We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“All Aces in LA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #66 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All Aces in LA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Contemporary. Sleek. Modern. Tech Savvy. What am I describing? No, not a new smartphone or tablet. Not a new luxury car or pc either. These are the adjectives I use when describing The Hotel Wilshire.

The Hotel Wilshire was not at all what I expected – but in a good way. Upon arrival the narrow valet with entrance similar to a New York parking garage, I must say was daunting, but once inside the NY vibe disappeared. A modern, glass, crisp interior awaited. I may not be the typical traveler, then again, maybe I am as I travel with two mobile phones, a tablet, and at least two laptops (among other things); and the ability to use my devices as if I’m at home is usually not a luxury. However, I was wrong this time and The Hotel Wilshire delivered in spades meeting my demand. I’m not sure what inspired such tech savvy, but wall a mounted dock for HDMI, VGA, S-Video, RGB, IPOD / IPHONE / IPad, LAN, USB, and audio? Mitsubishi climate controls, LED lighting, Wi-Fi that wasn’t anemic, and more. I had to ask myself: “Where am I?” Is this a sort of Shangri La?

In addition to the technical “everything” I just mentioned, the room is styled oh so well. I am a high rise dweller that enjoys modern decor with a hint of minimalism – I couldn’t have picked a better place. One will note ample closet space and a sexy chaise with hidden storage below. Quite possibly the softest bed and pillows in my last six months of travel, crisp and clean lighting, and a bath with utterly sleek surfaces. I also note the intense cleanliness of the room, not a spot on the shower glass – noticeable. The interior design is perfect for one week, one month, or whatever your stay. Mind you: I’m not even discussing the great rooftop pool in this review!

If you are looking for something traditional with dark woods, and earthy furnishings this may not be the place for you. If you are looking for a modern room with technical flair, I recommend you visit this weekend. A new addition to my “Best List”, The Hotel Wilshire is all Aces in my book!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGlitterati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg_rizzi, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words in regards to your recent stay at The Hotel Wilshire. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our modern design and aspiration to remain up-to-date with technology as well as our green efforts. Thanks for spreading the word and it would be our pleasure to accommodate you next time your travels bring you to Los Angeles!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Debra Rosenberg Matsumoto
General Manager
The Hotel Wilshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    208
    69
    29
    11
See reviews for
111
182
35
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Wilshire on October 15th + 16th.
I booked the stay on Hotwire.com, and got a deal of $167/night plus tax
~
It is a very lovely boutique hotel which has been very recently renovated and is pretty well located. It's a little farther away from some important amenities (Starbucks, CVS, quick-eat restaurants) than I normally like, but it was still in Beverly Hills, so not too shabby.
~
The valet is ~$30/night, which can get pricey, but there really isn't parking nearby. It's a must.
~
The restaurant/bar on the roof is small, but very nice. I would say it's slightly overpriced, but the food was delicious, if not a little too decadent. The breakfast was surprisingly well priced.
~
The room was very nice, newly renovated. It was a little dark, not enough overhead lighting. The bathroom has a rainhead glass shower which has a glass block panel in the adjoining wall for extra light. The sink had a little less space than I normally like, I really felt cluttered. It was by far, 100%, the BEST hairdryer I have ever used in a hotel in my LIFE. BEST. i was so happy with it.
~
The bed was very comfy and there were plenty of pillows. They were a little too soft, but once stacked up great.
~
There is a lot of storage in the room and a nice size closet with a light. I had plenty of room for my 2 days of stuff.
~
My view was awful, but I booked on Hotwire. What can you do?
~
Check-in and check-out was a breeze and the staff was all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Higher up is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

stylish small boutique hotel. Good rooms and bathrooms. bar and small pool on roof with superb views. Fast and friendly staff, as you expect but easy going in an la way. Walking distance to lacma and a few restaurants. Good kocation for rest of city.

Helpful?
1 Thank grahamrp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
greg_rizzi, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Hotel Wilshire. I am glad that you found our location to be desirable as it’s less than a mile to the LA County Museum of Art, The Craft Museum, The Petersen as well as many local art galleries. We are also in close proximity of many of LA’s wonderful restaurants on Beverly Blvd. and Melrose Avenue!



Debra Rosenberg Matsumoto
General Manager
The Hotel Wilshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
296 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Do not confuse this with similarly named hotels. It is 1 1/2 blocks from the LA County Art Museum, a short drive to the restaurants of Melrose Ave, and it has chic rooms, free wifi, and a well-managed in/out garage.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is about a year old. Nice, clean and reasonably priced for the area. The room was good., nice bathrooms, comfy bed. This was more of a business trip so I can't speak to the sights around the hotel. Staff was very good. We had breakfast twice on the roof. Great way to start the day. Only one suggestion to management/owners - invest in some new towels. Cheap, cheap, cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEohiotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg_rizzi, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We’re thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Glad The Roof on Wilshire was a perfect way to start your day! Please note we are in the process of investing in new towels at The Hotel Wilshire.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Debra Rosenberg Matsumoto
General Manager
The Hotel Wilshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Ok so this hotel is located pretty close to Beverly Hills and is about a mile from the Farmers Market and a whole bunch of cool trendy places to eat and shop. The hotel has a great roof top pool and bar. The rooms are nice and modern. I will say though don't stay in the rooms facing Wilshire Blvd. the traffic is pretty constant all night so we switched to a different room after that. All in all was a great hotel though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmoore102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a very attractive boutique hotel. We stayed only one night on the start of a CA vacation. From the hotel we enjoyed a short walk to the La Brea tar pits and museum and a stroll along Rodeo Dr for window shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golightly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#118 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#28 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Central L.A
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
#39 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#31 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Property: The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition – The Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, the Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at The Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered—from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing