We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel in LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Ranked #73 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in LA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Great boutique hotel in central La. Nice clean rooms with coffee tea machines and water. Room was average size but everything seemed new so thats good for me! Nice bathroom area with Lather products. Deco was modern and just right for boutquue hotel. Was allowed to check in early at 2 pm. This place has a roof top pool which is one o the reasons i booked here. But when i went up the pool was surrounded by people having lunch ( as the resteurant is also at top!) so not very convinient for a dip in pool! Apart that everything else was fab.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    216
    76
    29
    12
See reviews for
115
186
38
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at The Hotel Wilshire during the first week of April with my mum and 11 year old daughter. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by professional and helpful staff. We had originally booked a 2 queen room but much to our delight were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. The room was ultra modern, spotless clean and had the extra bonus of water bottles and a great coffee maker with good coffee! The mini fridge was stocked well, but we didnt use the items so not sure of the cost of these. Now on to the amenities, the rooftop bar/restaurant and pool were amazing. We had lunch there on our first day, it was delicious. The pool really isnt to swim in but I guess if you wanted a dip that is what you will get! Service was great, and always with a smile and a chat. Across the road is a number of shops, ranging from cofffee. subway, a chemist, a laundry, japanese, lebanese, thai and a burger place, plus another couple of restaurants. We had dinner at the Thai place 3 times, the food was great and very reasonably priced. All restaurants were extremely busy with locals, this means they must be good!
We used the public bus about 100meters from the hotel up to Hollywood, this was $1.50 each way and took about 15 min. and very convenient. The Grove is a must see, it took us about 20 min walk which we enjoyed as we walked through the local neighborhoods to get there, or you could again catch the local bus, or if you like a taxi! The Farmers Market was amazing, as was all the shops around, including Wholefoods supermarket - see it to believe it! Great food for those looking for another alternative to a restaurant.
Overall a great hotel with lots close by. You arent in the main Hollywood area, but I liked that. In fact I couldnt wait to get back to my hotel surrounds.
Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was a solo trip and selected the area in order to be close to an art gallery with an opening I wanted to see. The general area is a bit tired and lacks many amenities that would make the area more attractive. But someone has to start renewal of an area and this certainly is a good place. Not a walking place at night but maybe during work day it will be better. Attractive restaurant on top but food a bit pricey, but nice view and singles spot on weekend nights from all appearances.

Room Tip: Modern room with plenty of computer type of links to use with TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbsimkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Ontario CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The perfect size hotel for a relaxing stay. Very clean, modern and priced competitively. I will definately being staying here again on my return to LA.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

My work colleague and I came to LA from Perth Australia.

We loved the hotel the minute we walked in. The reception staff were so friendly and helpful, the lobby was modern and funky and had nice relaxing music playing in the background. I enjoyed the flower decorations on the table in reception too. Nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in a junior suite which had views of the Hollywood sign and hills. It was spacious and had a separate living area. The beds and pillows were sooooo comfy and the interior was fresh, modern and funky. The shower was beautiful too, didn't want to get out!!

The rooftop bar had great views, service was good and there was a wide selection of drinks and food. Be careful, you might just not want to leave!!

Location was good as it was only a few minutes walk to the hop of, hop off tourist bus service. There were some restaurants and bars nearby but it felt like more of a museum/corporate location. This was fine as it was still only 15 mins or so by taxi to Hollywood and LA is so spread out so you can't be close to eveything!! The location felt safe and was an interesting area to be in.

I would definately recommend this property to clients and friends!!

Thanks from Colleen, Amanda and Sam from 'Globetrotter Corporate' Perth.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in The Hotel Wilshire for a week in mid-January while visiting family who lived nearby in Los Angeles. The hotel has been recently opened and is very modern and exceptionally well appointed. I appreciated the fact that it is a LEED certified hotel. We stayed in a junior King suite and had a second floor room overlooking the street. It was a very sunny room and and had an incredible open shower beside a giant jacuzzi tub. The living room area had a 2nd flat screen TV, but needed more lighting as it was very dark at night.

The rooftop bar and restaurant were great and we appreciated the heaters as it was quite chilly during our stay. The hotel is very close to both LACMA and the Zimmer Children's Museum as well as several parks. The front office manager, O'Neill, was exceptionally friendly and helpful as were all the other staff at the front desk and the staff in the restaurant. O'Neill gave us a tour of different rooms prior to actual check-in so we could choose one that suited our needs. That's great service! We will definitely stay here again when we visit LA--this hotel is a great find!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Enjoyed my week-long stay for a business trip. The location is mid-Wilshire, which is an odd mix, but I loved being able to walk over to LACMA to enjoy the latest exhibition. The hotel definitely lives up to quality of Luxe hotels -- good service, clean rooms, comfy beds, nice bath products (Lather), and free wifi! Oh, and I loved the shower -- slick contemporary design and roomy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingLoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#120 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#31 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Wilshire

Property: Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Address: 6317 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-5600
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Wilshire 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition - Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, Kimpton Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered-from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing