We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but offbeat location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #73 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Checked in very late and the front desk was very friendly. Used the parking lot down the street and got kind of freaked out bc the area is so desolate at night and no one is there to watch your car so I ended up using hotel valet and they were very nice and friendly. The room is TINY, but the bathroom is nice and spacious. I usually stay at the Hotel Palomar which has bigger rooms so I was a little disappointed, plus the beds here were a little too soft and made my back hurt in the morning. I can't really complain too much because the price was very affordable for LA and going places was always a ten minute drive away, but next time I think i prefer a hotel with bigger rooms and more to do on the same street.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank percysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. First, thank you for being a loyal Kimpton guest when visiting LA (staying with us and the Palomar!). Secondly, I assure you that this neighborhood is incredibly safe, but in the future, we do offer overnight valet parking if you prefer to park onsite. We also offer several different room types at the hotel, so you can always try a different room category for your next visit if you need a bit more space. I would be happy to assist with future reservations personally, so please don't hesitate to reach out if I can be of help.

We hope to see you back at the Hotel Wilshire soon.

Warm regards,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
ashley.gochnauer@hotelwilshire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 662 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

Pros: Modern, clean hotel located on Wilshire near (walking distance to) the La Brea Tar Pits and LAMCA, short drive to the Grove and Beverly Hills. Friendly / helpful staff. Free Internet.

Niggles: my standard room was smallish, looking on to a car park. Parking (valet only) is pretty expensive. There are a few fast food places and restaurants nearby, but nothing too exciting (you will probably want a car - but hey, it is LA).

All up not a bad place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Wilshire for your recent visit to LA! I'm so glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and our location central - we are within walking distance to several of LA's must-see destinations, which is definitely a plus in LA! Regarding Valet parking, I assure you our overnight rates are incredibly competitive and lower than many other hotels in the area. We are also within walking distance of West 3rd Street, which has a wide array of great restaurants. If you come back and see us, our Guest Services team can definitely provide some great recommendations.

We hope to see you back at the Hotel Wilshire soon!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Wonderful, extremely clean rooms. We LOVED the rooftop bar/pool with sweeping views and very cool atmosphere. Very central position - easy to get anywhere from here! Ask to be at rear of property as Wilshire Boulevarde can be a bit noisy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Traveler,

We are so glad that you had such a great time on your recent stay! I agree, the views from our rooftop can't be beat! And our hotel is indeed in a very central location to the best of what LA has to offer. I hope that you will come back and see us again very soon.

Warm regards,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

After staying at the Hotel Wilshire, I will be making a point of seeking out Kimpton properties in the future. I stayed on business for three nights and have very few complaints!

Pros:
-My room (611) was roomy with a king bed, desk area, chaise, and a decent view
-Was invited to send a photo ahead of time that they framed and had waiting on my bedside!
-The tub was AMAZING -- huge, but potentially a little difficult to get in & out for some folks
-Wine hour! From 5-6 each evening, complimentary wine in the lounge -- yes, please!
-Accommodating, nice staff -- including valet service that was always prompt
-Central location, making it easy for me to get to meetings all over the city

Cons:
-Skip the room service! The food was over-priced and terrible (like, really terrible)
-The staff, while very nice, wasn't great with the food/attractions recommendations
-The volume on the tv seemed to be controlled -- couldn't turn it up passed a certain point

Tip: I booked my room directly, over the phone. Not very high-tech of me, but their customer service was fantastic and accommodating -- got a better rate!

Room Tip: I recommend booking directly; I got a better rate. If you're on the 6th floor, ask to be placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Traveler,

I'm so happy to hear that we've made you a Kimpton convert! It's great to see that you enjoyed your room and got to take advantage of our fun perks, including the framed photo offer and our evening Wine Hour. And I agree completely - we do indeed have a very friendly staff! On the other hand, I'm so sorry to hear that your Room Service order left a lot to be desired. Your comments have been shared with the Roof team and we will take action to ensure there is appropriate follow up on the food quality. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Another one of the Kimpton hotels I stayed at in LA. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to the penthouse, which was beautiful. It has a private entrance near the pool, and my only comment would be that the entrance area was dark at night. Great private deck. Romantic bedroom with views into the bathroom/bathtub, which my friend and I laughed about. The shower features double heads, including a rain shower. All-in-all, nice designs and features!

The hotel is between the LACMA and Beverly Hills (very short drives) but there didn't seem to be much going on within walking distance of the hotel. The block itself did not look wonderful, but it seemed safe enough. My friend and I parked our car on the street with no problems.

Would stay again, especially if it were another upgrade to the penthouse.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Wow! Looks like you won the lotto with that upgrade! I'm so glad it was a fun and comfortable stay. It's great to hear that you took full advantage of your beautiful suite as well as our rooftop. We are indeed quite centrally located and within walking distance of the Farmer's Market and the Grove, 3rd Street and Museum Row. LA's other top attractions are within a short drive. We hope the Hotel Wilshire will be your destination of choice when you return to LA.

Until then,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We found our stay at Hotel Wilshire to be very pleasant! The hotel is centrally located and very close to nice spots in Beverly Hills area. Everything looked new, the hotel was clean and trendy.
We recommend this if you are ever in LA.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Traveler,

What a great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the clean, modern design of our hotel....It really gives our guests a true "LA experience!" And yes, we are also a quick jaunt from the heart of Beverly Hills, which is a must-see for travelers coming to LA.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is beautifully designed with the most amazing view from the rooftop pool and lounge.
staff is extremely helpful and freindly. looooved every second i was there.
I had to leave hotel early due to a family emergency and they refunded me fully for the nights I wasnt able to be there. would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suryfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#1 of 358 in Los Angeles
177 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#29 of 358 in Los Angeles
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
#8 of 15 in Beverly Hills
883 reviews
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#131 of 358 in Los Angeles
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $252 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition - Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, Kimpton Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered-from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing