We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place like the plague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #49 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid this place like the plague”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My agent booked 2 nights at Miyako at end of month tour of USA. Asked to share with other females who have been on tour with me as we had done at beginning of tour and Miyako staff insisted in rooming us with total strangers. Asked if I could pay to upgrade to single room rate & told rooms were available but would have to pay whole new room rate & forfeit shared accommodation monies already paid. Asked for refund of second night as I will be taking my business elsewhere and was denied a refund.
The staff are impolite and unwilling to provide descent service. This is a terrible way to finish a holiday of USA.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    369
    145
    34
    20
See reviews for
130
190
117
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated on only one block away from Metro Link- Gold line and one stop from Union station. I gave 9 out of 10 for cleanliness and tranquility. Even though this hotel is surrounded by restaurants and plaza, I hardly smelt the food coming out, or saw dirts on street, or noises from neighborhood. In fact, if you are Asian and long for Chinese or Vietnamese food, China town is only 2 stops from here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

From the moment I arrived at the Miyako I felt welcomed. My room was ready and check in was a breeze the bell staff had my bags all loaded and ready to go by the time I was done and I had to call him back after he loaded to give him a tip it is the first place I've been in the states that I've ever had that happen. The room was lovely and very much larger than anything I've had in LA before without paying suite prices. It came with a fridge which was great seeing we were across the road from the most amazing noodle place (I reviewed it too go look) that served huge portions. My husband and I had enough dinner left overs all three days to feed us at lunch time too, which was good cause it saved us having to go get back in line. The staff at the front desk will heat up your left overs with no worries which is great. When I called down to get stuff it was always delivered promptly.

Water pressure was great and the hot water plentiful not to mention the bathroom was huge, it's actually larger than my at home bathroom. If you've never used a japanese bidet you will probably enjoy getting to use the ones here, At the very least its nice to have a warm seat in the middle of the night.

Make sure you turn the fridge on when you put something in it my water didn't get cold cause its turned off when you check in. It'd be bad if you put food in there without noticing the fridge was off.

I would definitely stay here again, the only reason it doesn't get five stars is because some of the furnishings are a little tired but that's okay if they refurbished I probably wouldn't be able to afford to stay here anyhow.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out into the street that way you can pick times when the line at the noodle bar i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Upon recommendation of a friend, we chose this hotel for our one night stay in Los Angeles and were thoroughly satisfied. We were looking for a place fairly near Union Station and were able to walk to the Miyako Hotel with our bags...but it was a bit of a walk. (For our return to the station, we used the rail line that was not too long a walk from the hotel.) Everything about this place was clean and neat and we felt very safe in this area of Los Angeles. All staff members with whom we had contact were friendly and helpful. Since we arrived fairly early in the morning, they stored our bags during the day so we could explore until our room was ready. The light breakfast offered in the morning was very adequate as a continental breakfast. The laundry room was convenient and clean, so we were able to continue our journey with clean clothes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

An average priced hotel in a convenient location downtown of Los Angeles. The charm of this hotel lies with their clean, neat, comfy, and cozy rooms. I really adore their spa and saunas. The masseuse and masseur are seasoned and friendly. The proximity to Japanese food is amazingly close. A great selection of sushi, ramen, home cooking, bentos, and shabu shabu in walking distance. Also during the summer season many of the nearby tea, bubble, and coffee shops has late hours till 1am. I always enjoy coming here when I have a convention to attend in the downtown area. And I always book their specials to get an upgrade for my room and free amenities, spa, or breakfast perks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NancyAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

You can have a pleasant room here for around $150 before taxes. There is valet parking for $20. The public spaces of the hotel are airy, modern and welcoming. There is a hotel shop and a coffee shop with a pretty good beverage selection.

Bedrooms are a reasonable size and bathrooms are relatively large. Bedrooms are well-equipped but the wallpaper and furnishings are fairly drab. The street side rooms tend to be larger than the rear rooms (some of which lack wardrobes).

Inexplicably, a large hall mirror on the fourth floor next to the elevators is distorted and makes all guests fern fatter.

The breakfast is nondescript and best avoided. Best to eat elsewhere. Decor in the second floor restaurant is equally tedious. They offer karaoke but it is inconsequential compared to the live open air performances fifty yards down the street in a courtyard surrounded by Japanese restaurants .

The hotel location is right in the heart of Little Tokyo, a short walk to the Geffen wing of MOCA and the Japanese-American Museum.

Overall, service is prompt and courteous. The valet parking worked unusually well. However, I was unable to print boarding passes on the lobby computer and no staff member could fix the problem.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I had 3 days to play in LA before a business conference and since I enjoy cultures of all types and my son is a bit of a Japanphobe, I decided to check out Little Tokyo in LA. On line research led me to believe that the best located, "nice" hotel was the Miyako. That research was correct.

The location is ideal for the main "block" of old Little Tokyo - directly accross the street. All the best Japanese restaurants were within VERY CLOSE walking distance. So was the Japanese-American museum which I recommend to see how these American citizens were mistreated in WWII. Next door is "Japanese Village Plaza", a typical "theme" shopping center with some twists. For example, Yamazaka Bakery has some of the best fresh breads you will ever eat. NOT rice breads - though they have those too, but great baguettes, and very fresh breads packages Japanese style (about a half a loaf of what USA breads are - which is great for freshness). There is also a nice grocery store (Nijiya Market) which is a pretty much full line Japanese market with great prepared food items ideal for buying and putting in the hotel fridge for midnight snacks and all sorts on items you've never seen (or hardly ever) outside of Japan.

The hotel room? Terrific bed. A little firm for my taste, but heck - I slept well. (musta been the saki). The toilet SEAT integrates the seat heating / bidet / back side washing features that Japanese toilets are famous for. A little frilly for a macho guy like me, but I must confess, I liked it.
The furnishing were not old and worn out as some of the earlier reviews seem to indicate. Perhaps it was because I was in an upgraded "deluxe" room. Since my room faced 1st Street, I enjoyed a great "people watching" perch on the main street of Little Tokyo. Good refrigerator and very nice coffee and tea service. Wish there was a microwave, but nobody's perfect. I need to mention that I did indulge in a Deep Muscle massage at the spa and spent some time in the jacuzzi and steam room. Aviva gives a terrific massage and the jacuzzi is nicely warm. It took me a while to figure out that if I wanted "steam" in the "steam room", there were buttons to push but once I figured that out, it was hot, wet, and very cleansing. I give the spa 4 out of 5 because all they offer are three types of massages, but no other services like grooming, facials, pedicures, etc.

In closing, this hotel is within moderate walking distance to Downtown LA's intersting shopping "districts". The have one for everything. (toy district, wedding district, warehouse districut, etc.). Also, it's about a block and a quarter to the Little Tokyo metro station which can get you to Chinatown, UCLA, and East LA's excellent Mexican food quickly.

Had a great time. Let me know how your trip goes!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms face the street which can be noisy. A nice view and fine for me, but not so much fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerryPPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 328 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3902
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyako Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miyako Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyako Los Angeles
Los Angeles Miyako Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing