We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #66 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed one night at the Hotel Wilshire before a flight from LAX. The service at the hotel was excellent-- the front desk arranged taxi service for us (for the record, cost was $56, wihpth tip). They even contacted us proactively about a wake-up call, given our early departure. Dinner was had upstairs on on the roof. Food was great, a bit pricey perhaps; service was excellent, drinks were tasty. Other reviewers have complained about shower pressure and the quality of bathroom amenities. In my experience, all we're excellent. My only worry is that the bathtub was difficult to get in and out of. It had a very high wall, and it was very difficult to clear. And I write this as an athletic, 30-something male! If these issues are anproblem for you, you might say smething at check-in. A bit bummed we didn't get our welcome champagne (as promised by our booking), but other than that, this hotel is worth the money. Make sure to visit the LACMA, just a 3-minute walk!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank plt981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for submitting this review! I am so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and found the service to be consistently good throughout your stay. We pride ourselves on our staff and are always striving to provide the best service possible. I sincerely hope that you will keep us in mind for your future travels to Los Angeles.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 624 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel gives off the impression that it is an upmarket luxury boutique hotel. It most certainly is not. At best it is three star.
Pros:
Good location if you have a car. There are better options if you have to use a taxi or walk.
Rooms are clean and fairly new.

Cons:
Poor value for money. This hotel would receive a higher rating if it's pricing was more in line with its value proposition. Upscale hotel rates for something slightly better than a Holiday Inn chain.
Upstairs bar has a good view but pretty cheap looking. Not to mention the food is sometimes clearly yesterday's leftovers reheated.
Pool is very tiny.
Service is hit or miss. Staff is helpful with restaurant suggestions and taxis. My arrival was a bit mediocre as no oneoffered assistance with my luggage as I struggled wit five suitcases. Room service can be sloppy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TriniNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Traveler,

I was so sorry to hear that your recent experience fell short of your expectations. That is certainly not the kind of feedback we like to receive. We take your comments to heart and have shared them with our team so we can make improvements where needed. I urge you to reach out to me personally if you plan to return and we will make sure we take great care of you.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

recipe for disaster - multiple large table reservations, new year's day brunch, 1/2 the staff calls out. however, recovery brunch at the wilshire hotel "the roof" was salvaged only due to our tolerance and their focus on guest service (awesome). everything took time. 9 of us squeezed into a 6 person booth. moved to a really nice much larger table. food took one hour and 45 minutes to arrive. that's way too long. so here's some advice: you know it's new years day and you know your staff is going to call out. take HALF the reservations or no reservations and make it first come/first serve. work with the expectations we all have of a kimpton property - impeccable service, wonderful food and an incredible experience all the time, every time. this meal fell short due to time and expectations. even with a reservation for a certain time, it ain't happening. easier to avoid this place than to be let down that it's not running as it should.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jacksondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel Wilshire is centrally located -- it is just a few minutes from Beverly Hills, Century City, West Hollywood, the Grove, etc. We had a room facing the Hollywood Hills, and it was very quiet. The amenities are new and very good. The rooftop pool and bar is also very nice. While it is not ultra-luxe, it is also a very good value given the price. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Hollywood Hills -- or at least one in the back away from Wilshire, which can b...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Hotel Wilshire is a cute boutique style hotel. The view on the rooftop is worth the stay in itself. The breakfast at the rooftop restaurant was excellent. It is also worth a visit for the drinks (we didnt use the pool as it was a little cooler out).
We had a room on the 6th floor with two double beds and an extra sitting room with another TV. The bathroom was large and updated. Everything was clean.
From here, you can walk to the farmer's market, the miracle mile, museums (LACMA, La Brea). Driving to sunset, hollywood blvd, or rodeo drive is less than a 5 minute ride.
Driving to Santa Monica is about 10-15 mins (unless you hit traffic).

Room Tip: If you have more than 2 people, definitely try to get a suite. The 6th floor had a great view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MH9727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

on the 3rd floor facing Wilshire Avenue and it was so noisy at night that could not sleep in the least due to all night traffic. Shower pressure was slow and the bathroom amenties that was suppled to guest were poor quality. would not stayed here again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank kwongsangwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

You cold expect these type of service fro a 4 or 5 star hotels, genuine not pretentious and caring. Valet was easy and the attendant even asked when would we need the car so he could pull it up front for us. Check in was smooth and courteous. The room was super clean well appointed and comfortable. Great value, close to everything! I have not had a chance meeting the general manager but kudos to him for creating this warm hospitality. We'll be back for sure since it is minutes away from Beverly Hills for the fraction of the price. LOVED THE ROOF TOP great food and beautiful view.

Room Tip: I have not experienced but one room, and that was great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#121 of 353 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#36 of 353 in Los Angeles
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 353 in Los Angeles
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $259 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition - Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, Kimpton Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered-from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing