We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem near downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #48 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Bernalillo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem near downtown”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Los Angeles is not a great place to sight see without a car. Distances can be daunting. And it can be expensive. We traveled there by Amtrak and wanted a place close to Union Station but near enough to places we could walk to and accommodations that wouldn't break the bank. We read other reviews about this hotel and decided to give it a try. It was as good as advertised. The front desk staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was tastefully furnished, quiet and attractive. The hotel was spotless. It was within 1 1/2 blocks of the metro line which could take as all over the city if we chose not to walk. It was well within walking distance of Olvera Street, Chinatown, some museums, some grand refurbished hotels (walk through the Biltmore and look at the photos of past Academy Award Banquets held there), Grand Central Market, Angel's Flight, the Macy's Center, on and on. And Little Tokyo was a delight to walk and is right outside your door. We didn't use the in hotel spa but it appeared to be quite popular.There were a couple of misses, but both minor. We chose he breakfast included rate. Breakfast is served in the little snack bar alcove and consists of croissants, yogurt, tea and orange juice. If you are used to a heartier fare then don't spring for the breakfast and instead walk a few blocks and get the more traditional repast. Second, if you wile away down times watching television the cable selection is minimal. Overall the experience was excellent, well worth the cost, and a place to return to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikejoan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    373
    146
    34
    20
See reviews for
133
192
117
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A rare find in LA- an unpretentious atmosphere with great service and reasonable value. Clean rooms, some with good views of downtown LA, a decent coffee bar and dozens of great restaurants just steps away including all of Chinatown's offerings. This is a no-frills hotel, so manage your expectations and you will not be disappointed. I wasn't, and I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were looking for a hotel that was convenient to Los Angeles Union Station. The hotel is approximately a mile from Union Station but we could actually see the station from our room. There is a gold line light rail station just a block from the hotel and Union Station is just a four minute ride. The hotel is located in the Little Tokyo Arts District and there are lots of Japanese restaurants in the neighborhood. The hotel is a bit dated but our room was very clean. Our room was on the small side and the bath had a very low ceiling. They serve a Japanese/American buffet breakfast. Breakfast cost about $17 each. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again but would not recommend it for a long stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel at the recommendation of a family member. As many reviewers have suggested the hotel is somewhat dated in the private rooms. I found that condition. Shower curtain rod holders were coming loose from the wall and other minor condition issues. So yes the private spaces were dated, but I found the OVERALL experience to be VERY GOOD if not excellent. Parking was about $20/day but the attendant was one of the best we have seen. He always greeted us by name and dispatched our car quickly. The lobby is very nice and the front desk staff is EXCEPTIONAL. I think the value is VERY GOOD. Overall I had a great stay. I loved being next to Little Tokyo and enjoyed shopping there and the many fine restaurants. This is not a five star hotel, but you can't beat the value and location. I have also stayed at the sister Miyako near the Airport and found that new hotel to be Excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street have a better view, the rooms on the other side face the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located In Little Tokyo, so good if you want some sushi from the nearby Japanese eating places,1 minute walk to the gold line Metro which takes you to Union Station.
Hotel room we had was shabby, must be quite old ,the room smelled musty but they put in a ozone generator which got rid of the smell ,so for the price its not bad,the WiFi was good and the bed was comfy,but this place needs some money spent on it.The Japanese Village just along from the hotel is good for cafes ,bakeries and eating places.Room was large and bathroom was huge,cafe in lobby does a croissant and coffee for breakfast for a few bucks

Room Tip: must be no smoking,or go for the upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Located in Little Tokyo this is a typical Japanese business hotel. Union Station is a five minute taxi ride and the metro is a 10 minute walk away and a Starbucks in neaby the hotel. On site the hotel has a gift shop which sells snacks and there is a cafe which sells freshly prepared food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s61blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed here several times and booked online. I made another online reservation which I had to cancel by phone. After being charged as a no show I was told that online reservations cannot be canceled by phone.... so tough luck! I will never go back, of course, which is a shame as I liked the hotel. But, fortunately, the Doubletree Hilton is only a block away which is still close to Amtrak Union Station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RDHOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,133 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 328 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3902
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyako Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miyako Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyako Los Angeles
Los Angeles Miyako Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing