We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Nearby Hotels
$362
$279
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Angeleno(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$267
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$251
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$523
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$216
$203
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Casa del Mar(Santa Monica)
$591
$575
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$171
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveler rating
298
244
96
38
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
244
96
38
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantbeverly hillsthe la brea tar pitsla county museum of artla fitnesswine hourfire pitthe penthousehollywood signgreat boutiquefront desk staffwalking distancefarmers marketwest hollywoodsmall poolvalet parkingmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 691 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Needed to stay in LA an extra night, and had to get out of the room in which I'd been staying. Hadn't heard of this property (it had just opened), but found it on a hotel website---- fell in love with it almost immediately.

Room Tip: The 1-br suites are incredible, if available.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I had business in Beverly Hills and Century City and didn't need a big, swanky, expensive hotel. Hotel Wilshire was perfectly located close to my appointments at a fraction of the cost. The big surprise was the high design, poolside roof top restaurant and cozy breakfast area. One day we used the Board room for meetings. It is high tech and we were able to Skpe in colleagues on the wide screen.

The surrounding neighborhood is quiet with several small restaurants. The front desk staff is great and able to make and deliver to my room copies of docs on the hotel's fast internet connection and never charged.

The suite was cheerful, and very functional with a super comfy bed and even from my 3rd floor location great views of the Hollywood Hills. It came with a mini bar I did not use, and had a wonderful coffee maker and sustainably grown coffee - delicous.

You could tell a lot of thought went into the design and construction and we'll use the hotel again on our next trip to West LA.

Room Tip: Suites facing Hollywood Hills have amazing views, from 3rd floor up.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MVP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This new hotel has some very nice rooms which are well-appointed with modern fixtures. Unfortunately, it also attempts to be a club for 20-somethings, and does not enforce reasonable behavior on the part of its partying guests. So, although it has excellent bones, I cannot recommend it for anyone wanting a guarantee of a good night's sleep.

Probably, the problem begins with the (unfortunately all too common) attempt to have both a trendy hangout and a hotel in one property. The hotel has a rooftop deck with a bar and a small swimming pool. This doubles as a club at night. Sadly, the club-goers need to take the elevator to the top floor of the hotel (which has sleeping rooms on it), and then go down a short hall to another elevator to the roof. Why would you do this to your hotel guests?

We had a room which was somewhat like a small suite, with nice new fixtures and a cool bath. We did notice with surprise that the carpet was already stained. However, given the discussion below, one can understand why that might be the case.

While we were there, there was a multi-night, multi-guestroom party on our floor. The last night we were there, this went on until daylight. The party goers went from room to room, with accompanying door slamming etc. Not only did we complain, but other guests did as well. At one point, we overheard a night clerk telling someone that that was their final warning. As this had no effect, I can only guess that it meant the hotel wouldn't bother them again! We got no sleep that night. The next morning, we complained about the problem. The manager told us how bad he felt about the problem - apparently the night manager had left a message about it. However, what he offered in compensation for completely ruining our visit was laughable.

We did take brunch one morning on the rooftop. The staff were hopelessly slow and inept. There is an excellent cafe for breakfast in the strip-mall on the SE corner of Crescent Heights and Wilshire.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg_rizzi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review of the Hotel Wilshire. We have shared your review of our hotel with our restaurant associates for "The Roof on Wilshire" and we have already had a meeting so we can abate issues like how you describe below. It is the mission of our company and our hotel to provide an "excellent service experience" for our guests, and we are so sorry for the issues you experienced while visiting us and the frustration with the restaurant guests and with our restaurant operator. The bar and restaurant are not marketed as a club, and the restaurant and rooftop bar have specific hours in which they are allowed to operate, and do have specific neighborhood quiet hours. We have discussed this issue specifically regarding the lingering party and "club-like" atmosphere with the restauranteur, and it is not within our goal as hoteliers or with the restaurant to operate a nightclub. "The Roof" was designed to be a place of leisure, good views and to showcase the delicious food of Eric Greenspan, an award-winning celebrity chef.

The case about the muti-night, multi-guestroom party is unfortunate. We are a new hotel, and as such are experiencing operational growth and understanding of our client base; this will not be a problem again. If guests cannot subscribe to the house rules and violate the privacy, rest, and space of other guests within the hotel, they can and should be removed from the property. We are sorry that you did not feel as our compensation was adequate, but we hope you will give us another try to rectify the situation with you.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Wilshire Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view and food on the roof was supberb and the rooms were calming and restful after a busy day of activities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamishia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed at the new Hotel Wilshire over Christmas, 2011. We basically liked the place, but my wife was very disappointed at the short, shallow pool. She needs to swim several times a week for health reasons, and felt that the picture of the pool on the website had been misleading (as they so often are). It's more of a recreational pool for people at the rooftop bar (nice view, pricy drinks, didn't try the restaurant with the celebrity chef).

Otherwise, the place was pretty good. We had a minisuite with a sofabed, for which we paid well north of $200, listed as a discount rate--it was sort of a special occasion trip for us. But the main bed was big and very comfortable, even the sofabed wasn't bed--though it left a very tight passage in the room when it was open. The "rain" shower was excellent, and the bathroom area was helpfully divided up into shower stall, toilet room, and a sink/dressing area--though the shower and toilet didn't have opaque doors (there's a sliding door between the whole bathroom and the rest of the room). There were two giant TVs with plugs for video devices. A refrigerator but no microwave, and no radios or clocks! We had to light up our cell phones to check the time in the middle of the night.

Parking was $26, plus 10% parking tax. Ironically, we had to park there because we'd driven down but were trying to do as much of the visit car-free as possible--we did that for most of it. If we'd been using the car constantly we could have parked in a two hour parking spot on a neighboring street--not on Wilshire Boulevard. Transit service is good there, with frequent buses along Wilshire Boulevard out to Beverly Hills and Santa Monica and in to Koreatown and Downtown, and good service on Fairfax Ave. (one long block away) as well.

The hotel is across the street from a minimall with numerous restaurants--including pretty good Caffe Latte--but because we arrived at Christmastime they weren't open much. The Farmers Market (and Grove Shopping Center) is a bit under a mile walk, certainly possible if you're a reasonably good walker.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews