We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #54 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was a little nervous after some of the reviews on here however we had a really comfortable stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable– great location close to transport and restaurants. The bed and pillows were amazing! We received wonderful friendly service from all staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    355
    145
    33
    20
See reviews for
126
184
116
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We've stayed at many hotels in downtown Los Angeles but the very popular Miyako Hotel in Little Tokyo is our favorite. We stay at this attractive boutique hotel several times a year to attend music and theater events at Disney Concert Hall and the Los Angeles Music Center. One can walk or drive several blocks up First Street to both of these locations and park underground. The law courts are also only several blocks away so one can walk there instead of trying to find parking. There are always elegant floral arrangements in the lovely marble-floored lobby and a little self serve cafe that serves breakfast and light meals. The rooms at Miyako Hotel are quietly sophisticated and quite large. We appreciate the long counters in the bathrooms instead of hotels where there's no place to put cosmetics and shaving supplies. The staff is welcoming and accommodating. There is efficient valet parking. The hotel is often fully booked, so do reserve as early as possible.

The AAA rate, listed under Specials on the web site, miyakoinn.com includes a room upgrade when available, as well as a complimentary continental breakfast with croissants, yogurt, orange juice and coffee.

Suehiro, our favorite Japanese neighborhood cafe, is right across the street, and serves wonderful fried oysters as well as familiar Japanese fare. Also across the street is hole-in-the-wall Daikokuya which serves world class ramen noodle soup, always with people waiting to get in, but worth the wait. There is a charming little pedestrian mall off First Street toward Central Avenue with little boutiques, souvenir shops, many cafes, a market and a Japanese sweet shop that sells delectable mochi and manju tea cakes.

We love the Miyako Hotel and always look forward to our stays there.

Room Tip: Rooms from the eighth floor up on the First Street side have views of the mountains at times. Do as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mililanimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent our first 3 nights in the States here and found the hotel clean and comfortable. Being our first trip to the states we were unsure of what and where to stay but we felt safe and comfortable walking around this area and the train is so close. The metro line takes you straight to Union Station in one stop which then opens up the whole of L.A.
The hotel itself was good value and the bed fantastic- would recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrioryII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Miyako Hotel was spotlessly clean and even elegant, all at a very reasonable price for rooms in Downtown LA. It's within walking distance of Los Angeles Union Station, in the heart of Little Tokyo, with excellent choices of restaurants also within walking distance. The staff went above and beyond, and were helpful with directions and suggestions in addition to being cheerful and friendly and welcoming. I was traveling with my mother who is in her eighties, and she also enjoyed the stay. Highly recommend. Didn't sample any of the spa offerings, nor the cafe. Downtown LA, by the way, has a lot of attractions, and is becoming a nighttime center as well as the business district.

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor facing 1st, and the room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcaldeellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for a conference at the Los Angeles Convention Center. It was not my first choice, but almost everything else was already booked at the late date. I would have preferred to have been closer to the convention center. Nonetheless, I was pleased with this hotel. It is a about a mile or two from the convention center. I usually took the conference shuttle, but I did take a cab once, and it was about $12 one way.
The room itself was nice, roomy, and clean. The bathroom had Japanese-style toilet with a lot of buttons. There were two things I did not like about the room: 1) the shower head is low. I'm 5'7, and it was barely above my head. And 2) the bedsheets are like paper...stiff, scratchy paper.
As for the staff, they were pleasant enough. FYI, the hotel charges a $50 refundable fee at check-in, just in case of any additional charges.
I really enjoyed the neighborhood. I've never been to Little Tokyo before, in fact, I'd didn't know about it at all. But it's interesting! There are a lot of restaurants and shops around - several right across the street, and more in the shopping area next to the hotel to the right (when walking out). I spent one morning just exploring the neighborhood, and you can see the history right in the sidewalk across the street....look on the ground in front of each storefront (eg, the anime/cosplay shop), and you will see what happened on that spot up to 100 years ago! Down the street is an old temple across from a very modern cultural center. The neighborhood is a fascinating juxtaposition of old and new.
I thought the hotel was average and somewhat pricey, but as a person who's into history and cultures, I thought the neighborhood made up for it.

Room Tip: Good views from the 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stated at the Miyako for the Japanese festival (Nisei Week) events and found it to be a very convenient and comfortable place to stay. The parade literally went in front of the hotel. I've stayed at this hotel before and noticed that the lobby and spa areas have been nicely renovated. I like the cafe, located in the lobby, which is perfect for breakfast. The staff at the front desk and the spa were also friendly. The Little Tokyo neighborhood seems to have improved in recent years, with the addition of the Museum of Contemporary Art and subway station, and renovations in the Japanese Village Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JapanTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokopane, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lesson number one is to bear in mind that the hotel is situated in Little Tokyo Los Angeles Downtown hence it's prime clientele is of Japenese origin. All other groupings are welcomed. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained. It has a restatuarant on the second floor and adjacent to it is a sport bar. The rooms are of moderate size and has no built-in cupboard (the Japenese sytle/taste). Next to the room entry there is a rail with coat hangers to utilize. They provide a bar fridge for private usage (ensure you switch it off on checking out). The bathroom is well styled. Behind the hotel, there is the Little Tokyo Shopping Mall. For transportation, there is always two "Yellow Cabs" (not the New York version but a LA registered copycat) parked outside. Otherwise one can surf the LAmetro website for bus and rail transport. Wifi is free throughout the hotel and in the foyer there are two flat screen PCs for free utilization next to a Coffee Shop. Also available in the foyer is a gift shop. The hotel is surrounded by various shops and cafes catering mostly Japenese taste.

Room Tip: If your taste can't accommodate Japenese taste, this will be the wrong hotel. Also if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KwameMokopane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#38 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#56 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 328 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3902
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyako Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miyako Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyako Los Angeles
Los Angeles Miyako Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing