We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nice or special.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #66 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here with a few friends the other night and:

1. Weird brown stains on the sheets.
2. Weird white stains on the wall. Ew.
3. Asked the guy at the front desk make up the pull out couch or send linens. Over an hour passed called back. Asked them to make a reservation for rooftop bfast and when I came they never had.
4. Husband forgot his suit. We called the next day and they didn't want to look until head of housekeeping was back and that was the next day when he needed it. Had to ask 2x if they could just look.
5. My friend never ordered a drink at the pool and they came over with one he concocted "just for her" - on the bill it was a $20 cocktail.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CougarKugler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg_rizzi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Since reading your review, we have spoken with our laundry company as well as coaching and counseling our staff regarding the challenges you experienced at our hotel. In a perfect world, our front desk agents are asking guests upon check-in if they’d like the sofa bed made for that evening. I apologize that this was not done. There is also no excuse for not making a breakfast reservation at The Roof. I’ve also shared your unordered cocktail frustration with our restaurant partner’s. Please let me know if you would be open to experiencing The Hotel Wilshire another evening so we can make it right. Thank you for recounting your unfortunate experience so we can make it a teaching moment. My sincerest apologies for your unhappy stay.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,


Debra Rosenberg Matsumoto
General Manager
The Hotel Wilshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 624 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a great weekend at the Hotel Wilshire. It has beautifully designed rooms that are clean with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms are really nicely designed with everything new. The rooftop pool and restaurant provided incredible views of the Hollywood hills, including the Hollywood sign. It's a great place to wake up and have breakfast in L.A., whether on vacation or on business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose the Wilshire Hotel because it was easy walking distance to the LaBrea Tar Pits, Page Museum, the Art Museum and the Farmer’s Market. So in other words, very close to some LA sights and within short driving distance of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the mid-Wilshire neighborhood was as well. Set on busy Wilshire, the neighborhood also has a nice and quiet residential area, and a wide range of eateries also within easy walking distance of the hotel. (The “Caffe Latte” across the street being one place for a great breakfast.) The Wilshire Hotel is a new hotel, and the rooms and public areas feel like it. The contemporary and artsy décor make you feel like you’re really in Hollywood! The bathrooms are luxurious and well designed. The front desk staff is friendly and accommodating. The star of the hotel though is definitely the rooftop restaurant. There is an amazing view of LA and the Hollywood hills from this high perch on the rooftop. It is a little pricey, but the food is top notch and the view and atmosphere is worth the experience. Book ahead though, because this is a small space and a hot restaurant, so reservations are essential. As some other reviews have noted, the restaurant surrounds a very small rooftop pool that is open during the day only, but is a cool touch in the evening. If you’re looking for a quintessential LA experience, this reasonably priced hotel is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg_rizzi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and descriptive review of our property, The Hotel Wilshire. The Miracle Mile is an amazing area which has been recently revitalized. As you noted, we are walking distance to LA County Art Museum, the Craft Museum as well as a myriad of art galleries. I know your thoughts will assist other guests with their future travel plans. Again, may thanks for sharing your visit with others and we hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Debra Rosenberg Matsumoto
General Manager
The Hotel Wilshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Highly recommend staying at this hotel. Great rooms and service. The hotel bar and pool on the top level are a great feature. The pool is however only 3 feet deep so its more like a paddling pool. The reason is that if the pool was any deeper the hotel would have to employ a full time life guard ! Free WIFI which these days is a must ! Not bad location with local restaurants near by. Hotel rooms where well maintained and decorated to a very high level.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERTHYRMAWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We didn't stay at the Hotel - we came for lunch at The Roof on Wilshire.

Whilst we had to wait a while for our table (which I had booked) - it was well worth the wait! The view on the rooftop is phenomenal....! Stunning! The restaurant and bar were buzzing with a great atmosphere.

Our food and drinks were beautiful and we were glad we came here.

I highly recommend the restaurant/bar for the view and aspect. If I lived in LA I would definitely host a special occassion dinner or drinks here...

Make sure you request to sit at one of the booths around the pool - don't sit inside near the bar. The booths at the far end (outside) on the rooftop are the best...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JetsetStyle333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our stay at the Wilshire got off to a tough start - they said they didn't have our Expedia booking, which we'd prepaid, and asked us to wait. We had been in transit for 23 hours and were pretty keen to get checked in, but - no problem - we got acquainted with the neighbourhood for 20 minutes.

When we returned, the guy at the counter didn't seem to have done anything further. We felt a little bad for him - he was clearly run off his feet with phone calls and other guests - but I feel the hotel could focus a bit more on the check-in process, given it's a first impression.

Anyway, they honoured the booking, so that was OK in the end, but I did receive a call from another woman at the hotel asking for the same booking details we'd already given the guy at the counter in the printout of our booking confirmation. A little frustrating. They didn't seem able to help with much, really - I asked for a recommendation of somewhere nearby to get Mexican food, and the two staff members looked at each other blankly before offering a book of local restaurant menus. Not sure if I was expecting too much there, but this is LA and it's Mexican food - how hard can it be to name a place?

So, the rooms are nice enough - we stayed in a King Guestroom. Bathroom is nice and large with a rainfall showerhead. Everything's clean and modern; comfortable beds and linens.

The location is good as long as you have a car, which we did, but I'd probably suggest staying a few blocks north otherwise, assuming you want to do some of the touristy stuff. It is very well located for the La Brea Tarpits, Farmers Market and LACMA.

The rooftop bar has a really fantastic view, and the staff up there seemed pretty friendly. The Varsity Sports Bar next door seems to be quiet most of the time, but the bartender Dan is super friendly and pours a pretty mean drink. Well worth stopping by for a chat and a couple of drinks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without a carpark view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewNGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here in August 2012. Hotel room was fine but not so in the restaurant. The locale of the rooftop restaurant/pool area provided a lovely view of the Hollywood skyline. My girlfriend and I wanted to take advantage of it to end our evening. I checked earlier in the day to verify that it closed at 11 pm. We arrived there at 10:40 to have a starlit glass of wine. They rudely said we're closing so no glass of wine. I reminded them that closing was 11 pm but they said they were closing anyway. Of course, several other tables were full of patrons. I stepped away for a moment and my girlfriend said they had changed their mind. We sat at the bar and I quickly ordered two Petite Syrahs not bothering to look at the wine list because they were clearly not wanting to serve us anyway. The bartender poured what was left of a bottle, saying "We'll thats the last of it." He filled each glass about 2 oz. definitely not a normal amount. He then returned to his closing up duties. Still getting looks like "What are you people still doing here?" we quickly drank the little bit of wine and asked for the bill. It was definitely my error in not reviewing the wine list first, (I did the next day to verify the amount), we were charged $48.00 for those two sips of wine and with quite impolite and unwelcoming behavior part of the price. Apparently, management and/or staff of the Hotel Wilshire don't think they're in the hospitality business or don't really care.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RH2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg_rizzi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
First, I’d like to thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed your guest room experience at The Hotel Wilshire. Sometimes, a poor experience can completely color everything about a stay and I truly appreciate you noting the guest rooms were well appointed and clean. With that said, I’m sorry you were not wowed by The Roof on Wilshire and we will discuss the poor customer service with our restaurant partners, Foundation Hospitality Group to ensure your experience will not be repeated. I believe the bartender should have disclosed the cost of the glass of wine you chose, giving you the option to choose an alternative. I sincerely hope you will give The Hotel Wilshire another chance and stay with us again sometime soon.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Debra Matsumoto
General Manager
The Hotel Wilshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#121 of 353 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#36 of 353 in Los Angeles
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 353 in Los Angeles
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $259 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition - Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, Kimpton Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered-from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing