegant and very comfortable. If you want to walk around the chinese theater, walk the walk of fame and see people who are dressed up as actors or movie characters, look no further. This is your hotel right there! Within five minutes walking you are smack on the walk of fame and next to the Kodak theater (chinese theater in the old days).
We did not have a meal at the hotel but went to Starbucks for breakfast which is also just five minutes away, within the mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nele73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, MT
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a great hotel, more than great! It's Awesome! You are in the center of everything Hollywood has to offer including beaches, shopping, & nightlife. The staff is very courteous, and helpful-they really do go out of their way to assist you during your stay. Our family enjoyed our stay & know you will too! Rooms are large, as is the bathrooms which is always a plus.

The only con I have about this place is the charge for parking & wifi. Parking is $32.00 per night & wifi is $12.95 per device so bring your own wifi along with you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcatle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked this hotel when it was The Renaissance so it was just as well i recognised it & pulled in to ask otherwise we would have been driving round & round.

As we pulled into the hotel the valet's were there to open the car doors & porters there to take our cases. The receptionist who checked us in could have been more friendly.

Even though our room was just a standard double the beds could have been bigger, after all of our holidays in America we have never stayed anywhere with small double beds. The views from our bedroom were amazing.

One thing i was quite miffed at was they charge for wiffi. The 2 previous hotels we stayed in during this holiday wiffi was free.

The hotel itself inside is beautiful & clean & one of the floors leads directly to the highland centre which leads onto hollywood boulevard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraxwazNewcatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#16 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Property: Loews Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing