We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #66 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great location to explore LA”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. Rooms are very spacious. The hotel has ample parking on site, although it is a bit expensive.

Subway and McDonalds are both within walking distance if you need a quick snack. The roof top bar at the hotel is a great spot for a drink, you can also see the Hollywood sign.

The hotel provides a pass to a local gym, about 500m walk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    220
    81
    32
    11
See reviews for
123
196
38
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great hotel and service! Clean, good design, modern with comfort. Parking was expensive $32 a night with unlimited in and out, on our second day we noticed a sign next door for overnight parking at $12 with in and out privileges.
The rooftop bar was great, cabana booths and high bar tables with great service and a partial view of LA. It was small but perfect for cocktails around the pool (which is 3' deep, no laps or swimming)
The hotel is on "Museum row", the Los Angeles Museum of Modern Art is a block away and the La Brea tar pits as well as the Automotive museum is right there. This is not a place you would walk around at night. The Grove is LA's first farmers market and is a fun stop for breakfast or lunch and it is only a quick drive away, it also has a newer "mall" type area next to it for those looking for a more shopping experience. I would definitely return, we enjoyed the property perfect for a quick weekend get away...

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the roof next door. We were not really looking for a view from the room so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwistudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a stay-cation. We live in less than 10 miles away. We like the Kimpton hotels since we sometimes travel with our two dogs and love how dog-friendly they are although we did not travel with our dogs this time. Before check-in, we read the reviews about parking in the garage near the hotel for $12 a night. We easily found the garage next door and parked there. We had in/out privileges and there was no harm to our car. It is cash only. The lobby is small although we don't usually hang out in the lobby and therefore it was fine. As is usual at Kimpton hotels, the check-in receptionist was friendly. We asked for an upgrade (since we are both Kimpton members) although nothing was available. Our room was 407. Small room although clean and modern. This room does not have a tub, only a shower. There is no view from this room although it was quiet at night and we were able to sleep well. The beds are very comfortable. We dropped our luggage in the room and then went up to the pool. I almost put on my bathing suit first before checking it out and I am glad I did not. The pool is not really a pool for swimming unless you are fine with fully-dressed, non-hotel guests watching you swim. We did not see one person swimming the whole stay. The rooftop pool/lounge is good for hanging out and having a drink and some food. It is a nice/relaxed lounge-bar feel. I was hoping it would be more like the Kimpton Solamar in San Diego where you can swim and hang out without feeling uncomfortable. The location of the hotel is ok but not great for everyone. There is a sports bar/restaurant right next door on one side, a McDonalds on the other side and a coffee shop diagonally across the street. We walked to the Grove and the La Brea Tar Pits. We like to walk though and walked for a few miles. The street the Wilshire is on is mostly business offices, empty buildings and parking structures. Not a pretty walk by any means although easy enough. The Kimpton wine hour was ok. It was no like the Kimptons in San Diego or San Francisco where they offer a variety of wines as well as some appetizers. There were only two-to-four other people there both nights which was surprising since the hotel was suppose to be booked. Usually the wine hour is very lively. Check-out was quick and easy. I like how the hotel was close to the Grove since there are not many hotels around there although I am not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gelaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stylish property conveniently located near Museum Row. We lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite with an amazing view of the Hollywood sign and the hills. The perfect LA moment down to the palm trees gently waving.


This hotel also has a very nice rooftop deck/bar with equally stunning views.

The LA Farmer's market is also a very short walk and there are a number of great restaurant options nearby (try Slow Fish).

Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the back side of the hotel the views are fantastic. Room 416 was unbelieva...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the Kimpton commitment to the environment. I wish all hotels provided recycling bins in the rooms.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lets start with the good things first. Really well designed room. Everything crisp and new. VERY SMALL ROOM, but nice. Cute features for storage, soaking tub etc. IF the room were 25% larger, it would fit within standards of Hyatt and other large chains. This is the smallest room i have stayed in. Thankfully, i was alone. 2 people here would be VERY uncomfortable.

THe hotel is in a VERY strange location. Not next to anything. They like to say 'they are a short ride from Beverly Hills..." and everything else. This is true. Conversely, you MUST drive everywhere. There is nothing to walk to here. NOthing next door. You are staying next to 'nothing' and between everything in a part of town that is not 'shady'...but not good either. I guess the hotel has to say they are just a short drive to everything....what else are they going to say? Thats really a bit of a spin on the facts though....

The lobby is about the size of one of the rooms, but the staff was freindly and outgoing.

The roof top pool was nice, but again.....SO SMALL.

I prefer the Andaz and other hotels with similar features...but much more space and a more central location to dining and other hot spots.

I still cant get over how small the rooms are...... :(

This was my first time at this property. Although i am in LA about 30 nights a year, and am an 'Inner Circle' member with Kimpton, i doubt i will return here. When i am in LA...i want to feel like i am staying in LA. I wish i could pick this hotel up and move it about a mile....

Room Tip: Maybe an upgrade will get a larger room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so happy to hear that you found the hotel to be comfortable and well appointed. I'm sorry to hear, however, that you found our location lacking. We actually are within a short walk of the Grove and historic Farmer's Market, and LA's best museums. And beyond that, it's just a short drive to West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Hollywood and more. I'm glad that our staff was able to take good care of you and we truly hope that you will give us another try in the future. We try to give Inner Circle upgrades as much as we possibly can, so we must have had no suites available for your specific dates. I urge you to reach out to me directly at ashley.gochnauer@hotelwilshire.com if you decide to return and I will make sure we take great care of you.

We hope to see you back at the Wilshire soon!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

It's rare that a well designed, nicely maintained property is pet Friendly. Not this excellent Kimpton property, located in West LA right on Wilshire Blvd. They had a framed photo of our dog in our room when we arrived with him in tow. The rooftop restaurant served great breakfasts and above average salads, with a commanding view of west LA. The room was smaller than expected, but we were impressed by the large shower and the delightful, almost sinful shower head spray. Um, I want a shower there again soon..... Parking is a bit exorbitant, but the stay in general was very satisfying and relaxing. No on-site gym was only negative, and free membership at a nearby chain was not a good substitute. Also, while the hotel has a great entrance, the balance of the block is seedy, unrented and unoccupied and in disrepair.

Room Tip: Upper floors (4, 5 or 6) is your only acceptable option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

When I travel, I usually look for the Kimpton name. Usually, the chain of boutique hotels lives up to my expectations. This one surpassed them.

The rooms were small, but modern and comfortable. I had a great night's sleep and the bathroom had terrific luxury amenities.

The highlight of the trip was the rooftop restaurant/pool which overlooks the Hollywood Hills.

My travel partner was upgraded to the penthouse. The bedroom wasn't huge but the rest of the suite was very comfortable.

This was a great hotel and we paid a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Wow! What a great review! Thank you so much for sharing these wonderful comments. To hear from a true Kimpton loyalist that we were your "best" experience thus far is truly an honor! I hope that the Hotel Wilshire becomes your destination of choice when visiting LA.

We hope to see you again soon!

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#120 of 351 in Los Angeles
406 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#35 of 351 in Los Angeles
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Property: Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition - Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, Kimpton Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered-from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing