We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and affordable motel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #110 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The reason we booked this motel was because of the location and the price. It was centrally located for us to explore LA and was good value for money compared to other accommodation in the area. The free parking was also a bonus!
The rooms were very basic but comfortable. We didn't realise we had booked into a smoking room and when we arrived they could not give us a non smoking, however after two nights they moved us to non smoking and ungraded us to a room with two beds without charge. The only issue was the noise - unless you are at the back of the motel you can hear a bit of street noise! An upside was that the breakfasts were surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the room as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joc186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear guest:
It is truly rewarding to get positive feedback from all of our valuable guests. Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations and our best rate guaranteed 213-250-2233.
Looking forward to your business again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 513 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed both night... they give me the perfect room with the best view of DTLA...The staff was friendly...the Breakfest was great... i love making my own mini waffles.. i messed up the first time but the housekeeper cleaned up my mess from the first batch and re made them for me and even showed me how to do it the correct way.. she was very friendly about the issue...:) .. the room was clean bug free :) the issue i had was this re coding of the room key..it have to be done daily ..no one mention that during check in.. they had a sign but i seen it when i had to recode the key.. with a nice hotel like this one i would think they would have a better key system.. note to managerment sometimes people had a long day on there site seeing ,meeting or for my case a funeral service the first thing we do is go to our room and relax. it kinda an inconvenience to have to stop at the front desk or what i had to do is wait in line for 8 mins because someone was checking in just to have my key recoded..
other then that i will stay here again and again :)

Room Tip: rooms in the front have a great view of the DTLA aka downtown la but is loud because it's on Sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wootang01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at the Super 8 Los Angeles, as a security system we do have all guests recode their key on a daily basis, i do understand that it could become an inconvenience specially after coming from a long day,however,the safety of all of our guests is our main priority.
Hopefully you will choose us as your destination hotel next time you come to LA.
Please feel free to contact us for future reservations 213-250-2233.
Looking forward to your business again soon!
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 4worldtravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights as we were working an event at the Convention Center. It was convenient, only 10 minutes to the Convention Center. For the price compared to the other hotels it was a good value for the price. We had a big room with a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. The bed was comfortable, put the pillows were a little flat. We slept good. It was quiet. At first we heard a lot of sirens, but the later it got things seemed to settle down. The breakfast was minimal so we went out and had breakfast. We were new to the area and unfamiliar with things so one night we used the service LA Bite for our dinner. We were very pleased with the service and how good the food was. It was worth the extra cost considering how tired we were and that we did not want to get lost trying to find a place to eat. All in all we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear guest;
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was with us. Indeed, we are centrally located only minutes away from Downtown/Hollywood and it is really satisfying to know that we met your expectations.
Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-250-2233
Looking forward to your business again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed here several times since I often need to stay close to Downtown and even though there are great deals for the high-end hotels, the parking costs often add $20-$30 which drives me nuts! At this Super 8, I like these rooms which are very clean, and it's quiet. And then with free wifi and breakfast, what's not to like? The front desk people are always very nice and helpful. Remember to give them your Wyndham Rewards number so you get points for staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank rstark223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear guest:
We strive on a daily basis to provide the best customer service to all of our valuable guests, it is truly rewarding to meet our guests expectations once they stsy with us.
Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-250-2233.
Looking forward to your business again in the near future.
Sincerely
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is by far not the worst or best place I have ever stayed. The people that work there are very nice and easy to talk to. The lobby is clean and has a decent continental breakfast daily. The location is no more than an hour from anything you could want to see in the LA area. The area outside of the hotel does seem a bit sketchy at night but I felt relatively safe walking from the hotel to El Compadre Restaurant down the road and back even after midnight. Speaking of El Compadre, well worth a stop in if you stay here.
I do have some complaints about the room. I used my Wyndham Rewards points for both nights I stayed so it was kinda free but I still have to raise concerns. The shower head was broken and only allowed on setting which half the pressure just ran off like a faucet. When we first arrived the front desk radioed someone to tell them we were there. Upon arriving at the room the reason was clear. Door was propped open and the smell of Fabreeze filled the air. Once the Fabreeze dissipated the smell of stall sex and smoke filled the air. If I had a family I would have left right then.
It was nice to wake up and walk out the door and see the Hollywood sign and take in the 75* temps in late December. Overall I would stay here again. Just will not have high expectations.

Room Tip: Even if you smoke ask for a non smoking room and go outside to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear guest:
First, let me apologize for the little problem you had with the shower head, normally as soon as our guest finds any problem in the room, as long as they let the front desk agent know inmediately, we will either correct the problem or put you in a different room if available, i am, not sure if you let us know of these issues in order for us to make your stay up to your expectations, in regards of the smoking odor, i would love to know if you were in a smoking room and if you requested it. the reason why my desk agents communicate thru radios with housekeepers, simply because we want to make sure the room is ready and clean for guest to go in the room.
Hopefully you choose us as your destination hotel next time you visit Los Angeles and please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations and the best rate guaranteed 213-250-2233.
Looking forwaed to your business again.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Royal Pagoda Motel
#154 of 355 in Los Angeles
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metro Plaza Hotel
#145 of 355 in Los Angeles
393 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#173 of 355 in Los Angeles
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown

Address: 1341 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026-4798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $85 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Super 8 Los Angeles
Super Eight Los Angeles
Los Angeles Super 8
Los Angeles Super Eight
Motel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing