We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice funky hotel in a surprisingly good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #59 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice funky hotel in a surprisingly good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband in May 2013 for 2 nights.

The hotel is clean modern and the rooms more than adequate. Terrible water pressure for showers though.

Wifi was free when we joined the hotel club.

Staff at the front desk were so friendly and helpful.

Location of hotel is good (given this is LA) provided you want to stay away from Hollywood and the main strip. Although it might seem that there is not much around the hotel - nothing in immediate vicinity- the hotel is comfortable walking distance to the grove and the great farmers market and also the Beverly Centre. About $15 to $20 taxi ride to Hollywood Boulevard (around Chinese theatre area).

Check out the roof top bar which has great views of LA. Only downside we had dinner there second night and the food was just ok. The service was awful. Avoid.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MZE83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    195
    61
    28
    8
See reviews for
99
170
33
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was travelling to LA quite a bit last year and this hotel was my preferred hotel of choice. Where I have to admit that I can't pick out any one thing that this hotel does outstanding, it is a good all around balanced hotel. Convenient location, very reasonably priced, clean and spacious rooms, nice ambiance at the restaurant upstairs . . . the view out of most of the rooms is mediocre at best, but the view from the rooftop restaurant and pool is great, especially at sunset.

Room Tip: I don't remember room number sequences, but ask for a front facing room or a room all the way ba...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Wilshire for 3 nights. Overall it was an enjoyable stay. Staff was friendly. Room was modern, bathroom was big. Not much of a view from our room, which oversaw the carpark. Carpet was also a bit dirty. Had requested a higher floor room but no luck on this stay. Amenities where good. Room was cleaned on time. Found the valet parking quite steep in price but right next door, there is a private car park where u can park with in/out privileges for $12/Day.

Although we didn't get a chance to use the roof top pool/bar, we did go up to see it and was impressed with the design.

There is also an McDonald's about 50m away. Closest grocery store is about 2min drive.

Overall an enjoyable stay. Nothing that particularly stood out nor was anything bad.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room not facing the back car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Traveler,

I'm so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, but next time we hope to truly wow you! I'm happy to hear that you found our amenities to be well appointed and that you enjoyed the hotel's design. If you do come back for a return visit, I hope you can spend some time up at our rooftop and enjoy the delicious food and great views. We hope you will keep us in mind for your future travels to LA!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Kimpton Hotels seem to have found there niche of having a very modern, updated and comfortable setting for their hotels. This is one of the most comfortable hotels I've been in LA. Now, it's not super fancy like some others, and I wouldn't put it in the luxury category, but still - very modern, very nice.

Staff seems friendly for LA, which means indifferent by southern standards, and positively cold by midwest standards.

Nice pool and bar setup, but not much of a lobby/waiting area. No gym, but they will give you a complementary pass to an LA Fitness down the street (which doesn't look like its been updated since the 70's or when Lou Ferrigno was popular).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We are on a mission! That mission is to change the perception that LA hotels are not as warm and friendly as in other parts of the country. I'm glad you found our staff to be genuine and service oriented but next time we hope to exceed your expectations even more! Although our lobby is on the smaller side, we consider ourselves to be small and intimate, but mighty nonetheless! We hope that you'll come back and visit us again so we can continue to show you what makes the Hotel Wilshire a special place to be.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I recently stayed at The Hotel Wilshire for business. I usually stay at the Kimpton (Hotel Palomar) in Westwood, but I wanted to check out the new property. It's tucked away in an odd spot, but I loved this place. It's a quick drive to the Grove and Farmers Market, the Beverly Center, West Hollywood, and everything else. The location is great. But the real amazing feature is the rooftop pool and restaurant. I used to take friends visiting to the top level of the parking garage at the Grove because it has such an amazing view and way to show people all the parts of LA. Now, I can just take them to the roof of the Hotel Wilshire.

I had a great room with a wonderful view of the Hollywood sign. As usual, the restaurant was delicious, the service was top notch, and the room was well designed and well appointed.

My only complaint is the hotel doesn't have a fitness center on site. You get to use the LA Fitness a few blocks down the street which is a full gym, but it is convenient when the fitness center is on site. They are planning on adding one eventually.

Room Tip: See if you can get a view of the Hollywood sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Traveler,

It's so great to get a positive review from a Kimpton loyalist! I'm so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stays at the Palomar and have now discovered the new Kimpton in town! And I totally agree - our rooftop is indeed a gem! It's a real hidden oasis in the middle of LA. But all of this would mean nothing if the team did not deliver that top notch service, so that is what we strive for with each and every guest. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and visit us soon.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The rooms are small but nicely done. Comfortable beds for sure. No bathtub though. The bathrooms are great however. I could hear the couple above me in the morning. Not cool. I only stayed one night and got in late so I can't say much more. I did enjoy the snacks. Overall it was a good value and a nice, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelette4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Although you were only with us for a brief stay, I'm so glad that you found our bathrooms well designed and you enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep in our comfortable beds. I'm so sorry that you were then disturbed by noise from the room upstairs! I do hope that we will see you again and that you can stay for longer next time. You'll definitely need to check out our rooftop and hopefully partake in our evening Wine Hour. That way you can get the full Hotel Wilshire experience! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly when your travels bring you back to LA.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

First of all I was somewhat reluctant to stay at Hotel Wilshire. While traveling alone I have specific requirements I like to fulfill. Namely, I like to be away from the elevators and noise and have a room with a nice deep soaking tub. Previous reviewers said the rooms were a little small So i opted for a larger room or suite. But Cesar was very helpful in letting me know which rooms would best suit me. I became aware that the larger suites were close to the elevators, didn't have large soaking tubs or were overlooking Wilshire Boulevard, which tends to be a bit noisy.

I couldn't have been more happy with my choice of room. It had a nice view of the mountains and was far away from any noisy elevators or crowds. (Room 611)
It had a nice large soaking tub, which was perfect for hoofing it all day around town. To make my stay even more comfortable Cesar surprised me with a fruit plate and a bottle of red wine. What I loved most about this gesture was the fact that, as a native Californian, along with strawberries and other fruit, there was a fresh cactus apple and a lychee fruit. I loved growing up in California and having all of these wonderful fruits available to me, but rarely get to enjoy now.

I didn't have much experience with the restaurant, Other than hanging around the pool later in the afternoon after all the younger people left or grabbed tables for something to eat. I was there for about an hour before one of the waitresses finally stopped and asked if I might want a menu. I have traveled alone extensively throughout my life, though I am currently married with the family. I am still shocked that a person traveling alone is rarely acknowledged, unless, of course, they are a man. It took quite a while for the staffer to bring me a drink, And I had to hunt people down to ask for a check. I finally gave up and went to my room then called up to the restaurant to let them know I had ordered a drink. Had the waitress acknowledged my presence she would have realized that I tip well. So it seems the restaurant is living up to its questionable reputation on TA.

I would certainly stay at the hotel again. It was comfortable, cozy, very clean, in a very convenient location and the staff at the front desk was very helpful.

As for parking I took a tip from trip advisor to park in a lot nearby. Arriving on Friday I paid $10 just down the block The parking attendant added that the weekend would be free since nobody parks in the lot during that time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reneraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Traveler,

It's great to see one of our employees' names up in lights! Cesar is a stellar member of our Front Desk team, so I'm so happy that he took good care of you during your recent stay and assisted in finding the perfect room. On a different note, I am so sorry that you were not promptly acknowledged up at the Roof. I can completely relate to how frustrating that can be, so I deeply apologize that you had this experience. I have shared your comments with our restaurant team and they take this feedback to heart since we aim to give our guests amazing service from start to finish. So glad however that you found the Front Desk staff to be friendly and accommodating. I truly hope we can host you on your next visit to LA.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Beverly Hills - a Kimpton Hotel
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#117 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#21 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
#6 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 6317 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition – The Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, the Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at The Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered—from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing