We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #75 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Like other Kimpton hotels, this one has an excellent staff that know how to make you feel welcome. Very friendly and accomodating. If you lose your ticket for retrieving your car, don't worry, you'll still get your car. It didn't seem very crowded during our stay, and I enjoyed all the attention from the staff.

The room was very handsome. I have no complaints about layout or size. I thought it was perfect, right down to a powerful water pressure in the shower.

My only gripe is that there's nothing immediately walkable near the hotel that is useful to me. I realize that being in Los Angeles means driving everywhere, but it would be nice to just run out to Starbucks in the morning without waiting for your car, and then having to replace it in the garage after a 20 minute outing. Not really the hotel's fault. It comes with the territory. And I would add that parking was very expensive. I don't know if there are nearby options that are cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,

I completely agree - that welcome experience is so important! It truly sets the tone for your stay, so luckily our Front Desk team is very skilled at making our guests feel welcome right off the bat. Next time you visit (and we hope you do!), I urge you to let our staff help you customize a walking tour of the area. We are within very close proximity to Museum Row, the Grove and Farmers Market, the shops and cafes on West 3rd Street....and more! The hotel is also a quick drive from West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, and Hollywood Boulevard. And unfortunately being charged for Valet parking is somewhat of a necessary evil in this town, but I assure you our overnight parking rates are lower than many of our competitors. I truly hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to LA.

Thanks again for the great feedback!

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    219
    80
    32
    11
See reviews for
122
196
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is interesting, with modern designed rooms and public areas. The restaurant by the pool was nice for breakfast, but a bit too busy for getting a drink later in the evening.

The rooms are small - even the upgraded ones are much smaller than a standard chain hotel (marriott, westin, hyatt) and the room charge is still a bit high. Lighting was fine for relaxing but not enough if you need to do any work on a laptop. Also the carpet in my room had a few dark dirt spots. I mentioned it to the front desk who said they would call housekeeping - however it was never cleaned and upon returning from a dinner the spots were there, the carpet not damp (so no attempt to clean even after I asked).

I liked the large shower and overall bathroom design however.

The hotel does not have a gym and while they offer passes to something down the street, that's not very convenient for most people.

The best part was the very friendly and helpful valet staff! Always greated me with a smile, and remembered which little rental car was mine.

Room Tip: try to get upgraded to a suite with more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thanks so much for your constructive comments....It's through our guests' feedback that we are able to continuously improve. Although it sounds like you experienced some missteps, I'm so glad to hear that the great service came shining through. We hope that you'll come back and visit us. Hopefully next time we will hit a home run and make you a loyal guest for life!

Thanks again,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northam, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here on way home to Australia and it was a great choice for us. We got an excellent online rate which as well as the newly renovated rooms helped us make the choice to stay here. The rooms are nice, bit on the smaller side but still decent and the bathroom was good. Loved the deep bath but people with mobility issues would have trouble getting in and out for sure.
Be aware that since its fairly new and doesn't have much street frontage, you will need to remember the address of the hotel to give to cab drivers, not one of the many we had knew where the hotel was... You will probably want to catch cabs or the bus to most places, the only place we walked to was The Grove shopping centre. Also even though there's a bike in the lobby for rental, it's actually only one bike, not so good when you're a couple!
The staff on the front desk are great, helpful and accomodating...
We ate dinner once at the rooftop, it was alright, the menu is quite limited but the atmosphere is nice...
All in all, it's a well furnished, newly renovated and well priced hotel that we enjoyed staying at...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I'm so glad that you chose the Hotel Wilshire for your recent visit to LA. I see that you noticed our bike in the lobby - we actually have that one for display plus one more (and we plan to get additional bikes this summer!). I apologize that you weren't made aware, since it is a great way to explore the city. I'm also so happy that you received great service from our crew at the desk. They definitely aim to please, so it's wonderful to hear you had a positive experience. And thank you so much for joining us for dinner at the Roof! I've made sure the Chef is aware of your comments regarding the menu, but I agree that with those views, the atmosphere can't be beat!

Thank you so much again for sharing your comments about your recent visit. I hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to LA!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We found this hotel online at the last minute and were pleased with the quality and cleanliness of our room. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly; when I walked in to check in, a nice woman immediately offered me a glass of wine. Well, hello!

My daughter and I were travelling to look at colleges, and this was a central enough place for us to travel north, east, south and west one day after the next. Unfortunately for us they only had a king bed for the night. We're not exactly sleep compatible (she steals the sheets!) so on the second night we tried a roll-in bed (I don't think they charged me for it) and that worked a little better.

I was grateful that the air conditioning is very quiet and doesn't go on/off all night. Just a constant low fan that was easy to sleep to. Great bathroom and wonderfully large shower head.

And the rooftop is fun; lots of folks out on the roof on Sunday having brunch with friends. We (from the casual Northwest) were in our typical t-shirts and jeans and were put to shame by all the hip fashionistas with their heels and long skirts, and it was fun to see folks dressing up.

For us, the parking next door worked great; much cheaper than the hotel parking and we didn't have any security issues.

Overall, a fine choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallingfordgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to sunny LA! It's great to hear that you arrived during our evening Wine Hour from 5-6pm and were greeted with a complimentary glass of wine - what a way to start your stay! I agree, our Front Desk staff is incredibly friendly and our Housekeeping department does a great job keeping the rooms spic and span. And I'm so glad to hear that you got a chance to make it up to the Roof. With that atmosphere, it truly is the quintessential "LA" experience!

I sincerely hope you will choose the Hotel Wilshire for your next trip to LA. Who knows, perhaps your daughter will choose an LA school and we will get to see lots of you!

Thanks again,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Whenever my husband and I go on vacation we always try and book at a Kimpton hotel. They know what we like, they always have a really good location and everything we would need. Note that the pool area is more for decoration unless you are comfortable swimming in the middle of a restaurant dining room. The rooftop lounge area is beautiful, fantastic view of the hollywood sign and the whole city, great for a late night drink with good music and nice patio furniture. The food at this restaurant isn't very good though, very bland and not a huge menu.
Parking is another thing I should mention, it was $35 overnight every night plus taxes. Which I suppose given the location is average, but take into account the tips on top of that, it can get pretty expensive.
As with all Kimtons, remember the perks involved with being an intouch member. The complimentary wine tasting every night, the goldfish in your room for your stay, and if you mention its a special even you are celebrating they always take note and do something a little special for you.
The location was quite good, short drive to Sunset, Beverly hills, the grove, rodeo, etc. walking distance to the Pederson Auto museum. For a great and casual bite to eat nearby. Wahoo taco's is right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

It's great to see a review from a Kimpton loyalist! We really make an effort to practice intuitive service and provide you with everything you need to make it an enjoyable, and convenient, stay. Although our pool is small, the views from the Roof are truly second to none, so hopefully the atmosphere makes up for any shortcomings. Regarding your comments about the food, I have definitely made our Chef aware, as the team up there takes our guests' feedback to heart and uses it as a tool to improve. I apologize that you found the parking rates to be a bit steep. For whatever it's worth, I assure you our overnight parking rates are comparable (and in many cases lower) than other hotels in the area. I am so glad to hear that as a Kimpton In Touch member, you found all the Kimpton programs to be alive and well at the hotel. I sincerely hope you'll be back for your future travels to LA.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is very central and close to both business areas and local attractions all over the city. The rooms are very spacious, new and clean. The hotel has a very nice roof restaurant&bar with a great view. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Parking is very expensive if you are traveling with a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank istanbul_traveler871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for submitting this review! Our hotel is indeed very centrally located to downtown, West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, etc. So glad to hear you had a nice, spacious room and got a chance to visit our beautiful rooftop. Most importantly, it's all about the service so I'm so glad you left with a positive impression of our staff and the service you received.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here to see the sights of LA for the last 3 days of our road trip vacation. The hotel only offers valet parking at 32 dollars a day. I moved our car to the lot next door which offers self parking for 12 dollars a day, no brainer... The staff at the Wilshire are super polite and attentive, I complained about the first room we were given due to an odd odour and also the carpet had obviously not been cleaned. Tommy on reception resolved this matter without question and provided us with an alternative room. Wine is provided between 5pm and 6pm in the lobby which was a nice touch. We found the hop-on-hop-off tour bus stop which is a little walk down Wilshire blvd, using the bus we managed to see the main sights of LA and Santa Barbara beach etc. Beverly hills and Rodeo drive are walkable from the hotel, probably under 2 miles away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank si1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

I love seeing reviews complimenting our amazing staff! We all definitely work hard to make sure our guests are well taken care of, so hearing that we were polite and attentive means a lot to us. I'm so sorry that the first room you received was not up to par. I am glad to hear, however, that Tommy at the Front Desk was able to quickly recover the situation and move you to another room. Regardless, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this caused. I'm so glad that you got to take advantage of our evening Wine Hour and that you found the location of our hotel to be well suited for sightseeing.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to LA!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#120 of 351 in Los Angeles
406 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#34 of 351 in Los Angeles
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 20 in West Hollywood
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Property: Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition - Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, Kimpton Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered-from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing