We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
Ranked #179 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be careful!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Price is good and room was clean but the neighborhood is NOT a place to feel very safe with a family especially after dark. I was with my wife and 16 year old daughter for a 2-day competition she was in at the the convention center. We were woken at 2 am on Sunday morning by the sound of a man ranting and trying to kick down a door and therating to kill the occupant of that room. Needless to say that we were very scared. I called the front desk ( it took 2X for the desk to pickup). The man at the desk said he went outside - as he must have heard it as well - but didnt see anyone. I asked him to call the police. He was reluctant but said he would. I waited a few minutes but decided to call 911 myself. I reported it they took my information and the said they would dispatch someone to come. We didn't see or hear anyone come so I really don't know if they responded or not. In any event, the man came back several times threating the occupant AFTER I had called the police. I stayed up ( as did my daughter and wife ) with the light off not knowing whether or not this man would try to enter other rooms. The rooms have floor to celing windows adjacent to the door -- so he wouldn't need to break through the door - just break the window and walk in. Obviously, I cant say that this is a common occurence but once was enough for me and I would not want anyone to share our awful experience - so be careful!

Room Tip: not possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laconventioninn, Owner at Rodeway Inn Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hello,
I would like to apologize for any and all inconvenience you had to face while staying at the Rodeway Inn Los Angeles Convention Center. As you mentioned, this kind of an incident is very rare and we take such incidents very seriously. We pride ourselves on providing a high level of customer service and the safety of our guest is of the utmost importance to us. I am disappointed that you were not pleased with the response of the front desk clerk on duty at the time. I will personally look into the incident and make sure the appropriate actions are taken to rectify the situation.

Once again I would like to apologize for any inconvenience faced by you and your family. I do hope you give The Rodeway Inn Los Angeles Convention Center another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    54
    48
    13
    14
See reviews for
42
34
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Rodeway Inn Convention Center is an older building around a mile from LA Live, the LA Convention Center, and the Staples Center. It was easy to walk downtown in the daytime and bus tours for tourism stopped in the hotel. Fast food restaurants were close by for convenience with nicer sit down restaurants closer to the downtown core.

Despite its older outwards appearance, our rooms were very clean and recently renovated with new furniture and beds. I stayed in a king bedroom which had a full desk available to work on. Wifi was free, although not the fastest. Staff was excellent and helped print out boarding passes or tickets to events when I needed them. The outdoor pool looked nice and clean, although the weather did not cooperate for our visit so I did not use it. Lastly, complimentary continental breakfasts were an unexpected touch, although the food really was limited. Still, the fresh oranges, bananas, cereal, and bagels got me by until lunchtime elsewhere.

At 1/2 to 1/3 the price of hotels only a mile away, I would recommend the Rodeway Inn and would stay there again in the future. You can't beat its value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this Rodeway inn convention center. I was staying here last year.They have done wonderful renovated the interior room and furniture.I highly recommend this hotel if you have to stay this area.It is very reasonably priced and convenient to many places.They were helpful when I needed to know about attraction places on the phone before arriving.rooms were very clean,wifi was free and facility was safe and secure.I will stay here again in the future when I have business in the area.Also,I will definitely recommend my friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Zohurul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Without a doubt, this is the best hotel in downtown Los Angeles. I stay at the Rodeway Inn Convention Center for pleasure, and have tried other hotels in the area, but none of them can compare to the Rodeway Inn Convention Center.Staff and Management,extremely helpful.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room is wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days in late November. It was a no-frills room, but all of the staff I met were very nice. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. They have a soda and snack machine. I felt very safe at night and I am a woman in my mid-thirties and traveled alone. My only complaint is the shower water never got hot enough for my liking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunMoonStarzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This place is economical and well located. I could have a little larger pool and a wider breakfast spread but then it is targeted as a budget place. Staff is helpful and front desk team is great which softens any sharp edge you may find in its range of facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_too_enjoy_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I recently stayed at this property for a week, and I had a very good experience there. The desk clerk and management is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The overall guest room cleanliness was above expectations, and the hotel amenitities were all in great order. It is conveniently located to many downtown locations, the convention center, and the local metro bus line. I am a diamond reward member with Choice Hotels, and I will also let them know to give the hotel management an "a+". Keep up the good work. Thanks. JPaul

Room Tip: All the rooms have wooden vertical blinds which allow a nice amount of sunlight into the room during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paul191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#171 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#176 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#217 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Historic Mayfair Hotel
#239 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Convention Center

Property: Rodeway Inn Convention Center
Address: 1904 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90006-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing