We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #75 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and found it to be very comfortable and clean, I think it is fairly new. The location is one of its best features. Easy access to most of the major attractions in LA, all the studios, Hollywood and Beverly Hills is within a 15 minute drive. (depending on traffic) Some of the other reviews complained about the pool area. Being on the roof of the hotel I don't think you can have a full size pool, if you are looking to do laps find another hotel but if you are into a great bar and a beautiful view on the roof of the eight floor this is the place to stay. We found everything about this place to work, my only problem is the parking it cost me $28.00 per day with tax a charge I wasn't expecting but it is LA. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gene2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    219
    80
    32
    11
See reviews for
122
196
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is nicely done. Rooms were lovely; like home from home. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily. Rooftop restaurant was beautiful with views of the Hollywood sign, food was great and the staff welcoming and friendly. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyCityRomance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Everything in this hotel looks very new. Our room on the 4th floor was unexpectedly large with a separate living room, which was a nice touch. A minor complaint is that all the doors inside the room, including the door to the bathroom, are unlockable sliding doors that leave a considerable gap... lack of complete privacy. Service was fine, nothing bad or special. The valet parking facility was convenient, if expensive at $26 per day. The main reason I'd stay here again is the location. It is close to Hollywood, Universal Studios, Beverly Hills, and a pleasant half-an-hour drive via the freeway to Santa Monica.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mechpassionfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Upon first arriving, I was a little dissappointed with the hotel lobby, as there is virtually none. This hotel was a medical facility that was converted to a hotel. Everything in the hotel is brand new. The staff was very courteous in storing our luggage while waiting for our room to be ready, since we had arrived early, and was happy to call a cab for us to go sightseeing. However, That night when we finally arrived back to our Suite, the sheets on the sofa bed were still wet, and we had to request dry sheets, and additional towels for the room. I do have to say, though, that the room was very large and very well appointed with ultra modern furniture and fixtures, with a microwave and refrigerator and lots of snacks and drinks to purchase on an honor system and the bathroom was very large, with a huge walk-in shower.(no tub) But the sliding doors to the bathroom would not stay closed, so we had to put something in front of the door so it would not open. The king size bed in our very large bedroom was comfortable. The rooftop dining has an awesome view of the city, and the serving staff and food is excellent. Overall, after the first glitch of wet sheets on the sofa, I have to say that our stay was very nice, and we would stay there again. Located Only 4 miles from Hollywood Blvd., and the taxi did not take a long to pick us up. The Hotel is in walking distance from one of the drop off points on the Hop-on, Hop-off tour bus in a VERY safe part of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg_rizzi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Zachary,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the guest rooms and that you found our staff to be helpful. I’m terribly sorry to hear the sofa bed sheets were not bone dry. We have taken corrective measures for that not to reoccur in the future. As for your bathroom door, I will be sending you a private message so we can figure out your room number to correct the issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Wilshire.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Debra Matsumoto
General Manager
The Hotel Wilshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have stayed here for 5 days as a starting point for our honeymoon in the US, in one of the Junior suites which was really clean, modern and confortable. Staff is helpful and the valet parking service is very convenient. Only complaint would be for the pool on the top floor. We chose this hotel for its location and for the pool, as we expected to relax there after some hours visiting LA. However, we found out it is always crowded with no hotel guests from 3pm onwards (one of the days the whole pool area was reserved for a private event and we had no access to it), obviously there are never seats available, and the pool is a part of the restaurant decoration rather than a service offered to the guests...Had we known this, we would have chosen a not-so-trendy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed here two nights recently on a business trip to LA. The staff were helpful and friendly and our room was very clean and functional, albeit on the small side. The room was well appointed, good quality furnishings and excellent wi-fi connectivity. A bath tub would have been nice but the rain shower was a nice touch of luxury. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to do business in West Holllywood area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here while visiting my son in Hollywood. The location is great, very near LACMA and the Tar Pits. Although we drove right past the small, poorly marked entrance. The room was well appointed and the bathroom was very nice and modern. The large shower was excellent. I like a firm bed but this one was just a little too hard. We made the mistake of eating dinner at the rooftop restaurant one night. The food was just average and the service was absolutely terrible.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators, especially on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#120 of 351 in Los Angeles
406 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#34 of 351 in Los Angeles
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 20 in West Hollywood
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Property: Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition - Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, Kimpton Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered-from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing