We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip made fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #57 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the Kimpton Wilshire in April 2014. Having experienced Kimpton in Denver, I had high expectations and they were met. My room was on the 6th floor with a pretty view of the valley. The room was extremely clean and there was no wasted space at all. The location is fantastic, about 8-10 miles away from Santa Monica and less than two miles away from Rodeo Drive. What made my trip was the excellent Valet service (hardly any wait for the car) and the fact that you can borrow bicycles and go around. Hardly anyone walks in LA so that makes for a great bike ride. The Grove is a few miles away by bike. The pool is really small so don't expect to get a work out. The only mishap I had was being overcharged for bar items that I didn't use but the front desk was great about fixing my bill upon check out.

Room Tip: Ask for a view...you may be surprised even if the hotel is barely 7 floors high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-LShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Traveler,

I am simply thrilled that your recent visit to the Hotel Wilshire did not disappoint. I love that you managed to fit in some Kimpton fun while traveling on business. From the rooftop to your bike ride around the local area, sounds like it was a great stay. I truly hope you will keep us in mind the next time business (or leisure) brings you back to LA.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 641 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

When I first started writing this review I was going to give 3 stars, but as I wrote it, I became so angry, I lowered it to 2.

I've come to love the Kimpton brand in recent years after many stays at the Palomar in Washington DC and Philadelphia. However, this hotel seemed to be of a completely different breed. We booked a Hollywood "Suite," which, from the description given, was supposed to have a view of the Hollywood Hills, and a separate bedroom as well as a living room with a sofa bed (there were 3 of us traveling). Given the price of the room, and the photos on the website, I expected it to be fabulous.

The reality was a very ordinary "room" with nice views, but only a partial wall between the living room and bedroom. I immediately called the Front Desk, and we were moved to another "suite" on the 3rd floor with no views, but the bedroom was separate from the living room (which was absolutely necessary for us). Still rather ordinary, not the fabulous "suite" I was expecting or usually see in the Kimpton brand. There were stains on the carpet, which a few minuted with a steam cleaner could have removed. The sofa bed was unmade, and no linens or pillows provided for it in the room. We had to call three times over four hours to have someone come to make up the bed. You would think that a reservation for 3 people in a "suite" with 1 king and a sofa bed would indicate to the staff that we would be needing the sofa bed prepared.

We had reservations for dinner on the Roof (which does have great views), but when we arrived, there was a film shoot going on, and we were asked to have a seat at the bar for a few minutes. It took 30 minutes to be seated at an awful table practically in the middle of a heavily trafficked bar area. The outside terrace was almost entirely occupied by the film crew. No offer of a drink while we waited, not even an apology.

Overall, a pretty bad and very costly experience. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter07043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We picked the Wiltshire as a bit of a treat, being that it's one of the more expensive hotels in LA. When we arrived the valet and the check in staff were very friendly. We were also upgraded to a suite which we were thrilled about. However once we got to the room it was a bit of a disappointment. The carpets were stained, as was the couch which was also threadbare in places. The staff saved the day though, rectifying the problem immediately with no fuss.

The new room had a great bed with a really nice modern bathroom, nice quite AC unit too. The pool on the roof was a little disappointing. I didn't realize from the photos that it's very small. My bad for just glancing at the photographs, but if you're expecting to swim lengths - you won't be able to! The view from up there is nice and there's a decent bar and restaurant.

Overall it was a good stay. I think for the price we paid Kimpton need to do some upgrades/refurnishing to the rooms though. Even our new room had some smaller stains on the carpet and the couch. Luckily it's only minor and the fantastic staff make up for it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience. I'm so sorry to hear there were a few snafus in your room, however I'm happy to hear that our staff was able to quickly spring into action and rectify the issue. Our rooftop pool is indeed designed for dipping, not necessarily swimming laps, but the view and the Roof restaurant truly make it a quintessential LA experience. I hope you will give us another try and I'm confident on your return visit, we will blow you away!

Until then,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Unfortunately our experience was not as pleasant as seen in the other reviews. As far as being pleasant, all were very pleasant. Our first problem in our four night stay was the telephone didn't work, next the television volume had a governor which kept the sound way too low. It took a day for them to remedy this. The heavy shower handle fell off missing my toes by a fraction of an inch. One must step into the high-sided tub to shower or bathe. Unfortunately there were no grab bars. The side of the tub was very high. The frosted glass door to the bathroom did not close fully giving essentially no privacy for anyone inside. The refrigerator / minbar door was very difficult to close requiring rearranging the hotel items inside to "jimmy" it closed. The valet gave us the wrong rental car. We were going to our son's wedding rehearsal and realized after the ½ hr drive that it was not our rental. My husband drove the car back to return the car to the hotel and missed the rehearsal. The next day, they again had the wrong car waiting for us. The hotel reimbursed us for all of the parking fees. Our last day/ night our room was not cleaned until very late in the day, after several requests. The refrigerator enclosure was completely unventilated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regolg3dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Oh my, this is definitely not the kind of review we want to see. We pride ourselves on our product and service, so I am terribly sorry that you left with a negative impression of our hotel. We have followed up on all the issues you detailed below, so thank you so much for making us aware. I sincerely hope that you will give us another try in the future. I urge you to contact me directly if you plan to return and I will personally take care of your reservations and make sure we take amazing care of you. My apologies once again and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
ashley.gochnauer@hotelwilshire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Out with the girls and looking for a Sunday spot to relax and have a few cocktails. The Rooftop at the Hotel Wilshire is a nice looking space with a tiny pool but intimate seating and great views. They have a fresh looking designed menu with $5 mimosas, sounds good, yes? It took over an hour to get my first mimosa and the place was half full. The wait staff spent more time milling around the bar talking to each other or MIA all together.
We ordered dessert for my girlfriend's birthday which was average at best.
The afternoon scene and view I give 3 1/2 stars, the food/drink 2 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Beth,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your visit to the Roof restaurant. I'm so sorry to hear that you encountered long wait times. I can completely understand how frustrating that can be. I have forwarded your comments along to the Roof management team so these issues can be addressed with the staff. I truly hope that you will decide to give us another try in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I spent here my first honey moon night and it totally worth it! The staff gave us an upgrade to celebrate our marriage and left us complimentary drinks and a kind message at the room! I strongly recommend it! The bar at the rooftop has a great view!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Raymundo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Traveler,

First and foremost, congratulations on your recent nuptials! What an exciting milestone. I'm so happy that we could play a part in it and we started off your honeymoon on a positive note! Such an occasion is definitely worth celebrating, so I'm so glad our staff took such good care of you. I truly hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon just as much. Hopefully we can welcome you back for your first anniversary, if not before!

Congratulations again,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent!! Nothing more needs to be said. Staff very friendly. Rooms are outstanding. Location is perfect. If you haven't found this piece of heaven, you need to check it out. I plan on staying here every time I am here. So relaxing and very quiet.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Onedawgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Wow is right! What a great review! I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience, from start to finish! It sounds like we will be your hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to LA, and we are so grateful for that. We aim to give our guests a relaxing stay with friendly service, so I'm glad to hear we succeeded. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Until next time,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#35 of 355 in Los Angeles
75 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#34 of 355 in Los Angeles
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#127 of 355 in Los Angeles
419 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $245 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition - Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, Kimpton Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered-from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing